Review – Yves Saint Laurent Black Opium Eau de Parfum

YSL Black Opium Eau De Parfum

So, since tonight is Hallow’s Eve and I’m a total sucker for anything holiday-related, I thought I would do a review on the YSL Black Opium Eau de Parfum – and give it a dark & Halloween-y backdrop!

I must admit, I was initially a little wary when I first unboxed this fragrance (YSL sent it to me)…  I don’t particularly enjoy the original YSL Opium fragrance – it’s the kind of scent that makes me drink 2 Myprodols whenever I catch a whiff of it.  I assumed Black Opium would be a similar scent – boy, was I wrong!

Notes of strong black coffee dominates YSL Black Opium, before developing with Jasmine, Vanilla, Cedar and Patchouli accords.  Coffee gives an initial shot of adrenaline (and you guys know how much I love my coffee!), whilst Vanilla and Jasmine seduce the senses.  This is an extremely sexy, sophisticated & alluring scent, and yet, it’s not too overpowering.

For me personally, though, this a night-time fragrance and I kind of feel it has been marketed that way too – from the glitzy black bottle, to the seductive scent.  The combination of these two suggest this is the perfect fragrance for a romantic dinner or a cheeky girls night out.

The mesmerising midnight black bottle is adorned with coated glitters that give it a dark, sultry look.  I am in love with the rose gold writing on the lid, and adore the translucent centre too as it gives you a sneak peek of the perfume inside.

I’ll no doubt be hypnotising unsuspecting strangers with this dark & spellbinding scent wherever I go.

Yves Saint Laurent Black Opium Eau de Parfum retails for R 695,00 (30ml) to R 1 245,00 (90ml) and is available in-store right now!

Happy Halloween, everyone!

Share:

20 Comments

  1. Candice
    31 October 2014 / 09:39

    Oh wow would love to try it out , looks amazing

    Candice | Beauty Candy Loves
    xoxo

    • 17 November 2014 / 17:28

      Smells amazing too! 😉

  2. Taz
    31 October 2014 / 09:40

    Happy Halloween, Luzanne! 😀

    • 17 November 2014 / 17:27

      I hope you had a happy Halloween too, Taz! 🙂

  3. Ursula
    31 October 2014 / 10:24

    Love this photo! It’s the perfect backdrop!

    Will definitely take a stroll to Edgars to smell this perfume. 🙂

    • 17 November 2014 / 17:26

      Thank you so much, Ursula. 🙂

  4. Belinda
    31 October 2014 / 10:32

    Great review, I actually don’t mind the original Opium fragrance as it reminds me of my mom. Happy Halloween! xxoxx

    • 17 November 2014 / 17:26

      Thank you, Belinda! 🙂 I hope you had a fun Halloween too! x

  5. Merissa
    31 October 2014 / 11:34

    Coffee!? Sounds like this could be my signature scent… 😉 #coffeeaddict

    • 17 November 2014 / 17:26

      So true, Merissa – I’m a total coffee addict too! When I first read it contains coffee extracts, I was like: “That’s it! I’m dousing myself in this every single morning!” 😀

  6. Simone
    31 October 2014 / 12:26

    I will definitely give this a sniff next time I pass the perfume section! That bottle is so cool.

    • 17 November 2014 / 17:24

      The bottle is so unique, I find myself picking it up, rubbing it and staring at it every now and again! I’m such a weirdo – haha!

  7. Tanusta Jainarain
    31 October 2014 / 13:42

    I luv all of YSL fragrances even the orig Opium , realy gta save up for Black Opium !

    • 17 November 2014 / 17:23

      I have no doubt you will love this one too, if you loved the original! It’s more subtle, but still very special! 🙂

  8. Alice L
    31 October 2014 / 14:24

    What a fab photo! And that bottle is spectacular, or should I say spook-tacular lol!

    • 17 November 2014 / 17:22

      Hahaha!! Love it, Alice!! 😀

  9. 31 October 2014 / 20:23

    I would love to try it, looks perfect for this season 🙂 as said before, gorgeous picture!! and congrats on the collab with YSL :O

    • 17 November 2014 / 17:22

      It’s the ultimate Autumn/Winter fragrance, Roseybelle. 🙂

      Thank you so much! xox

  10. Lulu
    2 November 2014 / 10:49

    I will definitely pop around for a sniff of this at the perfume counter.

    • 17 November 2014 / 17:21

      It’s a lovely fragrance, Lulu. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *