Review & Wear Test – L’Oréal Infallible Mattifying Primer & L’Oréal Infallible 24H Matte Foundation

Review LOreal Infallible 24H Matte Foundation

You asked for it, so here it is:  My review of the L’Oréal Infallible Mattifying Primer AND the L’Oréal Infallible 24H Matte Foundation.  I filmed it a little bit differently this time around – it’s one of those ‘wear-test-check-in-during-the-day’ type videos.  In the video I tell you a bit more about the primer and foundation, then I show you how I apply both (I only apply the primer to one side of my face to see if it makes a difference), and then I check back in every few hours to show you how the primer and foundation are doing.

For this review, I used the lightest shade in the collection (11 Vanilla) and I find it suits my skin tone perfectly.  There are 8 shades in the L’Oréal Infallible 24H Matte Foundation collection ranging from light (similar to a MAC NW20) to deep (the shade is called Mahogany and it looks quite dark in tone).

I wanted to do this specific review for you, because R189,95 for a foundation (or primer) definitely isn’t the most affordable price tag, so I put both products to the ultimate test on an EXTREMELY hot day.

Did the primer actually make a difference in the longevity of the foundation?  Did it keep me more matte for a longer period of time?  Hhhhmmmm…you’ll have to watch the video to see.

You can watch my video by clicking on the image below, it will take you through to the video on YouTube.  Please give the video a ‘thumbs up’ if you enjoyed it, and share on your social media platforms if you think it’s something that might interest your friends or family.

Remember to watch in HD (720p) – all you have to do is click on the ‘Settings’ button in the bottom right corner of the video screen and choose 720p.

L'Oreal Infallible 24H Matte Foundation

You can purchase the L’Oréal Infallible Mattifying Primer and the Infallible 24H Matte Foundation at selected pharmacies (i.e. Clicks, Dis-Chem) and department stores (i.e. Edgars, Foschini) nationwide.

I hope you enjoy watching the video – if there is a specific product you would like me to review in this format, let me know in the comments section below.



  1. Kelly 10 February 2016 / 14:58

    Really loved the video. I love the fact that you never leave anything out and take care of informing us about every detail. Just gotta appreciate that!! I really trust your reviews :) Love your honesty! Just thought that maybe a no-filter photo could be taken and uploaded for each check-in on your blog? Just a suggestion :) Though I simply loved how you reviewed this product, the best I’ve seen by far :)

    • Luzanne 11 February 2016 / 16:35

      Thanks so much for the feedback, Kelly – I’ll keep your suggestion in mind. :)

  2. Trish 10 February 2016 / 15:33

    I think you did the video perfectly! I don’t think you should include photos in the blog post for every check-in because then people will most probably not watch the video.

    Your reviews are always so in-depth and honest, I really value your recommendations. Thank you for filming this video, Luzanne. :)

    • Luzanne 11 February 2016 / 16:36

      That’s also very true, thanks for mentioning that. :)

      Thank you for watching the video, Trish.

      • Kelly 12 February 2016 / 10:45

        When I had mentioned the no-filter photo, I was just leaving a suggestion that the picture may display your appearance differently compared to the video, it might show truer and we’d be able to see if the foundation is camera friendly, lol, as you did mention that the outcome does look different on the video. You could always post the pics on your Instagram or twitter a few days later. Just an idea for you to play around with. The pics don’t necessarily have to be up on the same post. Also you explain everything in the vid, which won’t be explained on the pics so people would definitely watch it. Lol, anyway, it’s just a thought. You’re still brilliant :)

        • Luzanne 12 February 2016 / 17:59

          I totally get what you’re saying, you’re right – I might include a close-up or something like that at the end of the video next time. I’ll play around with a few ideas, and we can see what looks / works best for future videos. I always appreciate any feedback from my readers / viewers, because that’s essentially why I’m doing these reviews. I want to make my reviews as helpful as possible, so I’m definitely taking your suggestion / feedback on board. :)

          • Kelly 13 February 2016 / 10:32

            Thanks Luzanne :) Can’t wait for your next post :)

  3. Simone 10 February 2016 / 15:46

    loving your blog and youtube videos lately! very indepth review, love it! Thanks for being so genuine.
    Please tell what camera and lens you use, your videos are always amazing!

    • Luzanne 11 February 2016 / 16:37

      Thanks so much, Simone. :) I use a Canon EOS 60D with a 50mm lens. x

  4. sameera Mahomed 10 February 2016 / 16:09

    Very informative video, hope they have colours for Indian skin.

    • Luzanne 11 February 2016 / 16:38

      There might be 1 or 2 shades for Indian skin tones, but most of them are quite neutral in tone. I hope you find your perfect shade, Sameera. :)

  5. Genevieve Scalf 10 February 2016 / 17:59

    Loved the vid, Luzanne. Very well filmed, and everything is well explained too. Please film more Youtube videos, it can be anything. :)

    • Luzanne 11 February 2016 / 16:38

      Thank you, Genevieve. 😀 I’ll definitely make a point of filming more videos. :)

  6. barbara 10 February 2016 / 19:34

    Great video – you just convinced me to go out and buy a primer and the 24H matte foundation. 😀

    • Luzanne 11 February 2016 / 16:38

      YAY! That’s what I like to hear! 😉

  7. Jenna 10 February 2016 / 21:29

    Love the cute headband, L!

    I’ve always been hesitant when it comes to matte foundations (I have normal skin) but I may just have to try this one, it looks great!

    • Luzanne 11 February 2016 / 16:39

      Thank you, Jenna. :) It really is a great formula!

  8. Holly Morello 10 February 2016 / 22:05

    I love this foundation, it’s one of my holy grail makeup products!!!

    • Luzanne 11 February 2016 / 16:40

      I think it might achieve holy grail status for me too! 😉

  9. Inge 10 February 2016 / 22:06

    Totes agree with you on the primer!! It’s so amazing to see what a huge difference that primer made, you can really see how well it controlled your oil on the one side of your face. x

    • Luzanne 11 February 2016 / 16:41

      I’m so happy to hear you guys can also see it in the video – everyone needs to own at least one primer! xo

  10. Lily 10 February 2016 / 22:14

    Can’t wait to watch this, Luzanne! We don’t have a primer to go along with this foundation in the US. I love this foundation!
    xo, Lily

    • Luzanne 11 February 2016 / 16:41

      That’s so weird that you guys don’t have a primer for it over there… Usually you have basically EVERYTHING there is to offer from brands like L’Oreal and Maybelline.

      Thanks for watching, Lily. xo

  11. Carina 11 February 2016 / 13:42

    Love love love the video!!! <3

    • Luzanne 11 February 2016 / 16:42

      Thank you, Carina! 😀

  12. Jackie Heijmans 13 February 2016 / 20:19

    Dankie vir die video Luzanne, veral omdat jy gereelde “updates” gehad het. Ek het ook hierdie foundation net nie die primer nie …sjoe ek praat afrikaans en engels deurmekaar hahaha. Sal definitief die primer probeer. Jy moet meer videos doen, het dit geniet :)) en jy is eerlik en die video is van ‘n goeie kwaliteit, ek het baie van jou grimering gehou hoor….watter palette het jy gebruik?

    Jy moet meer videos doen, ek is seker almal sal saamstem :)))

    • Luzanne 16 February 2016 / 23:01

      Dis ‘n plesier, Jackie! Haha, toemaar ek praat netso Afrikaans en Engels gemeng…veral omdat my man Engels is (en ek blog ook mos in Engels).

      Ek sal probeer om meer gereeld videos te doen – ek voel nogsteeds nie heeltemal gemaklik voor die kamera nie (veral as ek goed moet verduidelik) en die prep, filming en editing van die videos vat verskriklik lank. Maar ek weet my lesers geniet my videos, so ek moet maar net harder probeer om meer te film. :)

  13. dionne 15 February 2016 / 22:52

    Love the video. Learnt a few extra tips too. will definitely try the primer looks great and cheaper than the Mac one I currently use.
    Do you match up your own foundation shades? All your foundations seem perfectly matched. I have a lot of trouble with that. It seems ok in store bit in the sun light not at all and shop assistants in polokwane are totally useless.

    • Luzanne 16 February 2016 / 23:05

      Thank you for watching, Dionne. :) I do match up my own foundation shades, fortunately with this specific one the ’11 Vanilla’ shade was perfect for my skin tone. In the past with most of my other foundations, I usually had to mix 2 shades together to get my perfect shade (which ends up being costly) but more recently I have been using my The Body Shop Shade Adjusting Drops (I reviewed them here: The ‘Lightening’ one is really a lifesaver!! :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *