Review & Swatches – The Body Shop Instaglow CC Cream

The Body Shop Instaglow CC Cream Review

The Body Shop can do no wrong in my eyes – they constantly hit the ball out of the park with their new skincare and body care product releases.  British Rose Instant Glow Body Essence?  Amazing (review here)!  Spa Of The World Dead Sea Salt Scrub?  No other body scrub will ever compare!  Oils Of Life Intensely Revitalising Gel Cream?  Yes, please (review here)!  Atlas Mountain Rose Eau De Toilette?  My favourite affordable fragrance (review here)!  Chamomile Silky Cleansing Oil?  Removes makeup like this: *snaps fingers*

But…as you may very well know, no one gets it right ALL THE TIME.

I must admit, after testing the new Instaglow CC Creams for about a week I was left feeling both confused and disappointed.  I like to include both the strengths and weaknesses of a product in my reviews, so today I’ll be sharing my thoughts on 2 of the 3 Instaglow CC Creams from The Body Shop.

If you read this blog post, then you’ll know I was VERY excited about these products after seeing them on a couple of international blogs.  I waited in anticipation for just over a month, hoping I would see them in South Africa soon.  When I popped in to my local The Body Shop store last week, I saw them waiting on the shelf just for me…so I popped the 2 lightest shades in my basket.  I decided to skip the dark shade called ‘Warm Glow’ since it is VERY bronzey and I knew I probably wouldn’t use it after swatching it for this blog post.

The Instaglow CC Cream retails for R185,00 at The Body Shop stores nationwide.  **Update: The Body Shop South Africa website indicates a retail price of R260,00 for this product (a couple of my readers have also mentioned they paid R260,00 for the Instaglow CC Cream).  Perhaps my local The Body Shop store initially had the incorrect price?

The new Instaglow CC Cream is available in 3 shades: Bright Glow for light skin tones, Peachy Glow for light to medium skin tones, and Warm Glow for dark skin tones.  Individually, they promise to illuminate, counteract dullness and can add a touch of bronzed glow to the skin.

A CC cream is a colour correcting cream (or complexion correcting cream), and is quite similar to a BB cream but it focuses on correcting certain skin issues i.e. dullness, redness, sallowness etc.  I usually apply cc creams before I go in with my foundation, almost like a primer to correct imperfections on the skin.  Based on the name of these products, you would expect them to illuminate and add a touch of glow…right?  Sadly, the Instaglow CC Creams contain absolutely no illuminating particles to add radiance to the skin.  I’m not someone who likes a super glowy base, but with a name like ‘Instaglow’, one would expect to see at least a tiny bit of shimmer.

Instaglow CC Cream Review

Here’s what I like about the Instaglow CC Creams: They are easy to use, and travel-friendly – the soft, squeezable tubes have a thin nozzle, a gentle squeeze will release the perfect amount of product (no messing about with pumps), no leaks and no wastage.  Formulated with marula oil (which by the way contains 60% more antioxidants than argan oil) to hydrate the skin without clogging pores, and SPF20 to add sun protection against both UVA and UVB rays, these sound like the perfect multi-taskers.  Even though they are targeted at specific skin tones, all 3 can be used on all skin types (even sensitive skin).  I love that both shades brighten my skin but as mentioned, neither add a healthy glow to the skin…which might not be a bad thing for someone who has super oily skin.  And for superficial reasons, I have to mention the packaging – I LOVE the super glossy, metallic tubes.

Here’s what doesn’t float my boat: I’ve already mentioned the Instaglow CC Creams don’t contain shimmer, so for me, they don’t really add a healthy glow to the skin.  The ‘Bright Glow’ shade works best for my skin tone (some days ‘Peachy Glow’ looks a little bit too orange on my skin), but here’s the thing – it looks and feels like I’m applying my normal everyday moisturiser.  If I’m going to add another step to my skincare or makeup routine (and I’m paying almost R200,00 for this additional step), then I would like for the product to give me a little bit more than the moisturiser I applied a couple of minutes ago.  Does that make sense?  For me it doesn’t minimise pores or reduce shine, so I still need to apply a primer to blur my imperfections and control shine anyway.

Below are swatches of both shades:

The Body Shop Instaglow CC Cream Swatches

I was very excited to try these, but I have to admit the Instaglow CC Creams from The Body Shop just didn’t win me over unfortunately.  Perhaps I am misunderstanding their purpose, or maybe my expectations were too high – whatever the case, these didn’t work for me.  If you have perfect skin and you rock ‘no-makeup-days’ almost every day, then this is the perfect fuss-free, quick and easy base / moisturiser for you.  I can’t deny these Instaglow CC Creams provide great sun protection – with an SPF20 PA+++ rating, they not only protect the skin against UVB rays, but PA+++ is the highest grade of UVA protection currently available.

Will I be repurchasing these?  Probably not, I don’t think these CC creams brighten my complexion enough to warrant adding another step to my skincare / makeup routine, plus my current moisturiser already does a great job of protecting my skin against sun damage.  I really wish the Instaglow CC Creams contained illuminating particles, then this review would have been a rave review.

Have you tried the Instaglow CC Creams?  What are your thoughts?



  1. Cheryl Felix 20 July 2016 / 17:10

    ❤️ your blog, awesome reviews

  2. Henriette 20 July 2016 / 17:24

    Agge nee, en ek het so gehoop hierdie Instaglow rome gaan ‘n bietjie shimmer inhê. :(

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 10:17

      Ja, ek ook. :( Dankie dat jy ‘n draai kom maak het by die blog, Henriette. :)

  3. Una 20 July 2016 / 17:25

    I feel like a broken record, but I just have to say (once again) your photos are always so beautiful!

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 10:53

      Thank you so much, Una. :)

  4. Nthombi K 20 July 2016 / 17:26

    Such a pity, but thanks for saving me some cash.


    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 10:53

      You’re most welcome, Nthombi. :) xo

  5. R Fourie 20 July 2016 / 19:32

    Nou ja, need I say more – daarom lees ek graag jou blog/reviews. Saving my money for another product :-)

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 10:54

      Baie dankie vir jou ondersteuning, Reonette. 😀

  6. Talya 21 July 2016 / 09:38

    I might get this once my current moisturiser runs out, I like that it has a good SPF (and the packaging is so cute). 😉

    • Talya 21 July 2016 / 09:39

      P.S. I have pretty good skin, and don’t like wearing foundation every day. Thanks for pointing out both the strengths and weaknesses of the product. I really appreciate it. XOX

      • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 10:55

        Always a pleasure, Talya. 😉 xo

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 10:54

      I agree – the good SPF rating is definitely a big benefit. :)

  7. Shalane 21 July 2016 / 09:51

    This is what I love about your reviews Luzanne. Always honest no matter what. More posts on products that just don’t make the cut instead of only products that are so brilliant. Mad love for you and your blog! xx

  8. Kelly 21 July 2016 / 09:53

    Thanks for the review! You probably saved a lot of people some money :) Looks like most of the “Instaglow” is on the packaging 😛 I was also excited about this product after seeing it on your Products Popping Up. In your opinion, which is the best CC or BB cream you’ve tried?

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 10:59

      Hahahaa!! YES! That’s so true, I think they added so much glow to the packaging, they forgot about what’s inside the tube. 😉

      Best BB cream = Sorbet BB Cream or Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream (both are affordable). I haven’t really tried that many high-end BB creams.

      Best CC cream = Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream, but remember, CC creams don’t have the most coverage (they’re almost like a tinted moisturiser). If you want more coverage, then a BB cream is the way to go. :)

      • Kyra 28 July 2016 / 16:19

        Hi Luzanne, I have always loved the Sorbet BB Cream but as of late I have been unable to find the ‘light’ colour in any stores. I have been told by the beauty therapists in Sorbet that they may have discontinued the ‘light’ BB cream. Do you know anything about this? :)

  9. Leighann 21 July 2016 / 11:12

    Hi Luzanne,

    Thanks for your honesty! Abit disappointed that this isnt a great product, but thanks for saving me some cash!!

    Now I’m waiting for the Maybelline Master Contour Review :)

    Have a great weekend :)

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 11:00

      Always a pleasure, Leighann. :) I’m hoping to see that Master Contour Stick in-store soon – as soon as I spot it, I’ll buy it to review. :)

  10. Isabelle Perkins 21 July 2016 / 11:15

    Ah boo, I was so hoping these would be like a strobing liquid… :( Please can you recommend a good cruelty-free highlighter, it can be powder or liquid or cream. x

  11. Sharon Spear 21 July 2016 / 11:16

    Well that’s very disappointing :(

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 11:08

      Yes, it unfortunately is… :(

  12. Olga 21 July 2016 / 11:29

    They probs should have just called it Correcting CC Cream or sumthing like that? I cant understand why they would add the word glow in there if it doesnt really do anything to illuminate the skin?

    Anyway, thanks for the honest and informative review. Thats why I love your blog so much.

    Much love


    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 11:08

      Thank you for checking in on the blog, Olga. :)

  13. Simone Cameron 21 July 2016 / 11:39

    This is what I LOVE about you…. you’re a brand ambassador and you still keep it real for us! That’s why I will always feel at ease buying anything you recommend :)

    I’ve been looking for something like this, or well at least what I would expect this to be… I’ll have to hunt a bit more :)

    I do however need that cleansing oil in my life! I love the flannel cloth from them, so I think the oil would be a nice pairing for the cloth!

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 11:10

      Thanks so much, Simone. :) Yes, it would be so nice to have a liquid highlighting product at the drugstore (or a similar to the drugstore). :)

      Oh, yes – sounds like the flannel cloth will work perfectly with the cleansing oil.

  14. Yvonne 21 July 2016 / 11:44

    Love that you included swatches! Thanks for this blog post, Luzanne. 😀

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 11:10

      You’re welcome, Yvonne. :)

  15. Estee 21 July 2016 / 13:34

    Love the packaging, but the product not so much. I bought the Peachy Glow last week and wasn’t impressed at all, they should have made it like a proper glowy highlighting liquid. :(

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 11:10

      I agree, hopefully they’ll get it right next time. :)

  16. Melissa ❀ 21 July 2016 / 14:13

    Just love your honest reviews, your readers can always trust you to keep it real. :)

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 11:11

      Thank you so much, Melissa. 😀

  17. Verushka 21 July 2016 / 17:33

    Thank you for saving me some money, money is tight these days and I’d like to save as much as I can and only buy products that I know will work for me. That’s why I will always return to your blog.

    Thank you, Luzanne

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 11:11

      Thank you for your kind words, Verushka. 😉

  18. Rivania Pillay 21 July 2016 / 21:52

    Wow, I am quite surprised at the results of this product. When I went onto the Body Shop website, they said that it is retailing for R260.00 which is quite steep. Do you think that the Drops of Sun Glow Creator will be a better option to use as a base liquid highlight or bronzer as compared to the Instaglow CC Cream?
    x Rivania | The Glam Unicorn

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 11:14

      That is so strange!! I just checked my tubes again, and the price stickers are marked R185,00. I just checked The Body Shop SA website, and it says R260,00 on there. Wow! If that’s the correct price (maybe my local store marked the price wrong) then it’s VERY expensive for this type of product. :( I’ll update the blog post and mention the price on the website.

      The Drops Of Sun Glow Creator is definitely more of a liquid bronzer (no shimmer), I image it will work well on medium skin tones but it’s too dark for my light skin. I swatched it in-store and it was very intense. What’s nice about it, though, is you can mix it in with your foundation or use as-is to bronze up the skin. :) xo

  19. Abby 24 July 2016 / 13:26

    Ah such a pity. I was quite keen to try this but will give it a miss

    • Luzanne 25 July 2016 / 11:15

      I agree, I was really hoping I would love this product. :( Thanks for popping by the blog, Abby. x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *