Review & Swatches – Morgan Taylor Cinderella Collection Mini Set

Morgan Taylor Cinderella Collection

Is it just me or has this week just completely flown by?  It was such a busy week for me – and to top it off, it was a frustrating one too.  I planned on loading my final giveaway blog post on Wednesday but ‘technical difficulties’ totally messed with me and I now have to retake some of the blog post photos.  I haven’t had the time to take the photos again, but will make time this weekend.  So, come hell or high water – the Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette giveaway WILL be up on Monday.

Most of you know I like to go snooping around Dis-Chem every now & again, scanning the shelves for new or exciting products.  The other day I went to Dis-Chem for 1 item (boring ol’ cotton buds) and walked out with a bag containing goodies such as the L.A. Girl PRO Eye Primer, Lindt Lindor Coconut Truffles (I don’t even like chocolates but just can’t get enough of these!), Essence Nail Polish Corrector Pen, a backup CALA Wet & Dry brush and a mini set of Morgan Taylor nail polishes.

I knew the Morgan Taylor Cinderella collection was coming to South Africa, but I had no idea the collection included a mini set of polishes.  I prefer purchasing mini sets for 2 reasons:  1. You usually get 4 shades for the same price you would pay for 2 full-size bottles; and 2. I like to hoard nail polishes, that means I will probably never finish most of the full-size bottles in my collection.  However, a mini size nail polish is more likely to be used up before getting all goopy and thick.  You don’t see mini nail polish sets in South Africa very often, so when I saw this mini set, my heart literally skipped a beat!  My eyes darted from left to right, I scanned the area to see if anyone else was heading towards the Morgan Taylor stand and quickly grabbed a box.  No idea why I got all possessive because there were still 3 other boxes left – haha!

Anyway, today I’ll be doing a quick review on the new Morgan Taylor Cinderella collection mini set – I personally think the set contains all the prettiest colours from the collection, but I might just go back to pick up the shade ‘Best Ball Gown Ever’ – a light periwinkle shade with a gold duochrome finish and shimmers.

The Morgan Taylor Cinderella 2015 collection is in conjunction with Disney’s Cinderella film, and features 6 new shades (today I’ll be reviewing 4 of the 6 shades).  From left to right in the photos below:

Morgan Taylor Cinderella Watch Your Step Sister Ella Of A Girl

Watch Your Step, Sister! – This is my favourite shade in the collection, it’s a bright pinky coral creme.  It will suit all skin tones (but will look particularly beautiful on medium to dark skin tones) and the formula is great – opaque and easy to apply.  I’m wearing this nail polish in my latest mani photo on Instagram and it’s just perfection!

Ella Of A Girl – A light, yet bright pink creme.  I found the formula to be a bit thick but it evens out in 3 thin coats.  I’m currently sporting this polish on my tootsies and it looks fab (even if I do say so myself).

Morgan Taylor Cinderella If The Slipper Fits Party At The Palace

If The Slipper Fits – Now THIS is a stunner!  It’s a sheer sky blue base crammed with silver shimmers and holographic glitters.  It applies like a frost (a bit streaky), but 3 coats ensure an opaque finish.  It does dry a little bit bumpy (due to the holo glitters) but I applied a glossy top coat to smooth it out.

Party At The Palace – A light minty green / turquoise with gold and light green shimmers to add depth.  This is a very unique shade, a bit on the sheer side (I applied 3 thin coats to make my manicure fully opaque) but it’s totally worth it!  Such a stunning shade!

I’ve become quite the Morgan Taylor fangirl in the past year, and this collection didn’t disappoint – the colours definitely have a Cinderella feel to them.  You expect her to be surrounded by powdery pinks, magical glitters and dusty blues and they certainly delivered on that.

Morgan Taylor Cinderella Collection Mini Set

You can find this 4-piece mini nail polish set at selected Dis-Chem stores retailing for R 220,00.  Each mini polish contains 5ml of product, which I think is good value for money, considering OPI minis only contain 3,75ml.

Have a fantastic weekend, everyone!



  1. Simone Cameron 27 March 2015 / 10:51

    I was suck a dunce….I went and got 2 bottles of Morgan Taylor polish and afterwards wondered why I didn’t grab the mini box instead. Like you, I hoard….and I am never going to get through my nail polish before they either get too funky to use or are totally out of season.

    I found the Ella of a Girl too light for me, but I think it’s a fab idea to wear on my toes…didn’t even think of that. Assumed I just wasted my money. Luzanne to the rescue! he he.

    I spotted those Lindt truffles and am so tempted to buy, but can have absolutely no sweetness with this pregnancy as it makes me nauseous (and I’m a chocoholic *sob*)…so I hope it will still be around after August when i claim my tastebuds back :)

    Love the pictures….always so beautiful.

    • Simone Cameron 27 March 2015 / 10:54

      *such a dunce

      PS My sister in law travelled to CT this weekend…so she’s at Lush as we speak picking up some items for me. Even put me on the phone with a sales person so I could just give my order to her. lol. #LushAddiction Thought you’d appreciate the effort to get some Lush loot. SOme of the easter stuff is out of stock online, but she managed to get in store for me.

      • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 18:46

        Good girl, I’m proud! 😀

        What did you get?

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 18:45

      I think most people will be shocked if they ever saw my nail polish collection – I’m definitely nowhere near ‘Young Wild And Polished’ (in terms of hoarding status) but I can totally see how ‘normal people’ would think I have a problem… Haha!

      I’m not sure if the Lindt Coconut Truffles are limited edition (I hope not!) but maybe you should buy a box just to be safe. Keep it until you can stomach the sweet treats… 😉

  2. Candice 27 March 2015 / 11:46

    All the shades in this palette is just perfect!


    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 18:47

      Yes, it’s definitely a gorgeous collection of polishes. :)

  3. Candice 27 March 2015 / 11:54

    I am going to Canal Walk today and now you might have tempted me into going to buy the mini nail polish set! All of the colours are colours I would definitely wear. Going to look to see exactly how big the bottles are and then decide from there :) Don’t own any Morgan Taylor nail polishes yet so this could be a good start to the collection to help me see whether I like it or not :)

    Eeek, that is going to be one amazing giveaway! Will absolutely HAVE to enter – been lusting after that palette for so long, but sooo expensive in South Africa.

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 18:50

      I never used to be a fan of blue nail polishes (especially on my hands) but Essie and Morgan Taylor have converted me with their stunning shades! :)

  4. farzana 27 March 2015 / 12:49

    Gorge photos, so bright and cheerful! :) I want this mini set now. X

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 18:50

      Thanks so much, Farzana. :)

  5. Siobhan Hughes 27 March 2015 / 13:13

    I bought the Watch your Step, Sister and I LOVE it, it’s so so gorgeous. I’ve been eyeing up the If the Slipper Fits too, so that’ll be my next purchase 😉

    Pleae let me know how the L.A. Girl Pro Eye Primer is, and which one you got? I’ve been looking at it every time I go into Dischem, but still haven’t tried it out.

    Those Coconut truffles are INCREDIBLE!

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 18:54

      I agree – I’ll definitely be wearing it during Autumn & Winter (even thought it’s more of a Summer-y shade).

      I’ll definitely let you know what I think of the PRO Primer, I bought the ‘Nude’ shade (the colour reminds me of a mix between MAC Painterly Paint Pot and MAC Soft Ochre Paint Pot).

      I’m on my third box of those truffles…eeeek! Definitely being a little pig!

  6. Carmen 27 March 2015 / 13:23

    I love how you take so much pride in your photos and blog post. The quality of everything on here is why I love it so much.
    Ok can we first talk chocolates. After you posted the different flavor M&M’s on instragram I went bananas looking for them and only found them 2 weeks ago. I found the birthday cake, dark chocolate & mint and pretzel flavors and the dark chocolate and mint was my fav. So Im obviously going hunting for the Lindt Lindor COCONUT TRUFFLES aaaaaahhhhh. Im such a sucker for coconut anything hahahaha!
    Back to nail polish shooo. Two words that stood out for me “hoarder” and “possessive”. Two things I definitely am when it comes to nail polish. I can go without make up and not washing my hair for days but not have my nails painted will kill me like really. I also am a little selfish when any one wants to use my nail polish. Im like a 2 year old saying “No its mine” and holds tight on to it.
    All these colours are amazing. How awesomes are the names. Pure pleasure in one box set.!!!!!!. Im need to get it.

    Will you go see the movie?

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 18:58

      Thank you, Carmen – your comments always bring a smile to my face! :)

      I totally agree, the Mint Dark Chocolate M&Ms are my faves too – so fresh and not too sweet. LOVE! You are going to be addicted to the Lindt Coconut Truffles (don’t blame me), I’m on my third box! Oops…

      My nephew always says: “MYNE!” when I play with his toy cars, sounds like you & me with our nail polishes! Haha!

  7. Abby 27 March 2015 / 15:40

    Oh my gosh I need to try those Lindt Coconut truffles. Also not a chocolate fan but have read about them everywhere and each time my mouth starts to water.

    I find this Morgan Taylor collection beautiful but not sure if I would actually go out and purchase it because aside from the shimmer shade (which I hardly ever wear) the other three look very, very similar to other popular shades on the market.

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 19:00

      Trust me, the coconut truffles will turn you into a convert… I’m embarassed to admit how many of them I ate in 2 days.

      You’re right, I would say the 2 pink shades are very similar to other shades in my nail polish collection but the 2 blue shades are very unique (in my opinion). 😉

  8. Debra 27 March 2015 / 17:04

    Gaaaaaw, these colours are so beautiful! *swoon*

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 19:01

      They are even more gorgeous in person! :)

  9. Qondiswa N 27 March 2015 / 17:24

    Watch Ur Step, Sister and If The Slipper Fits are my favorite ones, definitely getting this mini set. Thank you, L! 😀

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 19:01

      You’re welcome, Qondiswa! 😉

  10. Holly Morello 27 March 2015 / 18:55

    Just gorgeous, I bought the whole collection back when it launched in the US a few months ago. If The Slipper Fits and Best Ball Gown Ever are my personal favorites. I used to be so scared to wear blues on my nails, but this collection turned me into a convert.

    Holly x

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 19:02

      I 100% agree with you, I never used to wear blue shades all that often but I’ve definitely warmed up to them in the past 2+ years. x

  11. Talya 27 March 2015 / 20:34

    Wow, I love the look of this collection!!!! Defs heading to Dischem tomo!!! 😉

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 19:03

      I hope you found the mini set or some of the other collection polishes, Talya. :)

  12. Kelly M 28 March 2015 / 17:26

    God, you make me buy everything you feature here on Pink Peonies! My hubby always asks me: “Where do you hear about all this makeup and bath stuff!?”

    Men..they’ll never understand.

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 19:04

      Bwahahahaha! Loved this comment, Kelly! 😀

  13. Carolyn 31 March 2015 / 10:53

    Such a gorgeous collection! And I just love mini nailpolishes:)

    • Luzanne 31 March 2015 / 19:04

      Me too, I find the minis are so much more cost effective! :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *