Review & Swatches – L.A. Girl Inspiring Eyeshadow Palettes

LA Girl Inspiring Palette Review

Whilst Neal and I were on holiday in Cape Town a couple of weeks ago, we popped in to Canal Walk for a fun day of shopping.  Well, fun for me…and boring for Neal.  He indulges me every now and again by joining me for a day of shopping, but I know he’d much rather go for a long ride on his mountain bike.  Yep, whenever we head down to Cape Town for a short vacation, he always travels down with his bike.  Me?  I’d much rather shop or stay in bed with a good book (and some yummy snacks).

Anyway, the Dis-Chem store in Canal Walk is one of the largest in South Africa, so I always make a point of moseying up and down the aisles – checking out the shelves for new / unique products.  As luck would have it, they had JUST unpacked the new L.A. Girl Inspiring Eyeshadow Palettes (I’ve been hoping these would make their way to South Africa after seeing them on the L.A. Girl Instagram page a couple of months ago).  There are 6 palettes in the collection, ranging from neutrals, purples, blues, and even a dark smokey grey palette.

Obviously I opted for the neutral palettes, ya’ll know I’m the queen of nudes (ew, not those type of nudes…) and so I popped 3 palettes into my basket.  It was during the time Dis-Chem had their Beauty Fair, so in the end I gave 3 palettes a loving home, but only paid for 2.

If you’re a regular around these parts of town, then you’ll know I am a huge fan of the L.A. Girl Nudes Palette (you can take a look at my ‘Face Of The Day’ blog post, as well as my comparison blog post where I compare it to the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette).  I also adore the L.A. Girl PRO Conceal HD Concealer, and their Glide Gel Liner is a winner too!

I had high hopes for these compact eyeshadow palettes, because I thought they would make for great little travel companions.  Did the L.A. Girl Inspiring Eyeshadow Palettes impress me?  Let’s find out:

LA Girl Inspiring Eyeshadow Palette Review

I love the packaging of these little eyeshadow palettes – they are packaged in an adorable metal tin with a hard sponge insert, and a small mirror underside of the lid.  The look and feel of these palettes remind me of the 9-pan Too Faced eyeshadow palettes, except the L.A. Girl palettes come with a dual-ended sponge tip eyeshadow applicator.

Each palette contains 6 complementary matte and shimmer shades, all of which are great for creating a variety of looks.  You have your mattes to deepen up the crease, your light shimmers to highlight the brow bone & inner corner, pops of metallic shades to apply to the lid, plus a dark matte eyeshadow to use as an eyeliner.  The dark matte shade in each palette is a wonderful addition, in my opinion, and shows some thought was put into each palette.  Not all the dark matte shades are black, one is a dark cool-toned brown, and the other one is a dark brown with a burgundy undertone.

I’ve also included swatches of all the eyeshadows in each palette, I think the swatches speak for themselves, so I won’t describe each shade individually.  The swatches run from left to right i.e. top left, bottom left, middle, top right, middle right, and far right.

LA Girl Inspiring Eyeshadow Day Dream Believer Review

DAY DREAM BELIEVER – This is the lightest palette of the 3 in my collection, all the shades have a subtle mauve (yet neutral) undertone with subtle gold and bronze accent shades.  The white shimmery shade in the middle is absolutely stunning, and I’ve even used it as a highlighter for my face.  This palette contains 2 matte shades and 4 shimmery shades.

LA Girl Inspiring Day Dream Believer Swatches

Above are swatches of the eyeshadows in the ‘Day Dream Believer’ palette.

LA Girl Inspiring Eyeshadow Naturally Beautiful Review

NATURALLY BEAUTIFUL – This palette is the most ‘neutral’ in terms of overall look, with cool-toned browns and a pop of taupe-y silver.  There is also a matte purple shade to give the palette an interesting twist.  The matte off-white shade in the middle is a bit difficult to work with (one needs to apply a couple of layers for it to show up on the skin), but nonetheless it because it makes for a nice subtle brow bone and inner corner highlight – especially if you’re not into shimmery shades.  This palette contains 5 matte shades and 1 shimmery shade.

LA Girl Inspiring Eyeshadow Naturally Beautiful Swatches

Above are swatches of the eyeshadows in the ‘Naturally Beautiful’ palette.

LA Girl Inspiring Eyeshadow Be Bold & Beautiful Review

BE BOLD & BEAUTIFUL – Anyone else think of Ridge and Brooke when they read the name of this palette?  Just me…?  Ok…  I initially thought this would be my favourite palette, just look at all those warm tones!  I love the shades in this palette, but the pigmentation of the shades is a huge failure (just like Brooke & Ridge’s 154 marriages).  The swatches you see below required some serious patience on my part.  Applying some of the shades with an eyeshadow brush, can be a nightmare – so it’s best to use your finger to apply the shimmery shades.  I thought the shimmery copper shade (bottom right) was going to be a major hit, but pigmentation and shimmer-factor left me feeling disappointed.  Same with the gold shade in the middle – it’s gorgeous, but it’s just too sheer.  This palette contains 3 matte shades and 3 shimmery shades.

Below are swatches of the eyeshadows in the ‘Be Bold & Beautiful’ palette:

LA Girl Inspiring Eyeshadow Be Bold & Beautiful Swatches

Most of the eyeshadows in most of the palettes are impressive in terms of pigmentation and formula, but there are a couple of shadows that can definitely be improved upon.  Overall, I’d say 90% of the shadows in each palette is smooth in texture, and blend like an absolute dream.  BUT.  There are a couple of matte shades that are a bit crumbly (not powdery, because these shadows aren’t very dry), so you do get a bit of fall-out every now and again.  This definitely isn’t a deal-breaker for me, as I have other high-end shadows in my makeup collection that have far worse fall-out.

As with any eyeshadow, it’s always best to apply these on top of an eyeshadow primer.  A primer will help the subtle shades to pop a bit more, and will also give each shadow more staying power.

The L.A. Girl Inspiring Eyeshadow Palettes retail for R119,95 each at Dis-Chem stores nationwide (if your local Dis-Chem doesn’t have this in stock yet, hang tight, I’m sure these will be on the shelf very soon).

I think my personal favourite palette out of the 3 I own, is the lightest one called ‘Day Dream Believer’.  I think all the colours complement each other so well, and I love the mauve vibe of the palette.  I didn’t have problems with any of the shades, all are creamy and super pigmented (with no fall-out).

For the price point, these are absolutely superb and wonderfully designed palettes (well 2 of them are).  I suggest you head over to your nearest Dis-Chem store to pick up one of these babies – if you like subtle eye makeup looks, then add ‘Day Dream Believer’ to your basket.  Random side note: I keep wanting to say ‘Belieber’.

Did you know?  L.A. Girl is a cruelty-free brand.

LA Girl Inspiring Brow Kit

L.A. Girl also released 3 brow kits as part of their ‘Inspiring’ palette collection, I hope to see them in-store soon!  If you do come across them when you’re at Dis-Chem, please send me a tweet, smoke signal or let me know via Instagram / Facebook comment.

QUESTION OF THE DAY: Will you be adding one of these eyeshadow palettes to your makeup collection?



  1. Nausheen 6 September 2016 / 20:12

    Great post . Gonna get the “Day Dream Believer” – love the colours!

    • Luzanne 7 September 2016 / 09:20

      It’s gorgeous, isn’t it? :)

    • Luzanne 7 September 2016 / 09:20

      Thanks, Bianca – I’ll check out your blog post. :)

  2. Siobhan Hughes 7 September 2016 / 08:31

    Oh golly! I saw these last week in Dischem but I was a little unsure on how the quality would be. They also reminded me of the smaller Too Faced palettes – I have the Natural Eyes palette and it’s one of my favourites for travelling.

    I think I’m definitely going to get my hands on Daydream Believer, and maybe see the smokey palette too. Those brow kits better be hitting our shores soon though!

    • Luzanne 7 September 2016 / 09:23

      I own the Too Faced ‘Boudoir Eyes’ palette, and I looooove it! Also have the ‘A La Mode’ Eyes palette but I’m not very fond of all the bright colours in the palette.. :)

      I hope to see the brow kits very soon, I’m very keen to see what the formula & pigmentation of the shadows are like (plus I wonder if the kit contains a brow wax)…

  3. Kandy Kane Makeup 7 September 2016 / 09:21

    Shjoe friend x its a bit of a steep price if the pigmentation is not that amazing :(

    • Luzanne 7 September 2016 / 09:24

      The pigmentation is amazing on 2 of the 3 palettes, definitely worth it in my book! 😀

    • Belinda 7 September 2016 / 09:30

      @Kandykanemakeup I think the pigmentation for the first two palettes looks great, I have the naturally beautiful palette at home and the eyeshadows are very good quality. You cant compare the eyeshadow quality to MAC or urban decay because the prices are not the same.

    • Olwethu B 7 September 2016 / 09:35

      I think the pigmentation looks really good for the price of the palettes, Kandy. The third one looks not as great (like L mentioned), but I would pay R120 for either of the first two palettes. Im a student and cant spend lots of $$$ on expensive stuff, but these look like good quality for the price. 😉

      • Kandy Kane Makeup 7 September 2016 / 14:14

        for R120 I would rather buy Wet n Wild eyeshadows, their pigmentation is way better :) and I think its R99 for a palette with 8 shadows, so you save more

        • Olwethu B 7 September 2016 / 15:32

          Hun, the 8-pan Wet n Wild palettes dont have matte eyeshadows in them.. So you cant create a complete eyeshadow look.. I dont know about you, but I don’t use shimmers in my crease. 😉

          • Simone Cameron 8 September 2016 / 10:31

            I just realised this morning the Wet n Wild has no matte shades in it, luckily I had my NYX contour palette in the car so I could use one of the brown shades in my crease. ha ha. Agree with Kandy Kane, Wet n Wild is amazing! BUT I also love LA Girl…for the price, we can have both palettes ladies <3 😉

        • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:18

          Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Kandy Kane Makeup. :)

      • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:18

        Thank you for taking the time to reply, Olwethu. :)

  4. Belinda 7 September 2016 / 09:31

    Thank you for a stunning and thorough review, Luzanne! :) Your photos are always so inspiring (excuse the pun haha), keep doing what you are doing!! xo

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:19

      Thank you so much for the words of encouragement, and compliment! I really appreciate it so much! 😀 xo

  5. Simone Cameron 7 September 2016 / 09:36

    I saw these on a YouTube vlog a few months ago and wondered if we’d be getting it…so thanks for the good news! I will definitely be checking them out, especially the Day Dream Believer palette.

    This post was so funny….loved the Ridge and Brooke references, though we’re giving away our ages surely!!!! lol.

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:22

      I think the Day Dream Believer palette is going to be my ‘go-to’ when it comes to packing for a holiday. :)

      LOL! Definitely giving away my age! But the older I get, the less I care about my age… When I turned 30, I had a mini breakdown on my birthday (nothing serious haha, just cried for most of the day) but now that I’ve celebrated my 30th birthday for the 4th time, it doesn’t feel that terrible anymore. 😉

      • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:22

        P.S. I always preferred Taylor over Brooke anyway… 😉

        • Simone Cameron 8 September 2016 / 10:26

          LMAO…I really actually enjoy being away from my 20’s I must be honest….but I’m hitting 36 in December, so I’d like to hit pause maybe by 40….eeeeekkkk…..

          Taylor was a vision when she joined the B&B! I thought she was the most beautiful woman in the world.

  6. Yvonne 7 September 2016 / 09:37

    Sulke mooi fotos, Luzanne! Ek hoop jy het ‘n lekker dag verder, ek sit by die werk maar darem het jou blog post my dag bietjie meer opwindend gemaak. :)

    Ek gaan defnitief die “mauve palette” kry.

    XO, Yvonne

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:23

      Baie dankie, Yvonne! 😀 Ek is so bly om dit te hoor, dis hoekom ek my blog posts skryf – om iemand se dag bietjie op te cheer. 😉 xo

  7. Porchia 7 September 2016 / 09:43

    HAHA! I remember Bold & Beautiful, luved the ref!! 😀

    I’m waiting for the brow kits, becoz I own to many eyeshadows for just one person. 😉

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:27

      Thanks, Porchia! 😉 Let me know if you see the brow kits at Dis-Chem, I’ll be on it like tie dye on a hippie. 😀

  8. Jess Harper 7 September 2016 / 09:54

    Going me to buy day dream believer as soon as I can get up to dischem! Looks stunning!

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:27

      I hope you enjoy the palette, Jess! :)

  9. Shelley 7 September 2016 / 09:55

    Really enjoyed this blog post, love your wit! 😀 😀

    I’m going to buy the Naturally Beautiful palette, I’m not really into pinks and mauves for my eyes…

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:27

      Thank you, Shelley. :) Happy shopping! 😉

  10. Talitha ❤ 7 September 2016 / 10:55

    Oooh, defs getting my hands on the Daydream Believer (Belieber haha!) palette. x

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:28

      Haha! Enjoy your new palette, Talitha! xo

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:28

      It’s a stunner, isn’t it? 😉 xoxo

  11. iamajs 7 September 2016 / 13:58

    cape town dischem stores la girl display is always messy and very low in stock :-(

    • Yvonne 7 September 2016 / 17:20

      I sometimes have the same issue, Iamajs, but you can ask the sales assistant at Dischem to source a product for you from another Dischem store. They’ll then let you know once it has arrived for you. I’ve done it a few times, and it worked out well for me. :)

      • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:30

        Thanks for helping Iamajs out, Yvonne. :)

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:29

      Aaaah no! I also have the same issue at certain Dis-Chem stores sometimes, but it’s true what Yvonne said below. You can always ask them to source the products for you. :)

  12. Yvonne 7 September 2016 / 17:19

    Great review, Luzanne! :) Going to make a point of visiting my Dischem this weekend to get the Day Dream Believer palette. It’s so pretty, and the pigmentation looks really good. xx

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:30

      Thanks, Yvonne – I really appreciate you taking the time to read my blog post and leave a comment (actually 2 comments). 😉 x

  13. Una 7 September 2016 / 19:05

    OOOOH!! I need that Naturally Beautiful one in my life asap! 😀

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:31

      It’s a beauty for sure! :)

  14. R Fourie 7 September 2016 / 19:20

    The Day Dream Believer is my favourite too :-) …… on my shopping list for sure … is it available in PE yet, anyone?

    • Luzanne 8 September 2016 / 10:32

      I have no idea, but you can always send Dis-Chem a tweet and ask them which stores in PE have it in stock. They’re really good with replying to tweets. :)

  15. Shannin 8 September 2016 / 14:22

    I’m so disappointed that last palette was a fail…the colours look so amazing and unique. If I can find the other 2 I’ll probably get them both, they look stunning. Thanks for the fun post as always. And no, you aren’t alone on the Ridge and Brooke story…LOL.

  16. Sim 9 September 2016 / 13:43

    Lovely post! I’ve been eyeing these palettes for the last few months in hopes that they’d come to SA. Thanks for the review, it definitely helps when deciding which ones to buy :)

  17. Rivania Pillay 13 September 2016 / 08:22

    The Naturally Beautiful palette is stunning! It will definitely be in my basket the next time I am at Dischem. Looking forward to their brow products!
    x Rivania | The Glam Unicorn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *