Review & Swatches – Essence I ♥ Nude Collection {Lips}

Essence I Love Nude Collection

This blog post has been a long time coming, I picked up quite a few products from the Essence I ♥ Nude collection a few weeks ago and asked on Twitter & Facebook whether you’d like to see a review.  There was a resounding “YES!” from a lot of you, but then it was Easter weekend, and after that we went away on holiday, so this blog post just kept getting postponed.   And, let’s be real.  I’m a procrastinator of note.

Anyway, so today I’m sharing the lip products from the collection.  Tomorrow will be a Dove campaign blog post (plus a g-i-v-e-a-w-a-y) and on Friday I’ll share eyes & nail items from the collection.  I didn’t buy all the products from the collection because well…the products I did buy already set me back almost R 500,00.  I couldn’t pass up on the collection, though, since I am such a neutrals girl.  I was going to say ‘a nude girl’ but then I started thinking about you imagining me naked, and now I feel awkward.

Moving along…

I was pleasantly surprised by this collection, especially since the nude shades are very wearable.  And if you are into trendy shades, then you will love ‘Cool Nude’ and ‘Come Naturally’ (lipsticks).  Both are very ‘Kylie Jenner’ shades, but I’ll explain the difference between the shades a bit later in the blog post.  The Kylie Jenner lip trend is a bit like Marmite, you either love it or you hate it.  Me?  I love it.  But on normal sized lips, and I don’t do the whole overdrawing-the-lips-thing either.

Essence I Love Nude Lipstick

The lipsticks are super creamy and give a nice shine to the lips.  Pigmentation is great, especially with the 2 darker shades.  In terms of longevity, they last for about 3 hours on the lips before I have to reapply BUT I don’t mind because they feel so comfortable and moisturising on the lips.  The Essence Trend Edition I Heart Nude lipsticks retail for R 39,95 each (what a steal!) at Dis-Chem stores.

Essence I Love Nude Lipstick Swatches Porcelain Doll Cool Nude Come Naturally

The swatches above were straight from the tube, swiped 3 times.  As you can see, the lightest shade is very similar to my skin tone (I wear a MAC NW20 foundation for reference).  None of these 3 lipsticks contain shimmers, which I’m quite happy about as I’m not really into frosted lip products anyway.

Porcelain Doll – The lightest shade of the 3 lippies I bought.  This is, however, not the lightest shade in the collection.  There is a shade that is lighter than this one called ‘Wearing Only A Smile’ which is extremely pale and I’m not really sure who would be able to pull it off.  ‘Porcelain Doll’ is a beautiful light peachy nude shade, it feels very creamy on the lips but because it is so creamy, it can tend to settle into lip lines or accentuate dry or uneven patches on the lips.  This shade is a little bit too light for me personally (and I’m not a fan of ‘concealer lips’), but I’ll make it work by using a darker lipstick as a base colour.

Cool Nude – I love this shade!  It’s actually a warm-toned nude and is the most wearable colour in the collection.  I imagine it will suit a lot of skin tones, especially because it doesn’t come across as a milky nude lipstick.  Very office-appropriate and is a good ‘my-lips-but-better’ shade, with a modern twist.  This one is easy to wear and feels lightweight & moisturising on the lips.

Come Naturally – Gaaah!  Another stunning shade, this is a true cool-toned mauve shade.  It’s not too cool-toned to the point where you’ll look like you’re a walking zombie, but trendy enough to turn heads.  This, to me, is a true Kylie Jenner lippie and the affordable price tag means you can test the waters to see whether these types of shades will actually suit you without having to worry that you’ve spent a lot of money on an expensive lipstick that you may not wear again.

Essence I Love Nude XXXL Lipgloss

The XXXL lipglosses were a bit of a hit and miss for me.  Let me start off by saying I only noticed the 1 lipgloss wasn’t really part of the ‘Nudes’ collection when I got home.  Oops!  But I thought I’d include it in the blog post anyway, because I’m sure most people will love the shade.  The ‘I Love Nudes’ collection didn’t have a separate stand at Dis-Chem, the shades were packed amongst the permanent stock, and that’s why I grabbed the wrong shade (which in actual fact turned out to be the right shade because it is so beautiful).  The XXXL Nude lipglosses retail for R 36,95 each at Dis-Chem stores.

Essence I Love Nude XXXL Lipgloss Swatches Shy Beauty Soft Almond Velvet Rose

Shy Beauty – I must admit, I was a bit disappointed by this particular shade, but only because it is so sheer.  The swatch you see above had to be built up to almost 10 layers and then it just started going patchy.  The colour you see in the tube is beautiful but it unfortunately doesn’t transfer that well onto the lips.  If you are someone who prefers a sheer & natural-looking gloss, that is non-sticky and gives the lips a gorgeous shine, then this is for you.  But if you’re expecting a super pigmented & opaque gloss, then rather go for another shade.

Soft Almond – I don’t know why, but I love the name of this one.  The pigmentation of this gloss is a lot better compared to ‘Shy Beauty’ and I see this as the perfect everyday nude shade.  It’s a brown-toned nude but doesn’t look like a flat brown at all.  Super glossy, feels very comfortable on the lips, and not sticky in the least.  These glosses smell so good, almost like breakfast cereal – yum!

Velvet Rose – This is the shade that actually isn’t part of the collection but I’m going to call it ‘serendipity’ because I’m glad I picked it up.  This is more of a liquid lipstick, and lasts a lot longer on the lips (compared to the previous 2 shades) since it has a creamy matte finish.  One would think that since it is a matte lip product, it would be quite drying, but it actually feels like you’re wearing a lipbalm.  What I also like about it, is that it doesn’t stain the lips but still stays put (I get about 4 to 5 hours’ of wear but if I eat / drink it fades a lot quicker).  Although I prefer unscented lip products, these from Essence actually smell quite delicious.  This one has a completely different scent compared to the previous two, it smells like crème brûlée or a butterscotch dessert.

All in all I’m very happy with most of the shades I chose, when I swatched the shades in Dis-Chem I actually knew the lightest shades (‘Porcelain Doll’ and ‘Shy Beauty’) would be my least favourite shades but I wanted to be able to give you a holistic review of the available shades (light and dark).  These are actually the very first Essence lipsticks I have ever used, and I’m definitely keen to check out more of their shades.

If you enjoy discovering good quality budget beauty buys as much as I do, and you love your neutrals,  then pop in to Dis-Chem.  Guaranteed you’ll find your perfect nude.  A little birdie told me selected Edgars stores will also start stocking Essence products, but I’m not sure whether this specific collection will be available in-store (I think they might just stock the permanent range).

I’ll be getting a lot of use out of ‘Cool Nude’ and ‘Come Naturally’ during the Autumn and Winter seasons, I think the whole collection is perfect for this time of the year.  And remember:  A matte lip product like ‘Velvet Rose’ can be changed up to look more glossy by adding a bit of vaseline, Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream or a sheer gloss on top.

Don’t forget to visit the blog again tomorrow to read about Dove’s new campaign, plus I may or may not have 5 Dove beauty hampers to give away.

OH!  And don’t forget to enter the ‘Slim Sonic’ giveaway – it ends this Friday!



  1. Anina 22 April 2015 / 09:50

    LOVE wanneer ek dit site oopmaak en daar’s iets nuut! :-)

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 15:52

      Haha! En ek love dit om sulke comments soos joune te sien! 😉

  2. your grace 22 April 2015 / 10:30

    I’ve bought essence at Clicks. They have a wide range of products. I’ve tried their nail varnish , lipstick and eyebrow pencil☺

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 15:54

      Yes, I also sometimes buy Essence at Clicks but I must be honest, I find Dis-Chem usually has way more products in stock. The Clicks stores in my area usually have empty shelves. :(

  3. Siobhan Hughes 22 April 2015 / 10:31

    I’ve seen the Nudes collection already and none of it really grabbed my eye until now. I’m off to Dischem this weekend to buy the darker two lipsticks and that Velvet Rose lipgloss/liquid lipstick. NEED NEED NEED!

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 15:55

      The lippie colours are SO beautiful – definitely staples for the colder months ahead! 😉

  4. Simone Cameron 22 April 2015 / 10:33

    Am sick in bed….so yay for a blog post to read :)

    I love those lipsticks and think I’m definitely going to try the middle shade (I’m too lazy to scroll up and check what the name is…but I’d spend time typing this…go figure?).

    The glosses. …I have enough for now so probably won’t. ..but then again, at those prices, can you have enough?

    I LOL’d at the nude imagery….moving along!

    You said you had a meh day yesterday. …hope today is better 😉

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 15:56

      I hope you’re feeling better, Simone? :)

      Thank you for always leaving such wonderful comments on my blog, I really appreciate you taking the time to always leave a comment on my blog posts.

      So true what you said, Essence prices are so affordable – it’s easy to get carried away! 😉

  5. Shelley 22 April 2015 / 10:44

    You just know how to make me salivate for makeup, youre probably the only blogger who can do that.

    Your photies are just stunners!


    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 15:57

      Bwahahah!! LOVED this comment – thank you, Shelley! 😀

  6. Martie {Living Lightley Blog} 22 April 2015 / 10:45

    Urghhhhh… Is it possible for your photos to get any prettier? ♥♥♥♥

    Those darker lip shades look stunning and I do like the Velvet Rose lipgloss/lipstick… Been loving anything ROSE these past couple of months, well cosmetics and decor wise. Not the biggest fan of the flower itself. Never seems to last that long, you feel me? Anyway… lovely post as always

    Hope you have a fabulous day Lu…


    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 15:59

      Aaaah, thank you so much for your kind words. :)

      I always have a fresh bouquet of roses in the house, I absolutely love the look of fresh & bright roses. I always put the vase in the same spot where walk by the most during the day because just seeing them puts a smile on my face. I love tulips too but roses last way longer than tulips do.

      Have a beautiful week, Martie! xo

  7. Nthombi Maluleka 22 April 2015 / 10:58

    That Cool Nude color looks beautiful, Luzanne, I want it. Will go to dischem after work to see if I can find it.

    I am looking forward to the Dove giveaway and the next Essence nude range blog post. :)

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:00

      I hope you found it, Nthombi. 😉

  8. Chantelle 22 April 2015 / 10:59

    I absolutely love Essence Lipsticks. I will definitely be buying all 3 colours. Your blog is beautiful, hope I will also be successful in blogging like you are. Lekker Dagie Lu

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:01

      Aaaah, thank you so much! Your comment brought a huge smile to my face. :)

  9. Carmen 22 April 2015 / 11:03

    You spoiling us this week with so many blog post and a youtube video lets not forget giveaways. Thank you,
    Yay for “nude girls” hahaha Im one too and no Im not feeling awkward lol. I love the lipsticks and for that price really? Its fantastic.

    Im going to work my normal sized, not-over-drawn Kylie Jenner Lips this Autumn and winter too.

    Awesome post and photos as usual :)

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:02

      Thank you, Carmen – I hope you had a lovely time in Durban this past long weekend. 😉

  10. farzana 22 April 2015 / 11:44

    I luv these colours!! And the lipsticks are so cheap, didn’t know they were that affordable. 😉

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:03

      You can buy 2 lipsticks for under R 100 – total steal!! 😀 Love Essence price tags!

  11. Tanya 22 April 2015 / 12:28

    I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one that will “sommer” spend a quick R500 on makeup! 😛 Thanks for the review, those lipsticks seem perfect and I’ll definitely give them a try! I agree with everyone, your photos are stunning! A real treat for the eyes. :-)

    • Megan 22 April 2015 / 13:56

      Ahhhh loved this post….. I have the the 2 darker shades of Nude Lipstick and they are AMAZING!!! :-)

      • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:05

        Such beautiful shades, Megan, and unique too (especially for drugstore lippies). 😉

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:05

      LOL – so true… Sometimes I don’t even look at the total, I just give the cashier my bank card! 😉 It’s all for review purposes, right? 😉

      Thank you for checking in on the blog, Tanya.

  12. Abby 22 April 2015 / 14:36

    The nude lipsticks are amazing and so creamy. I love the shades too

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:06

      Very creamy and so comfortable to wear on the lips. Essence lipsticks are new faves, that’s for sure! 😉

  13. Debra 22 April 2015 / 15:49

    God, your photos are just incredible. You should become a prof photographer for beauty brands lol

    Heading to the shops to track down Soft Almond.


    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:07

      Thanks so much for your kind words, Debra. :) Haha! I’m afraid I still have A LOT to learn about photography. 😉

      Hope you got your hands on Soft Almond?

  14. Jenna 22 April 2015 / 16:24

    Definitely getting my hands on those lipsticks, they look gorge!!!

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:07

      They’re just beautiful! 😀

  15. Belinda 22 April 2015 / 17:53

    These are perfect for Winter, will visit the shops this weekend to buy Cool Nude and Soft Almond.

    Off topic, but have you tasted any of the Beanies coffee flavours?

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:08

      I hope you found the shades you were looking for, Belinda.

      I’ve tasted the Very Vanilla flavoured one (my mom bought it a few weeks ago). I’ll be doing a full review on the flavours soon – PLUS will be doing a giveaway for one of their Stash Boxes (contains all 9 bottles). 😉

  16. Margarida 22 April 2015 / 20:01

    I love the “cool nude” and “come naturally”

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:09

      The shades are so unique for drugstore lipsticks, you don’t really see these types of shades amongst other more affordable brands. :)

  17. Prettiful Blog 23 April 2015 / 09:21

    Catrice also has some amazing nudes out, Nudetastic seems like my perfect nude! I got a couple of the nude eyeshadows and some other Essence products, even though they are so affordable, they really add up!

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:10

      I had a looksee at the Catrice stand last week & making a list of things I want to get. But first want to do a bit of research on which products are the best quality, because like you said, it all adds up in the end. 😉

  18. Carolyn 23 April 2015 / 14:48

    Your photos are beautiful, as always!

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:11

      Thank you so much for the compliment, Carolyn. 😀

  19. Tjoppie 23 April 2015 / 14:53

    Great photos! Dischem is also my favourite to shop for beauty products! Love the “Nudes”

  20. Chante August 24 April 2015 / 22:18

    Wow wow wow I love these products I Love Essence products Its mt personal choice :) would love this your blog and pictures makes me want to go out and buy them all

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:12

      Haha!! Thanks so much for your support, Chante. :)

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:13

      Yep! But the sheer gloss will make for a great topper over any matte lipstick, if I want to transform the lippie from matte to gloss. 😉

  21. Sibahle 29 April 2015 / 14:17

    I love the lipstick shades.

    • Luzanne 4 May 2015 / 16:13

      They’re gorgeous, aren’t they? :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *