Review – Stila Eyes Are The Window Palette | Spirit

Stila Eyes Are The Window Spirit Palette Review

This year, Stila celebrates their 20th anniversary.  20 Years of providing the beauty-obsessed with fantastical makeup items ranging from foundations, to lippies, to makeup brushes.  And let me tell ya: Stila really hit the ball out of the park with this eyeshadow palette!  I was sent this palette a few weeks ago and upon looking at the shades, it was love at first sight.  The new ‘Eyes Are The Window’ eyeshadow palettes are inspired by the spiritual notion that true beauty is revealed from within.  Each palette contains 12 eyeshadow pans that enable you to create and endless amount of different eye looks.

The packaging is…breathtaking – the glam & gilded encasing fills my heart with rainbows and makes me want to run down the street throwing glitter in the air.  Rose gold… *swoon*

Stila Eyes Are The Window Spirit Palette Review

The Spirit palette contains an array of 12 of Stila’s most iconic shades:  Kitten = tick!  Jezebel = tick!  Pigalle = tick!  Pewter = tick!

Stila is known to make super pigmented, buttery velvet textured shadows – and the eyeshadows in this palette are no exception.

Stila Eyes Are The Window Spirit Palette Review

The 12 shades in the Spirit palette are all natural colours – these include nudes, greys, browns, with pops of colour too (a peach- and a muted burgundy shade).  I would say the palette is the perfect mix of both cool- and warm-toned shades.  The palette contains 2 matte shades – Chinois, a matte cream-toned shade and Puppy (love the name!), a matte warm-toned brown shade.  Puppy reminds me of MAC Soft Brown, which we don’t have here in South Africa.  The other 10 shades are a mix of frosty and shimmery shades, with various intensities of frost & shimmer.  All of the eyeshadows in this palette are incredibly soft and buttery (I had a bit of fall-out with Chinois, but not to the point where it was an issue for me).  I find them to be easy to apply (with a dense eyeshadow brush) and easy to blend as well.  Jezebel reminds me of MAC Expensive Pink when applied to the eyelid, it’s a beautiful peachy shade with gold shimmers.

The swatches you see below (in the same order as situated in the palette) are just one swipe of the finger on the eyeshadows – THAT’S how pigmented they are!

Stila Eyes Are The Window Spirit Palette Swatches

Each palette comes with a look book (that contains 3 eyeshadow looks) curated by Sarah Lucero (Stila’s Global Executive Director of Creative Artistry).  Take a look below:

Stila Eyes Are The Window Spirit Palette Review

If there is one palette I suggest you get your hands on, this would be it.  There are 3 other limited edition palettes that form part of the ‘Eyes Are The Window’ collection but looking at the shades contained in the Spirit palette, this is definitely the one I would have picked if I were to purchase one of the limited edition palettes.  You have 1 matte browbone shade, 1 matte crease shade and all the other shades are there for you to play around with on the lid and in the crease.  Some shades are super shimmery (Kitten & Oases) and others have hints of subtle shimmers (Pigalle & Espresso).

The Stila Eyes Are The Window palettes retail for R 495,00 at selected Woolworths & Truworths stores – that means you are paying just over R 40,00 per eyeshadow.  I don’t know about you, but that is amazing value for money in my book – especially when the quality is this great!



  1. Qondiswa N 29 September 2014 / 17:44

    This palette is breathtaking, Luzanne! My bank account is going to hate me for it but I must buy this one asap!

    • Luzanne 30 September 2014 / 21:15

      Let me know how you like the palette, Qondiswa – but I’m pretty sure you’re going to LOVE it! 😀

  2. Taz 29 September 2014 / 18:13

    Your photos are beautiful!!

  3. Holly Morello 29 September 2014 / 18:33

    Stunning colors!! I picked up the Body palette back when it first arrived here in Oz. I use mine all the time. :)

    • Luzanne 30 September 2014 / 21:14

      The Body palette looks GORGEOUS!! Those pops of purple and turquoise – wow! *swoon*

  4. Ursula 29 September 2014 / 19:09

    Your photos!!!!! I die!!!! Did you go on a professional photography course, Luzanne?

    By the way, the palette must be mine! I just showed me hubby this blog post and told him he must go look for the palette since it’s my bday in October. 😛

    • Luzanne 30 September 2014 / 21:13

      Haha!!! Thank you so much for your kind words, Ursula!

      I didn’t go on any type of photography course – just practice, I guess. :) *blush*

      Yay for birthdays! I hope you have a wonderful birthday, lucky lady – wish my birthday was around the corner… 😉

  5. Yolandi Wilken 29 September 2014 / 21:47

    Stunning blog post and photos! I picked the palette up about 2 weeks ago after I saw your instagram photo of it. It truly is a beauty.

    Yolandi x

    • Luzanne 30 September 2014 / 21:12

      Thank you so much, Yolandi – you are right, this palette really is a beaut!

  6. Talitha ❤ 29 September 2014 / 21:51

    I own the Soul palette, and its the perfect mixture of neutrals for work. I wanted to get the Spirit one because of your Instagram photo but it wasn’t in stock. I love the Soul palette, been using it every day for work. :)

    • Luzanne 30 September 2014 / 21:10

      Sounds (and looks) like a lovely palette, Talitha! :) I wouldn’t mind owning every single one of these palettes, to be quite honest! 😉

  7. Bianca 30 September 2014 / 09:08

    This palette is a must-have! xOx

    • Luzanne 30 September 2014 / 21:09

      It certainly is, Bianca! :) xxx

  8. Clara Dinkelmann 30 September 2014 / 09:16

    You have outdone yourself with this blog post, Luzanne!

    Clara ♥

    • Luzanne 30 September 2014 / 21:09

      Yaaaay! Thanks, Clara! 😀

  9. nasheta 30 September 2014 / 13:08

    Hi Luzanne

    I went to Woolworths this weekend wanting to buy the Soul palette, but for some reason I came home with Spirit! (There was only the perfume guy on duty and he gave me the wrong one). I was so disappointed when I opened it and planned on returning it. But after reading this post now, I’m 2 minded!!! Help???

    • Luzanne 30 September 2014 / 21:08

      Aaaah no, that sucks! Both palettes are neutral, Soul more so than Spirit. If you are a 100% neutral girl, and you know you won’t really use the pops of colour shades i.e. Pigalle & Jezebel, then rather go back & get Soul. But if you like adding a bit of colour to the outer crease area to make a neutral eye look a bit more interesting, then stick with Spirit. :) Also, if you already own the Stila In The Light palette, don’t get Soul as well (apparently they have VERY similar shades).

      I really, REALLY love this palette – I just find the added coloured eyeshadow shades add an interesting twist compared to an only nude & neutral shade palette. :)

      • nasheta 2 October 2014 / 11:01

        Thanks for your advise. I don’t have “In the Light” so Soul won’t be a dupe. When I go back to Woolies tomorrow, I will have a look again to compare Spirit and Soul and make my final choice then :)

        • Luzanne 3 October 2014 / 18:48

          Let me know what you decided to do, I’m interested to know! :)

  10. Sibahle 30 September 2014 / 18:01

    What an amazing palette. I love the colours.

    • Luzanne 30 September 2014 / 21:01

      The colours are so stunning! Thanks for popping by the blog, Sibahle! :)

  11. Odette 30 September 2014 / 20:40

    My ever expanding makeup collection loves you, Luzanne, but my shrinking bank account balance not so much! Hehehehe!

    Yet another product I need to add to my shopping list this weekend. :)

    Love your blog! -Odette

    • Luzanne 30 September 2014 / 20:59

      Haha! Love it, Odette! Always happy to be the enabler! 😉

  12. Lulu 1 October 2014 / 12:28

    Stunning photos that really makes the palette a “must have”! Great review!

  13. Chane van Wyk 9 October 2014 / 15:44

    Luzanne :)

    I have read this blog post 3 times, I was in 2 minds about buying this palette, I have never used Stila before but I just ordered mine on Zando and I am so excited to try it! Thank you for your awesome reviews! I am obsessed.. bought the Revlon Sultry Samba lipstick as well because of you *cant help myself*
    Thanks for the great reviews :)

    • Luzanne 10 October 2014 / 15:48

      Eeeep! I always get so nervous when someone spends a lot of money on a product I recommend, because they might not like it as much and then hate me afterwards… Stila really is a great quality makeup brand, in my honest opinion, and I own their ‘In The Light’ palette as well and use it all the time!

      You’re welcome! 😀 Sultry Samba will be in my monthly favourites (it’s very late – eeek!) blog post coming up on Monday – I’ve been L-O-V-I-N-G it! x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *