Review – Sigma 3DHD Kabuki Brush…plus a GIVEAWAY

Sigma 3DHD Kabuki Brush-1

Today’s blog post is a very special one, not only because it’s a review (plus giveaway) of the brand spanking new Sigma 3DHD Kabuki brush but also because we are celebrating Turquoise Studio’s first birthday!

Happy Birthday, Turquoise Studio!

If you haven’t heard of Turquoise Studio before, let me give you a short run-down.  Nina (the mastermind behind Turquoise Studio) contacted me a couple of months ago to introduce me to her brand, and my very first thought was:  “FINALLY!  A South African-based online store that sells Sigma Beauty makeup brushes!”

Turquoise Studio was founded by Nina de Winter-Peer after being frustrated with the difficulty in purchasing high-quality, well-priced make-up tools in South Africa.  Her passion for make-up and her need to be highly organised lead Nina to want to provide this service to all women in South Africa – Turquoise Studio was born…  In this online shop you can find makeup brushes, brush kits, eyeshadow palettes, blushes, brow products, eyeliners, lipglosses (all from the Sigma Beauty brand), plus Toy nail polishes, Z Palettes, a makeup brush cleanser and brush guards.  Placing your online order is super simple & easy (I’ve placed multiple orders already) and delivery is FREE!

I have three 10% off coupon codes for anyone who would like to place an order online with Turquoise Studio, so if you are in the market for amazing quality makeup brushes or you have had your eye on the Sigma Warm Neutrals palette, let me know & I will be happy to send you a discount code.

Today I am reviewing the Sigma 3DHD Kabuki brush, plus I will be giving away another one to a lucky Pink Peonies blog reader!  The winner will be one of the first South Africans to own this brush (it was only launched in the US last week) – so it really is hot off the shelf!

This is what Sigma says about their new 3DHD brushes: “The 3DHD Kabuki was uniquely designed for all areas of the face to apply liquid, cream and powder products uniformly on every curve, crease and angle.”  The main idea behind this brush, is that you won’t have to make facial expressions when applying your makeup because it conforms to the angles of your face and fits so well into creases (around the nose, bottom lip etc) too.  To me, that’s a bit gimmicky, because I know I will always make facial expressions when applying my makeup (unless I really concentrate to not pull my face a certain way).  So I won’t be focussing on the whole facial expression claim for this review.

Sigma 3DHD Kabuki Brush Giveaway-1

This brush is so different to any other foundation brush I have ever owned.  It is super soft, just like my trusty Sigma F80 Flat Top Kabuki brush, but it has a very special and unique angle to it.  The brush is angled down the middle (almost like a mohawk) to fit into all the nooks & crannies of the face.  It fits PERFECTLY around the nose area, the under eye area etc. and applies foundation like an absolute dream.  The bristles are soft and dense, so it buffs your foundation into the skin and gives it an air-brushed finish – I’m officially obsessed!

The brush is super versatile too – I use the one side to apply my foundation and then use the other side of the mohawk to apply my concealer to my under eye area.  My under eye concealer is a shade lighter than my foundation (as I really like to both conceal and highlight that area), so this brush is perfect because I’m not mixing your shades.  In other words, you can use this one brush to apply your foundation AND concealer.

Sigma 3DHD Kabuki Brush Review

Also, this brush will be amazing for contouring – whether you use a liquid or cream contour product, because it creates a defined contour line that can be blended out with the side of the brush.

I’m planning on doing a ‘Get Ready With Me’ video soon and will be using this brush to show you how I apply my foundation & concealer – so you’ll get to see for yourself how quick & easy foundation application is using this cutting-edge brush (haha, see what I did there?).

The Sigma 3DHD brush is currently only available from Turquoise Studio (here in South Africa) and retails for R 415,00.

GIVEAWAY TIME!  As mentioned before, I am giving away one of these new Sigma 3DHD Kabuki brushes to one lucky Pink Peonies blog reader.  Because it is Breast Cancer Awareness month (and I love pink), I will be giving away a beautiful pink 3DHD Kabuki brush.

Here’s how you can enter (but remember to enter through the Rafflecopter widget, otherwise your entries won’t be valid):

♥  Leave a comment below telling me what your favourite product is on the Turquoise Studio website (+ 5 entries).

♥  Follow Turquoise on Twitter here (+ 5 entries).

♥  Follow Turquoise on Facebook here (+ 5 entries).

♥  Follow Pink Peonies Blog on Twitter here (+ 5 entries).

♥  Follow Pink Peonies Blog on Facebook here (+ 5 entries).

♥  Follow Pink Peonies Blog on Instagram (+ 5 entries).

♥  Subscribe to the Pink Peonies Blog YouTube channel here (+ 5 entries).

♥  Tweet about the Giveaway (+ 5 entries): “@PinkPeoniesBlog & @TQStudioZA are giving away a new Sigma #3DHD Kabuki makeup brush & I would love to win it!”  Just click on the ‘Tweet’ button within the Rafflecopter widget and it will automatically tweet the message for you.  You can do this every day for extra entries.

♥  Share this blog post with your friends on Instagram or Facebook by linking back to my blog / this blog post and tagging #PinkPeoniesBlogGiveaway (+ 5 entries).  You can do this every day for extra entries.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Please remember: You don’t HAVE to do all of the above – if you’d only like to tweet about the giveaway, or only follow me on Instagram, then your entry will still be valid.  The other ones are there so that you can gain more entries for the giveaway.

This giveaway to open to South African residents only.

A winner will be chosen on the 29th of October 2014 & I will announce the winner on Twitter, Facebook and this blog post.

Good luck!

P.S. Excuse if I look slightly radio-active in the photos above, the cloudy weather was wearking havoc with my photography lighting…

{UPDATE} Congratulations Isabelle Perkins, you are the winner of the Sigma 3DHD Kabuki brush!



  1. Bernice Harman 15 October 2014 / 16:00

    Eye Liner – Atomic Number 6

  2. Debbie Lourens 15 October 2014 / 16:03

    My favourite is the z pallette
    And I have done all of the above except tweet as i am not sure how twitter works! lol

  3. Mishka Maharaj 15 October 2014 / 16:08

    Limited Edition Crème de Couture-perfect spring colours! <3

  4. Gillian Pillay 15 October 2014 / 16:08

    Smokey Screen Eye Shadow Palette :) x

  5. Haneem Majiet-Abader 15 October 2014 / 16:18

    It has to be the cult favourite Sigma F80 Flat Top Kabuki brush

  6. Tarryn 15 October 2014 / 16:20

    My favourite is the Sigma E25 brush, since it’s one of the only Sigma product I own. It’s really awesome :) But since I can’t find it on the website, my other favourite is the F80 flat top. Oh my word. So nice!

  7. Candice Dhani 15 October 2014 / 16:20


    The Sigma beauty premium set is what i want so badly! I LOVE BRUSHES!!!

  8. Candice 15 October 2014 / 16:21

    My favorite has got to be F80 the flat Kabuki Copper brush, it looks stunning and can be perfect for blending my foundation

  9. Janneke 15 October 2014 / 16:21

    That pretty extra large z palette

  10. nasheta 15 October 2014 / 16:28

    My favourite is the F80. Seen so many excellent reviews, can’t wait to get my hands on it. But first going to try my hand at winning the 3D. Fingers crossed!

  11. Prettiful Blog 15 October 2014 / 17:23

    F80, it is a cult product that I would love to own!

  12. Yolandi Barnard 15 October 2014 / 17:26

    Sjoe wat ‘n amazing giveaway, ek hoop die 29ste is my gelukkige dag haha my foundation brush is gedaan. En laat ek ook van hierdie geleentheid gebruik maak en se, baie dankie vir die “manicure” video! My naels lyk sommer 10 keer beter! Geniet jou aand verder :)

  13. Lize-Mari Smith 15 October 2014 / 17:33

    The Sigma Essential Brush Kit, all the brushes you need in one collection!!

  14. Sophia 15 October 2014 / 17:57

    My favourite has to be Palette – Dome

  15. Sylvia Taylor-Memmory 15 October 2014 / 18:02

    Love the F80 Flat Kabuki Brush from Sigma!

    Great giveaway Luzanne!

    Sylvia xXx

  16. Sandra 15 October 2014 / 18:11

    Warm Neutrals Eye Shadow
    Sigma Beauty
    Would love the own this! XXX

  17. Attiya 15 October 2014 / 20:11

    My favourite brush is the Sigma F80 Flat Kabuki brush.
    I’ve heard so many great reviews about it !
    Definitely a must have.

  18. Janet 15 October 2014 / 21:33

    My favourite item on the Turquoise Studio website is the Flare Eye Shadow. I love the colours and would have a ball creating different looks with it. X

  19. Vanessa 15 October 2014 / 21:35

    I am in love with the warm neutrals palette.


  20. Lizna 15 October 2014 / 22:42

    I love the Flare Eyeshadow :)

  21. rehana seedat 15 October 2014 / 23:04

    Love the F80 Flat Kabuki Brush from Sigma. tweeted @rehanaseedat

  22. Kaye-Leigh Killian 16 October 2014 / 07:18

    I am in desperate need of a new brush to apply my bronzer, my current one is looking rather tired.
    The Sigma F80 Flat Top Kabuki brush has caught my eye as the perfect replacement!

  23. Lulu 16 October 2014 / 07:52

    What a brush, wow! Could really do with it. Lovely photos as always!

  24. Megs Hartwig 16 October 2014 / 07:53

    Ooh…so many beautiful things on the Turquoise Studio website, but my favourite product has to be the Toy Nail Polish in the Verdeazul colour!!! Which is perfect for Summer!

  25. BelleBlushh 16 October 2014 / 07:54

    My favourites are the Sigma Beauty Steady Glow collections. Gorgeous

  26. Chante 16 October 2014 / 08:40

    Oh so pretty!! Wow that’s such a great giveaway! Love that it’s pink for Breast Cancer Awareness and the day the winner is announced is my moms 58th birthday, and it’s her 9th year clear of breast cancer.

    My favorite products on Turquoise Studio would have to be the Z palettes! Love to grow my collection of them :)

    Xx Chante

  27. Roshan 16 October 2014 / 09:25

    I adore the Perfect Blend kit and would love to get that as a pre-birthday gift to myself! I own a F80 and have been telling anyone and everyone who will listen what an awesome game changer it is!

  28. Layla 16 October 2014 / 10:08

    I LOVE my zpallet …sooo convenient to have all ur shadows at one place and most importantly keeps the makeup draws neat and tidy xoxo

  29. Girl in the Pearls 16 October 2014 / 11:11

    I know this might seem strange, but I’ve only just discovered make-up brushes. I feel like a whole new world has been opened up to me! Would love to give this state-of-the-art one a go!

  30. Caroline 16 October 2014 / 13:06

    I love the Smokey Screen Eye Shadow Palette! xx

  31. Paula Bianca Jacobs 16 October 2014 / 13:55

    I haven’t purchased from the Turquoise Studio products yet, but going through their website, I am really liking the look and description of the Warm Neutrals Eye Shadow by Sigma. It seems like it would suit my skin tone so well! xx

  32. Nirana Krishna 16 October 2014 / 13:59

    My favourite has to be the F80-Flat Kabuki! xx

  33. Jackie Katzen 16 October 2014 / 15:14

    The warm neutrals eye shadow, love it

  34. Lalannie 16 October 2014 / 16:37

    I love Turquoise Studio – i love everything. If i have to choose then Brilliant & Spellbinding Eye Shadow it will be.

  35. Melany 16 October 2014 / 18:31

    I absolutely love the E40 Tapered Blending brush which makes blending a breeze. I love how eye shadows transition from one to the next when you use this amazing brush. It is a must have!

  36. Natasha 16 October 2014 / 19:24

    I really want to get a ZPalette and I’m so excited to see I don’t have to order one from overseas.

  37. Camilla (Jane Wonder) 16 October 2014 / 23:03

    Hmmmm… Considering what I already have, I think I’d get the Sigma F60 (Foundation) brush :)

  38. Nicola Meyer 17 October 2014 / 15:32

    Love the look of the Warm Neutrals Eyeshadow

  39. Dana Truitt 17 October 2014 / 19:54

    My fave is the Nail Polish – Cherry Blossom to be percise. What a gorgeous shade!

  40. Sana Hadj Salah 18 October 2014 / 11:39

    The Sigma Essential kit is just perfect! :))

  41. Hanneri 18 October 2014 / 19:27

    I am going to order the Signa spa brush cleansing glove as soon as Turqouise studio has it back in stock

  42. Simone 20 October 2014 / 09:55

    The bare eye shadow base kit is definitely on my must have list at this stage:)

    Entered…fingers crossed!!

  43. Leema 20 October 2014 / 17:59

    The F80! Hopefully it’ll be the 3DHD brush;)

  44. Rushda 22 October 2014 / 07:28

    The smokescreen eyeshadow palette seems to be calling my name! Awesome giveaway.
    Rushda xx

  45. Isabelle Perkins 22 October 2014 / 14:59

    Warm Neutrals palette for me! Or the 3DHD Kabuki! Or the 3DHD Precision! 😀

  46. Zee Mohlapi 22 October 2014 / 15:00

    The F80 brush looks just as great! Either F80 or 3DHD Kabuki.


  47. Kierra 22 October 2014 / 15:03

    The Smoke Screen and Warm Neutrals eye shadow palettes are amazing. x

  48. Nikki Ramphal 22 October 2014 / 15:19

    LOVE the F80 Flat Kabuki Brush, if i got my hands on that i could do wonders!

  49. Tammy 22 October 2014 / 15:24

    What an awesome giveaway. The Smoke Screen and Warm Neutrals Palettes are totes amaze and that Kabuki brush is soooooooooooooooooo gorgeous! They all could fit into my make-up essentials collection.

  50. Jenna 22 October 2014 / 15:40

    E25 brush, it looks like perfection! Ive shared your post on Facebook and Im following you everywhere.

    Thank you to you and Turquoise Studio for such a stupendous giveaway! xoxo

  51. Merissa 22 October 2014 / 18:59

    The XL Z Palette – must have!!

  52. Inge 22 October 2014 / 19:17

    The E40 Tapered blending brush looks like the MAC 224, been lusting after MAC brushes for years but now after reading this review I think I’ll pick up a couple Sigma brushes. :)

  53. Estee 22 October 2014 / 20:25

    The Sigma Premium set OMG!

  54. Siobhan Hughes 23 October 2014 / 12:48

    My favourite product on the site is the Loose Shimmer – Ambrosia pigment – so so gorgeous and would offset my green eyes perfectly!

  55. Michelle 23 October 2014 / 13:48

    3DHD Kabuki brush!

  56. Melissa 23 October 2014 / 16:11

    The loose shimmer – Ambrosia is sooo beautiful <3

  57. Kelsey Niehaus 23 October 2014 / 16:58

    I would have to say, it’s the “Sigma F80 Flat Top Kabuki brush” that I just recently purchased off their website! When I started using it, I was literally screaming how amazing this brush was! 😀 <3

  58. tanya myburgh 23 October 2014 / 17:02

    Sigma 3DHD Kabuki brush is my favorite after this review!! WANT!

  59. Shazia 23 October 2014 / 23:16

    I’ve ordered multiple times from Turquoise Studios.. My fav and holy grail has got to be the Sigma F80 Flat Top Kabuki!!

  60. Simone 24 October 2014 / 09:46

    Still entering….fingers crossed!! EEEK! 4 days.. #CantDeal

  61. Michelle 26 October 2014 / 14:53

    My favourite is the sigma F80 flat kabuki:)

  62. portia 27 October 2014 / 11:56

    I browsed the website of turquoise studio and fell in love with the extended wear eyeliner kit- neutral, hope to buy it soon

  63. Tyler Vivier 28 October 2014 / 12:52

    Lol I can be doff sometimes, I love angled brushes so if I had to pick a fav it would be the P84 – Precision Angled™

  64. Claire van apeldoorn 28 October 2014 / 13:25

    Wow!! awesome giveaway!! I love the F80 – Flat Kabuki™ brush!! looks amazing!! :-)

  65. Natalie Osmond 28 October 2014 / 20:10

    Eyes are the windows to the soul, so why not make the entry way as stunning as possible 😉 I freaked LOVE the Sigma Performance Eye Kit! Definitely on my Christmas wish list!

  66. Samantha Rex 28 October 2014 / 20:15

    I love the Sigma premium brushes! I have to get my hands on that set :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *