Review – OGX Coconut Water, Kukui Oil & Keratin Oil + GIVEAWAY


OGX has fast become one of my favourite drugstore hair care brands over the past year or so.  Inspired by nature, all OGX products contain exotic, active ingredients sourced from around the world.  Most of their products are SLS sulphate free, paraben free and are not tested on animals.  Furthermore, OGX bottles are made from recycled, post-consumer resin and their product labels are printed using environmentally friendly inks and compostable label film made from an annually renewable resource, not from petrochemicals.  I’m always surprised by how short the ingredients list on some of their shampoo and conditioner bottles are, it means the formulas are not tainted with excessive chemicals and preservatives.  Their products are affordable, and yet they perform like salon quality products.

Some people are blessed with a full head of healthy hair.  Me?  Not so much…  During Winter my hair is like a dry sponge, soaking up as much moisture as possible and yet most days it still looks dry and dull.  During Summer, I struggle with oily roots and dry ends…plus then there’s the whole battling frizz issue due to our South African climate.  It sometimes feels like I’m fighting a losing battle, and because of this I’m always on the hunt for top quality hair care products.  I know a lot of my blog readers cannot afford luxury hair care brands, and that’s why I like to feature more affordable hair care products here on the blog.

After testing out these 3 product ranges from OGX for the past couple of months, and so I think I have a good grasp on how the ranges are different from one another.  I’m guessing there are a few of you who are wondering why sulphates are something to consider when purchasing hair care products, let me explain.

Why use SLS sulphate-free products?  SLS (Sodium Lauryl Sulphate) is a detergent / chemical used to remove oils from your hair (that’s why we wash our hair).  If you already have dry and damaged hair, washing your hair with a shampoo that contains sulphates will strip the hair of its essential natural oils.  If your hair is colour-treated, sulphates will also strip away pigmentation from hair dye and your colour will fade quicker.  Sulphates also significantly weakens the hair follicles and hair strands when used over a prolonged period of time, this causes brittle hair that is prone to breakage.  Sulphate-free shampoos will reduce the chances of developing scalp problems, increases moisture retention within the hair follicle and hair shaft, retains hair’s natural oils, and retains hair colour in colour-treated hair.


Weightless Hydration Coconut Water – This was always going to be my favourite OGX range, and I’m sure by now you know why…  I have already finished every last drop of my first Coconut Water shampoo bottle, and you will see it in an upcoming ‘Empties’ blog post soon.  The scent is out of this world, it reminds me of our honeymoon days spent on a Seychelles beach sipping on an icy Piña Colada cocktail.  This is what OGX says about their Coconut Water range of products: “Quench thirsty hair with tropical coconut water, packed with nutrient rich electrolytes to refresh and nourish each strand for unbeatable hydration and shine.  New OGX Coconut Water shampoo and conditioner contain an exotic blend of coconut oil and bamboo extract to revive and hydrate.”

The natural state of my hair is dry, frizzy with oily roots and baby flyaways pretty much everywhere.  Needless to say I need a shampoo and conditioner duo that is lightweight & won’t weigh my hair down, cleansing for my oily roots, hydrating for my dry ends and nourishing to fight the frizz.  That’s a tall order!  I’ve been amazed by the performance of the Coconut Water duo – coconut water derived from young green coconuts is at the core of these products, when massaged into the scalp it stimulates circulation, helping to promote hair growth.  The electrolytes contained in coconut water also infuse each hair strand with hydration, while strengthening hair follicles.  Coconut water also contains a saturated fatty acid (lauric acid) that binds to hair proteins, strengthening the hair and helping to prevent moisture loss.

This clear, lightweight shampoo does a great job of removing all dirt and oil from my hair and scalp without leaving them parched and dehydrated.  I have used almost every single OGX range that is currently available in South Africa and I must admit, I am always surprised by how much their shampoos lather & foam up, especially since they don’t contain SLS.  The rich & creamy conditioner feels luxurious when applied to the hair, with no greasy residue after I have rinsed my hair.  I can feel my hair is definitely softer and silkier thanks to the combination of coconut oil and coconut water, and yet still has bounce and volume to it.  Combined this duo leaves my hair feeling smoother and more manageable, with major shine-factor going on.


Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil – If you deal with a frizzy mane on the daily, then this is definitely the OGX hair care range to try.  Here is what OGX has to say about their Kukui Oil range of products: “Make even rainy days a ‘good hair’ day with OGX’s new frizz busting range, containing Kukui Oil.  An ancient Hawaiian secret known for its hydrating and waterproofing abilities, Kukui Oil eliminates frizz and leave curls beautifully defined, bouncing with luminous shineRepel humidity and seal in moisture with Kukui Oil shampoo & conditioner, an indulgent combination that gives hair a shimmering, glossy texture while keeping humidity at bay.”

I personally don’t think this range is only suitable for curly hair, I have naturally straight-ish in some sections, and wavy-ish in other sections hair that poufs up at the first sign of steam and humidity, and the Kukui Oil range worked great for me.  Kukui nut oil is a natural moisturiser that has been used for centuries in Hawaii. It contains essential fatty acids, Vitamins C,D & E and antioxidants that help to soothe and moisturise without leaving a greasy film.  When added to cleansing formulations (like shampoo or body wash), Kukui Oil increases the creaminess of the lather and enhances its conditioning abilities.  Earlier in 2014 Lupita Nyong’o shared her beauty secrets with Glamour magazine, and she named Kukui Oil as one of her best kept secrets.

The first thing that stood out to me when I first started using the Kukui Oil duo, is that both are incredibly moisturising but neither leave my hair with an oily residue or feeling weighed down.  They leave my hair clean, smooth and bouncy.  The shampoo has a somewhat tropical scent to it, quite similiar to the OGX Coconut Water range but a bit less coconut-y.  The consistency of this shampoo is very thick, and lathered up really nicely with the scent lingering on my hair throughout the day.  The conditioner is detangling and leaves my hair more manageable and feeling super soft to the touch.  We’ve had a few rainy & humid days here in Gauteng lately, and I have to say this Kukui Oil combo definitely repels humidity for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I still have bad hair days when my locks just won’t submit to a hair dryer or heat tool, but most days the Kukui Oil range helps my hair to keep its shape & style.


Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil – I’ve mentioned my hair journey here on the blog a number of times already, but if you’re new to these parts of town, let me give you a recap.  For years and years and years I highlighted my hair, I wasn’t happy with my dull mousey brown hair and wanted to be a blonde.  So every 8 weeks I would visit the hair salon and have my hair bleached (let’s just call a spade, a spade) to create various tones of blonde.  As you can imagine, after 10 years my hair was severely damaged and extremely dry.  Combine that with almost daily use of heat tools, well, let’s just say it was a real drain on the health and appearance of my hair.  Here is OGX’s description of their Keratin Oil range: “If your tresses are feeling limp and looking lacklustre, OGX Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil will help rapidly restore its condition and strength.  Infused with nutrient rich argan oil and rich keratin proteins, the range will ensure that strands are strengthened from within and nourished throughout, reinforcing elasticity and resisting breakage.”

If your hair is prone to snapping mid-strand or towards the ends, then this is the OGX range for you!  Your best ally in achieving healthy manageable hair is a hair building block called ‘keratin’.  90% of every hair strand consists of keratin, which is a protein that gives strength and elasticity to the inner and outer structures of the hair.  Keratin is what helps your hair tolerate extreme temperatures, whether it’s hot rays from the sun or the heat generated from hair tools like curling irons and flat irons etc.

I adore the scent of this range, it smells like a high-end luxury shampoo – I can smell both fresh, fruity and floral notes in there.  After about 2 weeks of using the OGX Keratin Oil duo, I noticed a significant change in the texture and elasticity of my hair.  My hair is also much more manageable, thanks to the nourishing benefits of the conditioner.  I love how much smoother and silkier my hair is after using this combo, and I have had zero issues with product buildup.  The star of the show is definitely the super indulgent conditioner, it lavishes my hair in moisture, whilst smoothing and nourishing the outer cuticle for strong and shiny hair.

Top Tip:  If you find the OGX shampoo and conditioner bottles are too bulky to take on holiday with you, I have great news!  OGX recently launched cute little travel sizes of their ‘Renewing Argan Oil Of Morocco’ range, each shampoo and conditioner bottle contains 88,7ml which means you can pop it in your hand luggage!

OGX products retail pricing starts at R 149,95 each at selected Dis-Chem and Foschini stores, or online at Takealot.

Let’s get to the good stuff, shall we?  I have 1 OGX hamper to give away to 1 lucky Pink Peonies blog reader.  The hamper contains 1 x Weightless Hydration Coconut Water Shampoo, 1 x Weightless Hydration Coconut Water Conditioner, 1 x Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil Shampoo, 1 x Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil Conditioner, 1 x Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil Shampoo and 1 x Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil Conditioner – let’s just say you won’t have to buy shampoo & conditioner for quite some time.  Plus, your hair will thank you in the long run!

To enter, all you have to do is complete your chosen entries via the Rafflecopter widget below.  Super simple!  If you are not sure how to use the widget below, take a look at this blog post (I cover a ‘How To’ towards the end of the post).

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is open to South African residents only.

The giveaway will run until 11:59pm on Thursday, 5th November 2015, with 1 winner being selected at random shortly afterwards.  I always announce the winners of my giveaways on Facebook and Twitter, so make sure you follow me on both social media platforms.



  1. Rebecca S 29 October 2015 / 11:39

    I am obsessed with coconut water and coconut milk, so I think the combination of the fragrance and the fact that it hydrates is exactly what my hair needs right now. Especially since I live at the beach, sun sand and salt water really dries out my hair during summer. Thank you for this giveaway, Luzanne!!!!!!!!!!!!! XO

  2. farzana 29 October 2015 / 11:52

    Hair that smells as beautiful as it looks? Yes please. Love everything coconut :)

  3. LORRAINE 29 October 2015 / 12:02

    i think the Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil is perfect for me because my hair stylist has told me my hair is in a terrible condition and he is scared of working with it in case it breaks :(

  4. Yolika Muscat 29 October 2015 / 12:02

    So need this in my life!

  5. Natalie M 29 October 2015 / 12:03

    Wow sounds fantastic, would love to try the Kukui Oil as I struggle with a lot of frizz and especially this year it would seem.

  6. Jodi 29 October 2015 / 12:03

    Would love to give this a try. Sounds amazing!!!

  7. Tyler Leigh 29 October 2015 / 12:04

    I feel the Coconut water Range would suit me best. I have all the same hair concerns as you do so I would obviously go for the one you loved over-all.
    This is a fantastically informative post.
    Thank you x

  8. Shalane 29 October 2015 / 12:08

    Oh definitely the Anti-breakage Keratin Oil! My hair is really broken and knots easily. :( Would love to win this!

  9. Sabrina 29 October 2015 / 12:09

    These look like a good buy and I would love to try them.

  10. Tarryn B 29 October 2015 / 12:10

    I have super curly, frizzy hair, so that kukui oil version sounds right up my ally! But I’m torn because I LOVE the smell of coconut 😛 I think I’ll have to try both somewhere down the line. Thanks for the review!

  11. Wardah 29 October 2015 / 12:13

    The Coconut water Range sounds right up my alley. Would love to try it :)

  12. Falon Harris 29 October 2015 / 12:13

    I’d definitely say the Weightless Hydration Coconut Water. I have a similar problem to yours… Frizzy and lots of fly aways. My roots are oily but the rest of my hair always looks so great so I think this would be the perfect think to combat that, and its lightweight formula will prevent my hair from being weighed down. Not to mention how great it smells!!

  13. Mishka 29 October 2015 / 12:13

    I feel the coconut water range would suit me best :) amazing range to try as it’s so hard finding the perfect shampoo

  14. Liezel Wakens 29 October 2015 / 12:14

    i have very bad hair due to a genetic syndrome… i dont know what im suppose use anymore, i would love to try the kukui oil

  15. Missy 29 October 2015 / 12:20

    Love coconut and that would suit me best :-)

  16. Kim Banks 29 October 2015 / 12:23

    Ah I can’t WAIT to give these a try. I’m so excited about this brand being so readily available now.

  17. Megan Hartwig 29 October 2015 / 12:25

    Kukui oil is something I keep seeing pop up in hair care lately, I am thinking it’s probably going to become the new argan oil. It looks lovely though! I’ve got super frizzy hair, I’m always struggling to find a balance. I’ll have to give these a try, and would love to try the Kukui Oil range. Fingers crossed 😉

  18. Monique 29 October 2015 / 12:32

    I used OGX when I was in the States and loved it! So Glad it is now in SA!

  19. Liza 29 October 2015 / 12:32

    The Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil is much needed in my life as another fake blonde for a lack of better words

  20. Tammy 29 October 2015 / 12:34

    Colour treated hair is always hard to care for, especially when you’re not naturally that specific colour. My hair is in some dire need of Keratin

  21. Jane Tennet 29 October 2015 / 12:35

    I love everything coconut so that would definitely be the one I would want to try the most!

  22. Adri Mouton 29 October 2015 / 12:37

    I love the products . Thank ytou ♡♡♡♡♥♥♥♥

  23. Bianca Balutto 29 October 2015 / 12:38

    The Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil is what I need for my dry damaged frizzy hair :) 

  24. Teri hill 29 October 2015 / 12:39

    I would love to try the Weightless hydration coconut oil! I have the exact same problem with flyaways and super oily roots. Would be amazing to find a shampoo that works to solve all these problems at once!

  25. michell klopper 29 October 2015 / 12:45

    I love this shampoo’s and conditioners. Its so drenched in good stuff for my hair. I would love to try kukui oil. I have used coconut and keratin oil before. But not really usure wich one would be the best. But overall I love the whole range. Awesome giveaway. My pony tail is crossed♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

  26. Lalannie 29 October 2015 / 12:50

    Thank you for this review. I picked up the coconut water range but wasn’t sure as I didn’t see any reviews on this brand. Will now defs give it a go. Won’t be entering as I am still obsessing over my HASK hair hamper I won 😉

  27. Kirsten 29 October 2015 / 12:57

    The whole OGX range is nothing but liquid gold. I would love to get my hands on some more of these products! :)

  28. Linda Potgieter 29 October 2015 / 13:02

    Definitely the Coconut Water Range …. it will upercharged my hair with nutrient rich electrolytes that’s combined with coconut oils to transform my hair into silky shiny perfection.

  29. Jaclyn 29 October 2015 / 13:33

    I would love to have the Kukui Shampoo and conditioner in my beauty artillery. Being close to the sea, I suffer from dry and frizzy hair!! And I am sure that the OGX Kukui range would do the trick :)

  30. Caroline Terblanche 29 October 2015 / 13:34

    Would love to try this brand, sounds amazing! The Keratin range sounds up my alley. Thank you for the giveaway! x

  31. MERCIALEEN 29 October 2015 / 13:37


  32. Des 29 October 2015 / 13:42

    I’d definitely use the keratin one!

  33. Joanne 29 October 2015 / 13:49

    I love the coconut one! it sounds beyond amazing! #Love!

  34. Shalane 29 October 2015 / 13:50

    Iv seen the ladies on youtube in the states talk about this – super excited!!

  35. antoinette prinsloo 29 October 2015 / 13:59

    thank you for this great looks and sounds like just what this ladies hair needs.

  36. antoinette prinsloo 29 October 2015 / 14:02

    thank you so much for this great giveaway.looks and sounds just like what this ladies hair needs 😀

  37. Kaye-Leigh Killian 29 October 2015 / 14:06

    Oh My Goodness!
    The OGX Kukui range may just save my hair from the impending Durban humidity = frizziness!

  38. Ronnae Elliott 29 October 2015 / 14:11

    Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil – my hair breaks off and is damaged

  39. Anina 29 October 2015 / 14:11

    So teleurgesteld gewees toe Takealot my order mid-transaksie kanselleer het – hierdie sjampoe het toe in die slag gebly. Dis beslis my volgende sjampoe. Ek glo my hare hou daarvan as ek nie elke keer dieselfde gebruik nie en dit lekker afwissel. :-)

  40. Kim Petersen 29 October 2015 / 14:24

    The love the Weightless Hydration Coconut Water products. My hair could use a coconut boost.

  41. Clelia 29 October 2015 / 14:46

    I am torn between the light weighted coconut water and the kukui oil.

  42. Sharleen 29 October 2015 / 14:48

    Would love to try this product. My hair needs a good treat ☺

  43. Taniel 29 October 2015 / 14:56

    The Kukui oil would best suit my current hair situation:-)

  44. Vikki Buckley 29 October 2015 / 16:17

    The Weightless Coconut Hydration Water is just what my “sad” hair needs.

  45. Hema Roula 29 October 2015 / 16:40

    The Kukui oil will help with the frizz I have been battling with recently. Unfortunately….its still a losing battle.

  46. ursula 29 October 2015 / 16:48

    Looks like this will really do wonders for my locks. =)

  47. abigaile bryant 29 October 2015 / 17:17

    Wow my hair needs tlc soo think this would be awesome:)

  48. Lynnith Andreou 29 October 2015 / 17:22

    Hydrate and defrizz kukui oil sounds amazing and just what my hair needs!

  49. Ntokozo Majola 29 October 2015 / 17:25

    I love that a lot of detail and research goes into your reviews! Also this sounds like a great range.

  50. Jess 29 October 2015 / 17:59

    The Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil range sounds like it was made for me! My hair is fine as it is but I’ve just started a course of Oratane for my skin and I know that it will make my hair even weaker so I know this would really help to nourish my hair. Awesome post! Thanks for the giveaway! x

  51. Katey 29 October 2015 / 18:36

    The coconut range sounds like it will work wonders on my hair! Desperate for a cheaper alternative to my salon brand!

  52. Annemieke 29 October 2015 / 19:08

    I’ve tried the Sea Mineral range and it’s divine…smells divine also! I would love to try out the Kukui Oil and Coconut Water range….actually all the them sound wonderful. Its a bit hard to choose between all of them. And once again Luzanne…very nice giveaway.

  53. ayesha 29 October 2015 / 19:40

    What a great giveaway. Would love to win.

  54. R Fourie 29 October 2015 / 20:03

    The Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil would be the one for MY hair :-)

  55. sanet 29 October 2015 / 20:58

    The coconut water range sounds perfect for my hair’s current condition.

  56. Tamaryn Kuun 29 October 2015 / 21:37

    I absolutely love OGX!! The Coconut Water one smells like heaven!!

  57. thea lennox 29 October 2015 / 22:04

    I would absolutely love to win this. Would love to try it.

  58. Natalie 30 October 2015 / 08:08

    Would love to try the coconut water shampoo – it sound light and delicious!

  59. Brittany Fell 30 October 2015 / 08:22

    My aunt and I follow and tead your blog religiously! I pop in every day to see if there’s something new! Andy screenshots folder is filled with products you review or suggest. My aunt recently let me try out the coconut water conditioner and I ♡ it. The scent is amazing.
    Would LOVE LOVE LOVE to try the anti breakage kerarin oil range. My highlighted locks could do with the support. Thanks for the hard work. :)

  60. Stephanie 30 October 2015 / 08:34

    That coconut water is calling my name!

  61. Simone 30 October 2015 / 08:37

    The coconut range sounds like it would be absolutely perfect for me :)

  62. Cathleen Masters 30 October 2015 / 09:19

    The Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil is undoubtedly made or my hair to restore my hairs condition and strengthen my hair from within and to resist the breakage i’m currently experiencing.
    As well as The Hydrate and De Frizz Kukui Oil to hydrate my hair and elimate frizz; which is my never ending problem.

  63. faeema 30 October 2015 / 09:33

    The Coconut water set sound delicious and perfect for my hair type. I really need something that won’t weigh my hair down because it can be pretty flat and lifeless, it’s straight and oily at the roots. Hoping this will be the answer!

  64. Nisa 30 October 2015 / 09:47

    The Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil sounds perfect for my problems. I have bum length, fine hair thats been bleached I don’t know how many different shades to create a highlighted ombre effect. Needless to say, it’s left my scalp dry and itchy with tons of split ends. Breakage and fallout is a daily thing now. I NEED THIS!!!

  65. Shaheeda Petersen 30 October 2015 / 09:50

    I’ve tried the OGX Macadamia line which really smelled fantastic so I would love to try more of their range especially the coconut water line which would be perfect for summer.

  66. Camilla (Jane Wonder) 30 October 2015 / 11:00

    I fell in love with OGX about 2 years ago. I bought the travel-size Renewing Argan Oil Of Morocco shampoo and conditioner and tried to make them last as long as possible :) I am so happy that OGX is now available here, I bought the Coconut Water range in June and then came back to see it was in Dischem!

    The range that excites me the most is the Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil range, I love that you had “zero issues with product buildup” because I am having SUCH bad scalp situations at the moment! I am trialing a clarifying shampoo at the moment.

    Great review, thanks Lu xxx

    – Jane Wonder –

  67. Lee 30 October 2015 / 11:05

    I like the sounds of all of them, but the Kukui Oil might just tame my frizz!

  68. Melissa Kubelun 30 October 2015 / 12:27

    I haven’t tried these products but have been wanting to ever since I first saw them in Dischem!
    They sound so natural and good for your hair! Would love to try them out!

  69. kaylee 30 October 2015 / 13:13

    OH MY WORD! these products look awesome! I saw them the other day and I didn’t know much about them so I thought I would stick to the products I know , but now after reading your blog I am 100% sure that I definitely want to try them out!! this give away is AMAZING :) <3

  70. portia 30 October 2015 / 13:21

    I am already using the coconut water shampoo and conditioner for more than a month now and I got the rest of my family to buy it as well, it is amazing, it is an extremely good product, then again coconut is good for a host of things

  71. Monique Doyle 30 October 2015 / 13:21

    This is exactly what my hair needs right now!

  72. Carla Van Rooyen 30 October 2015 / 14:00

    Good hair care! I need this so much! I’ve never tried this type of product & would love to see how it works.

  73. Carina 30 October 2015 / 14:31

    I have the same problem! My hair goes oily at the roots and is VERY dry and damaged at the ends. I’ve been ombreing my hair now for almost 3 years in an attempt to repair some of the damage but to no avail sadly! The roots are healthier than the ends and it’s all just a hot mess.

    I think the Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil would work best for my hair at this stage.

  74. Monique L 30 October 2015 / 15:55

    The Kukui Oil range is perfect for my curly hair 😀 Thanks for this review and the awesome giveaway! xx

  75. Annika Barnard 30 October 2015 / 16:03

    That Hydrate + De-drizz kukui oil will be perfect for my hair! Would absolutely love to have the opportunity to try this product!

  76. barbara 30 October 2015 / 16:23

    Think the coconut water will be perfect for my hair

  77. Mia 30 October 2015 / 16:58

    My obsession with everything coconut, obviously makes me long after the coconut water ♡♡

  78. Anthea 30 October 2015 / 20:51

    Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil sounds like it was made for my hair! I’ve been considering doing another Brazillian blow out but this might just be better as I want to keep my volume.

  79. Mildred 31 October 2015 / 05:27

    My hair could do with some tlc, this sounds perfect for my naturally curly hair!

  80. Tanika 31 October 2015 / 08:33

    Awesome giveaway!

  81. Tanika 31 October 2015 / 08:38

    Would love to try the coconut water range.

  82. Kelley Petersen 31 October 2015 / 08:53

    I am so keen to try weightless hydration :)

  83. Angelique Greyling 31 October 2015 / 20:09

    I love OGX! Awesome affordable brand that really works!

  84. Melissa 31 October 2015 / 20:25

    Thanks for this awesome review. Had my eye on these ranges for a while now. Can’t wait to try them.

  85. Jeanette 31 October 2015 / 20:33

    Definitely want to try the Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil – I don’t think I’ve ever really felt that I have healthy hair! Maybe this range will help me love my hair more!!!

  86. michelle walker 31 October 2015 / 21:41

    Yes please! I saw this product recently and am so glad to find put that it is not tested on animals! Would seriously love to win :)

  87. rehana seedat 31 October 2015 / 23:47

    The Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil range sounds like it was made for me. My hair is fine and thinning

  88. anne botes 1 November 2015 / 09:19

    wow i would love the keratin oil

  89. Megan Kelly 1 November 2015 / 11:47

    I think the Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil is better suited as my hair is taking strain from years of dying my hair and styling it with heat tools!

  90. Valentina 2 November 2015 / 06:23

    I would love to try the kikui oil range as my hair is curly and super frizzy at times.

  91. Tracy 2 November 2015 / 10:12

    The Kukui Oil sounds like it was made for my hair! Really battling with frizz.

  92. Jeannette 2 November 2015 / 11:07

    My favourite is the Weightless Hydration Coconut Water. For my fine limp hair, to moisturize without weighing it down is the best.

  93. Cornell Botha 2 November 2015 / 11:09

    The Kukui Oil range is exactly what my mermaid locks need!!

  94. Elizabeth Watson 2 November 2015 / 11:36

    I think we have the same hair type, except I am still highlighting my hair every couple of months (who can afford every 4-6 weeks?), so I would love to try out OGX to see if their products can fix my hair.

  95. Lizelle 2 November 2015 / 14:30

    I would love to try all of these amazing products but if I have to choose just one I would say the coconut water for sure, because I love anything with coconut in it :-)

  96. Nadine 2 November 2015 / 19:34

    definitely the Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil for me! My hair is curly and starts frizzing at any sign of humidity. And it looks like the product will take care of the dryness as well!

  97. LiezelTee 3 November 2015 / 09:58

    weightless sounds wonderful!!!!

  98. bethn 3 November 2015 / 11:32

    these sound awesome for the hair especially it being weightless.

  99. jade 3 November 2015 / 12:02

    Oh I defo need the Weightless Hydration Coconut Water

  100. Lolita 3 November 2015 / 14:18

    I would love to try the coconut water duo as I also suffer from oily roots and dry ends!

  101. Mels 3 November 2015 / 14:30

    I am a new reader of your blog. Love it. And I bought the OGX shampoo yesterday, so going to try it. Couldn’t find the Coconut Water in the store, but will keep on looking. Unfortunately where I live we do not find a lot of the products on your blog. But we can hope.

  102. Pravina Walabh 3 November 2015 / 20:11

    Weightless Hydration Coconut Water 

  103. Paula Bianca Jacobs 3 November 2015 / 22:05

    OMG! Defs need something for the anti-breakage, especially for my curly hair. Also, pretty keen on the Coconut Water Range!

  104. KAY 4 November 2015 / 13:18

    Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil

  105. Monique van Rooyen 4 November 2015 / 13:53

    Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil range! My hair went trough a lot these last two years!

  106. Aléta Bruwer 4 November 2015 / 17:28

    I have bleached and highlighted my hair for the past 8 years, and stopped this year. My hair was damaged even with only bleaching 2 times a year. I have gone through countless different products and after I started using the Weightless Hydration Coconut Water Shampoo my hair started to “live” again. I am currently halfway with my 1st bottle and have seen major changes. I think I should try the Anti-breakage keratin oil shampoo to prevent my hair to break. I am so glad I found this product!!!

  107. Anne 5 November 2015 / 02:49

    Weightless hydration coconut water for sure!! That is exactly the state of my hair

  108. Karien Oosthuizen 5 November 2015 / 09:54

    I currently use the Kukui and the Coconut water shampoo and Conditioner. I could NEVER get any shampoo that could hydrate my hair, take the frizz away. I must say that I LOVE the OGX Kukui, it leaves my hair soft, without frizz and much more managable. Don’t think I will ever use any other shampoo. Ohhh and I would love to win some

  109. michelle 5 November 2015 / 09:57

    Anti Breaking is definetly for me, my hair is very soft and thin, my hair needs to become more stronger.

  110. Anita Steenkamp 5 November 2015 / 09:57

    Weightless Hydration Coconut Water products, I have oily hair that gets frizzy so it sounds so perfect for me!

  111. Nicole 5 November 2015 / 09:57

    I really need to try this range. I normally use Pureology but I wouldn’t mind finding a more reasonable alternative.

  112. dina dos santos (@tenaciousD2013) 5 November 2015 / 09:57

    perfect for my dry hair from too much dyeing

  113. Taryn 5 November 2015 / 10:00

    I’ve been using OGX for a while, and I love it

  114. Renate 5 November 2015 / 10:04

    I recently colored my hair and in need of a good product like this to fix my damaged hair!

  115. Nicola Meyer 5 November 2015 / 10:10

    Anti-breakage keratin oil

  116. Nicole 5 November 2015 / 10:14

    I only found out that OGX was available in SA today! I tried it while on holiday in the US and was SO SAD when I finished my bottle. I’m a sucker for a coconut scent (like all sane people), so definitely think I need to get my hands on one of those!

  117. Alex 5 November 2015 / 10:14

    Coconut Water would do wonders for my hair <3

  118. Jolene van Wyk 5 November 2015 / 10:16

    Am growing my hair out – so this will definitely come in handy!! :)

  119. Andrea 5 November 2015 / 10:17

    The weightless hydration coconut water!

  120. Zasha De Lange 5 November 2015 / 10:18

    I would love to try this, it looks amazing!

  121. i walters 5 November 2015 / 10:23

    I would love to try these out

  122. Jennifer 5 November 2015 / 10:27

    Definitely the Kukui oil range to try tackle the unintentional afro that is my hair

  123. Rosa Da Silva 5 November 2015 / 10:48

    I would love to try these out :) awesome competition

  124. Elouise 5 November 2015 / 10:52

    It sounds like I need the Keratin Oil range in my live . I am having endless problems with my hair breaking and splitting at the moment

  125. Paige Harris 5 November 2015 / 11:00

    I definitely need the Keratin OIl range in my life for breakage and also maybe the Weightless Hydration Water range for my dry ends.

  126. Rozanne 5 November 2015 / 11:08

    I am pretty sold on the Weightless Hydration Water range being my hair rescuer! Have recently had my dark brown hair bleached in the process of going ombre so it really needs some TLC :)

  127. rumbidzai zhou 5 November 2015 / 11:10

    I would love to win the coconut water shampoo and conditioner…it wld be great for my natural hair

  128. Rivania Pillay 5 November 2015 / 11:18

    My hair definitely needs the Anti-Breakage Keratin Oil range. I have been trying to grow my hair for years after my hairdresser decided to cut off half my length without my consent. I constantly struggle with low iron levels so my hair isn’t as strong as it used to be. Dry, damaged hair is my everyday struggle especially since I use a straightener to tame my hair. However, the Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil Range sounds amazing since my natural hair is frizzy and curly.
    Rivania | The Glam Unicorn

  129. Debs 5 November 2015 / 11:23

    Crazy Durban-Hair is crying out for some love xx

  130. Sinead Morgan 5 November 2015 / 11:45

    I just love everything coconut! I use coconut oil as a hair mask and the Batiste tropical dry shampoo ^_^

  131. Taahirah 5 November 2015 / 11:49

    The Weightless Hydration Coconut Water range is definitely for me!!

  132. Kelly Viljoen 5 November 2015 / 12:07


  133. Candice 5 November 2015 / 12:10

    Love this range!

  134. Natasha le Roux 5 November 2015 / 12:15

    The Coconut Water Shampoo & Conditioner sound INCREDIBLE! Would love to try it! ♥

  135. Tidi Esther Child 5 November 2015 / 12:22

    So much ranting and raving about this and I am so curious.
    I have breaking brittle hair and it is also thin. I have tried many products and am still in search, maybe this might be my answer

  136. Kelsey Niehaus 5 November 2015 / 12:23

    I would love this!

  137. Abigail Smith 5 November 2015 / 12:28

    Definitely the Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil range! my hair is so curly and need the de-frizzing and hydrating! I would love to win this prize, it looks amazing!

  138. Kayleigh Doveton 5 November 2015 / 13:34

    So need this. My hair is terribly damaged!!

  139. Zenia 5 November 2015 / 13:41

    I check your blog regularly and this is the first time it coincided with something I need desperately. My hair is quite thick, curly and prone to frizz so I need hydration year round, especially so in the summer. I think this range might give me what I need

  140. Shantel Govender 5 November 2015 / 14:14

    Weightless Hydration Coconut Water just like you , I have dry hair , oily roots and annoying baby fly aways .

  141. Juanita Loubser 5 November 2015 / 14:14

    Definitely the Hydrate + de-frizz Kukui Oil just what my hair needs :-)

  142. Jyothi Laldas 5 November 2015 / 14:59

    I have a OGX dry oil of the Moroccan variety I think, I love it. OGX rocks!

  143. Sheniz 5 November 2015 / 15:17

    Heyy :)
    I feel like all of these will suit my hair type. I have very curly hair that’s prone to frizz and it just sucks up moisture. And the moisture sucking has been amplified even more because I’ve been using so much heat on my hair these past few months that I decided to give my hair a break for the last three weeks. This showed me that my hair is in a bit of a fragile state and the split ends have wrecked havoc thus far.
    The keratin and Kukui Oil ranges have definitely peaked my interest and is on my list for summer hair care essentials :)

  144. Duduzile Lunga 5 November 2015 / 15:24

    Keratin Oil anti breakage shampoo and conditioner is def for me

  145. Juentta 5 November 2015 / 17:24

    The Weightless Hydration Coconut Water sounds like the one for me! I am very curious to try out this brand. Hard to find good quality drugstore brands that hold up against salon products. It’s very difficult for me to switch, but if the product performs the same at the fraction of the price, it sounds like the solution to my problems.

  146. Angelique 5 November 2015 / 18:45

    i think all of them would work on my extra-frizzy hair. but since I’m desperately trying to grow out my hair, i think the Keratin anti-breakage one will work wonders. i tried the Morrocan Oil range before and it was marvelous

  147. Candice Terblanche 5 November 2015 / 18:56

    Weightless Hydration Coconut Water is for me I have frizzy dry hair as well

  148. Leanie 5 November 2015 / 19:45

    Thank you so much for the great informative review. I think the Anti-breakage Keratin Oil would suit right in my ally, since my hair tens to knot easily and they are in serious TLC after i had a long time that certain section of my hair that have fallen out due to stress related issues. They break quit easily.

  149. Stephanie 5 November 2015 / 20:05

    The weightless hydration coconut water range is perfect for me as my hair is thin and flat but needs hydration. Plus coconut scent is Devine!

  150. Chantal 5 November 2015 / 20:14

    Wow these products sound amazing , cannot wait to give them a try.

  151. Yolande Murphy 5 November 2015 / 21:41

    My hair needs some serious rejuvenation – will have to try this out! LEt’s hope I win 😀

  152. Cathy Badenhorst 5 November 2015 / 23:42

    Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil sounds amazing

  153. Daniela Cardoso 5 November 2015 / 23:43

    Hydrate + De-Frizz Kukui Oil – definitely needs this especially for summer as I am always at the beach

  154. Michelle 9 November 2015 / 11:35

    Hi Luzanne! I love ur blog and give always! I just bought the OGX coconut water shampoo and conditioner and the second ingredient on the shampoo is Ammonium Lauryl Sulphate. So I am wondering why you have said that these products are sulphate free when they are not? Would love your feedback and perhaps you could clear that up for everyone! Xxx m

    • Luzanne 9 November 2015 / 13:18

      Hi Michelle – Most OGX products are free of SLS (Sodium Lauryl Sulphate), one of the most irritating cleansing agents. Drugstore brands often use it as an ingredients because it is more inexpensive than some of the other sulphates. SLS is composed of several alcohols, which may cause skin irritations and will dry out the hair and skin a lot more than other sulphates. Ammonium Lauryl Sulphate is considered to be more gentle and effective than SLS, and is derived from coconut, making it a lot more natural as well. :) I’ll be sure to update the blog post with this snippet of information to clarify. Thank you for asking. :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *