Review & Lip Swatches – #CliniqueCrayola Collection

Clinique Crayola Review Swatches

When the new Clinique x Crayola Chubby Sticks arrived on my doorstep just over a week ago, my first thought was: “Hhmmm…. this is very cute, but a little bit unexpected.”  At first I couldn’t really wrap my head around the fact that a luxury brand like Clinique would collaborate with Crayola.  I pondered it for a while, and it eventually made perfect sense to me: In a way, the Clinique Chubby Sticks are the grown-up version of colourful crayons.

The two brands worked together to colour-match existing Chubby Stick shades to fan-favourite Crayola colours i.e. Mauvelous, Wild Strawberry, and Pink Sherbert.  These limited edition Chubby Sticks received a slight design upgrade (they now resemble the iconic Crayola crayons) but still pack some serious hydrating punch!

If you’ve never owned a Clinique Chubby Stick, then you’re in for a treat – currently, there are a number of different ‘chubby’ products available: Chubby Stick Shadow Tint For Eyes (the ‘Bountiful Beige’ shade is my fave), Chubby in the Nude Foundation Stick (a lightweight sheer coverage foundation), Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm (a sheer lip balm), and Chubby Stick Intense Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm (which is a lot more pigmented than the original version).

Review Clinique Crayola Chubby Sticks For Lips

Today we’ll be chatting about the Chubby Sticks for lips – packed with mango and shea butter, they are mega moisturising and have a non-sticky texture.  Very easy to apply, and extremely comfortable on the lips – if you are looking for an tinted balm that provides hydration and just a hint of colour (perfect for on-the-go girls), then these are a great pick!

I’m so over matte liquid lipsticks at the moment, and these are exactly what my lips have been longing for!  Sure, they aren’t long-lasting or smudge-proof but these are not really the type of lip product that you’d use for that purpose anyway – they’re tinted lip balms, not lipsticks.  And that’s what I like about them, they’re easy to apply and easy to reapply (no mirror needed).

The #CliniqueCrayola collection features 4 Chubby Sticks for lips (3 original versions, and 1 intense version), let me tell you a little bit more about each shade:

Clinique Crayola Pink Sherbert

Pink Sherbert ♥ A cheerful flamingo pink shade with a sheer finish.  This one is great for natural days when you just want to add a hint of colour to the lips, especially if you have a light to medium skin tone.  On darker skin tones, I think this might be a bit too light (and almost milky) on the lips.  It’s super comfortable to wear all day long thanks to the nourishing formula.  ‘Pink Sherbert’ is one of those shades that you can apply without a mirror, and without the fear of it looking cakey or messy.

Clinique Crayola Wild Strawberry

Wild Strawberry ♥ A bright & juicy red-toned pink shade with a sheer finish.  It actually looks a lot more pigmented in the tube, on the lips it gives a very natural rosy red tint (but you can definitely build it up to be more vibrant with a couple of extra swipes).  The formula of this one wears quite long (about 3 hours) before fading, and leaves behind a beautiful blush pink stain.

Clinique Crayola Mauvelous

Mauvelous ♥ A sophisticated mauve pink shade with a semi-sheer finish.  I say ‘semi-sheer’ because although it’s not as opaque as the ‘Chubby Stick Intense’ balms, it is definitely more pigmented than the 2 aforementioned shades.  This one is definitely also buildable, and so with 2 or 3 layers you’ll get really good colour pay-off.   ‘Mauvelous’ also leaves a more noticeable tint behind on the lips after the balmy texture has worn off.  I really like this one!

Clinique Crayola Red Violet

Red Violet ♥ A sangria-berry shade with a pigmented finish.  This one is really nice for bolder makeup looks or a night out because it is more pigmented and therefore gives you almost like an opaque glossy lipstick look.  ‘Red Violet’ starts out like a pigmented balm but you can definitely achieve bolder & stronger coverage with a few extra swipes.

Top Tip: The trick behind these Chubby Sticks is to make sure the tip retains its pencil-like shape, you don’t want to wear the tip down to a little stump because without the pointed tip you can kiss any precision in terms of application goodbye.  Here’s my tip: Shape / outline your lips with the tip and then fill them in with the slanted flat side – that way the tip will always remain tapered at the end.

What I love about the Clinique x Crayola collection, is that it features incredibly wearable tones – whether you’re into bold berry pouts or something a little more natural, there’s something for everyone!  They also vary from the very sheer to more noticeable & opaque, but all glide across lips effortlessly and leave the lips feeling soft and supple.

The limited edition #CliniqueCrayola Chubby Sticks retail for R290,00 each at Foschini stores nationwide; or in the Clinique South Africa online store and the Foschini For Beauty online store.

Promotion: Receive a FREE limited edition crayon bag with your purchase of any 2 Clinique Crayola Chubby Sticks (until stocks last).

Last Question

Share:

42 Comments

  1. 23 February 2017 / 12:10

    Wow Luzanne you hair looks so amazing , the shades are pretty. i love all your pictures wow im so green with envy. ( BLogger Goals ) ( Picture Goals ) Hope you have an fantastic week remaining

    • 6 March 2017 / 11:44

      Thank you so much for your sweet words, Melissa! ♥

  2. 23 February 2017 / 12:17

    They really look so lovely on you. I swatched 2 of them in store (only 1 layer) and I felt they were just really expensive lip balms. I think I expected more colour payoff, but they were the 2 lighter shades and I see now you’re saying they are buildable so I needed to layer them.

    Personally wouldn’t pay R299 for these, but they look great on you, I love red violet on you. xxxx

    • 6 March 2017 / 11:45

      They are definitely luxury lip balms, something to treat yourself with – mainly because they contain really great moisturising and nourishing ingredients. 🙂 If I had to apply just 1 layer of each one, I think only ‘Red Violet’ would show up with just a single layer. xo

  3. Talya
    23 February 2017 / 12:29

    I’m obsessed with clinique chubby stick balms, they’re the most hydrating lipbalms I’ve ever used..and that’s saying alot becoz I’m a lipbalm addict hehe! Thanks for this review, Luzanne, I’ll definitely be picking up Wild Strawberry. 😀

    • 6 March 2017 / 11:47

      They are definitely some of the most hydrating balms currently in my collection, plus I like the pigmentation (not too intense). 🙂 I hope you are enjoying your new ‘Wild Strawberry’ Chubby Stick, Talya. 😉

  4. Alice L
    23 February 2017 / 12:31

    I went out and bought Mauvelous after you featured these in your products popping up blog post last week – luv it! After seeing Red Voilet on your lips, I think I need that one too

    XO

    • Alice L
      23 February 2017 / 12:32

      PS. Your makeup is always so beautiful!!!

      • 6 March 2017 / 11:47

        Oh, and thank you for the kind compliment. 🙂

    • 6 March 2017 / 11:47

      YAAAAY! So happy to hear that, Alice! 😀

  5. Zee Mohlapi
    23 February 2017 / 12:34

    WOW! You look gorgeous, L!

    I think Pink Sherbert will be too light for me, but I want to get the Red Violet one for Autumn. 🙂

    Thanks for the review

    • 6 March 2017 / 11:59

      You’re most welcome!

      Thank you so much, Zee! 🙂

  6. Odette
    23 February 2017 / 12:36

    Jy lyk verskriklik mooi in hierdie fotos, Luzanne! Ek wil beslis die pienk een kry, my vel is nogals baie lig so dit sal mooi lyk dink ek. 😉

    Oh ja, watse highlighter dra jy in die fotos? Dis so mooi ♥ ♥ ♥

  7. farzana
    23 February 2017 / 12:39

    definitely getting mauvelous and red violet when payday comes, just so I can get the makeup bag as well..

    i already have mega melon in the original chubby stick formula and its the only lip balm I use, so moisturizing especially during the cold months.

    love,

    F

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:01

      I hope you enjoy those 2 Chubby Sticks, Farzana! Thank you for checking in on the blog, I really appreciate it. 😀

  8. Robyn S
    23 February 2017 / 12:45

    You are so bad for my bank balance LOL!!!

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:01

      Hahahah!! Now THAT’S what I like to hear!! 😉

  9. Kelebogile
    23 February 2017 / 12:46

    Thousand thank you’s for always making such an effort with your blog posts, they are always such a pleasure to read and look at. xxxxx

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:02

      You are so welcome, Kelebogile – it really is the best feeling in the world when my readers notice how much work I put into each blog post. 🙂 xo

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:03

      I think it will look ‘mauvelous’ on you, Cam! 😉

  10. Holly Morello
    23 February 2017 / 13:13

    Gosh, I can’t just choose one favorite………..I really like the look of Mauvelous (for work) and Wild Strawbs (for weekends)

    I love that highlighter on you too, which one is it if I may ask?

  11. 23 February 2017 / 15:43

    I picked up Mauvelous two weekends ago, and love it! It’s my first chubby stick, too!

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:04

      Ooooh, I hope you’re loving it as much as I’m loving mine! 😉

  12. Shaina D
    23 February 2017 / 16:14

    Oh wow, your make-up is flawless and all 4 colours suit you so well. 🙂

    My birthday is coming up, I might ask my hubby to get me 2 or 3 of these. 🙂

    Thank you for the great review, Luzanne. 🙂

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:05

      Thank you so much, Shaina. 😀

      I definitely wouldn’t mind getting a couple of Clinique Chubby Sticks as a birthday gift! I hope you have a lovely birthday! 🙂

  13. 23 February 2017 / 16:52

    Aside from the packaging is there any difference to the original chubby stick?

    I love how Wild Strawberry looks on you!

  14. Em Cameron
    23 February 2017 / 17:56

    Thanks for the review, Luzanne! 😀

    Wild Strawberry and Pink Sherbet are my two favourites out of the four of them. X

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:06

      You’re most welcome, Em! xo

  15. R fourie
    23 February 2017 / 18:59

    Pink Sherbet is my favourite shade ….. so is the affordable Essence Balmy Kiss shade you featured in your latest video. I will go for Essence 🙂

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:08

      I also really like Pink Sherbert (even the name). 😉

      You’re right, the essence Balmy Kiss balms are definitely top of my list when it comes to affordable tinted lip balms, but the Clinique ones are definitely more nourishing and hydrating. 🙂

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:08

      I agree, it’s the perfect ‘my-lips-but-better’ shade! 😉

  16. Nadine
    25 February 2017 / 08:12

    I love the red violet

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:09

      Red Violet is definitely a stunner – I’ll be using it a lot more during the colder months ahead. 😉

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:09

      Thanks so much for popping by the blog, Rivania! ♥

  17. 5 March 2017 / 14:10

    Omw, these look beautiful and hydrating too.
    Of course all the colours suit you so well but Red Violet is #bae

    • 6 March 2017 / 12:10

      Thank you, Jan – Red Violet is going to be my go-to during Autumn and Winter…that’s for sure! 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *