Review – Lancôme Grandiôse Swan-Neck Mascara

Lancome Grandiose Mascara

I first saw the Lancôme Grandiôse Swan-Neck Mascara in one of Tati’s videos and I must say, I was VERY intrigued by the shape of the wand.  I actually didn’t think this mascara would ever reach South African shores, but lo & behold – it arrived in September 2014.  Lancôme very kindly sent me a Grandiôse mascara for review & I have been using it for the past month and a half (I’m wearing it in this blog post), so I think it’s safe to say I can give you a pretty good review.

I initially found this mascara to be a bit tricky to work with, but only because I couldn’t quite get the hang of the special wand.

The mascara comes with a little instruction pamphlet (that’s when you know you’re dealing with a luxury makeup product!) and it shows you how to use the wand to get the best results.  In true Luzanne fashion, though, I did NOT read through the directions when I initially used this mascara.  What a disaster…and I couldn’t understand why the wand wasn’t working for me.  I suggest reading through the pamphlet (if you decide to purchase this mascara) – there’s a reason why Lancôme took the time to create an ‘instruction manual’.

Lancome Grandiose Swan-Neck Mascara

Bending the mascara brush at the neck where it meets the wand has been a makeup-pro trick for the longest time.  Kudos to Lancôme for creating a mascara with a permanently angled wand!  The 25-degree angled brush makes getting to all the lashes quicker and easier.  I know, I know…you’re wondering what in the world will be next?  A mascara that covers you lashes in unicorn glitter?  And I’m inclined to agree BUT this mascara really has made a difference in how quickly my lashes go from drab to fab!

Another bonus of the curved brush is it gives the formula a good stir every time you unscrew the top – genius!!

The brush is a tad smaller than other mascara wands, which gives it precise access to every lash.  The design of the brush also ensures lashes are fanned out, to give you that wispy, doll-eyed look.  I even get those fine, evasive little lashes that flog around the inner corner of the eye.  The curved wand also makes crossing over the nose to do the eye on the opposite side of the hand you’re using, a smudge-free affair.  I’m not particularly messy when it comes to applying mascara but there have been the odd occasion where I’ve accidently transferred mascara onto the bridge of my nose.  It’s annoying, to say the least…

The formula contains conditioners and ultra black pigments, as well as special polymers (one of which is Latex) to give lashes a beautiful curl without the need for a lash curler.  Grandiôse lengthens, separates and adds volume and I’m very happy to report this is a clump-free formula that is easy to remove too.

This is by far the most expensive mascara I have ever used – I’ve always been a Maybelline girl.  BUT, after mastering the wand, I’m a total convert.  I was actually hoping not to like it as much as I do, because now I’ll have to go out and purchase a brand new mascara once I run out of this one.

Lancôme Grandiôse Swan-Neck Mascara is available at your nearest Lancôme counter and retails for R 399,00.



  1. Lindsey 13 November 2014 / 09:50

    That really is an interesting wand shape! It is sooooo pricey though. I’ll stick to Bourjois and Rimmel haha. Although if I ever see a Lancome competition…. 😀

    Lindsey | Ping and Ting

    • Luzanne 17 November 2014 / 16:35

      Very pricey! :) I probably should have mentioned in the blog post that I wouldn’t have purchased this mascara before testing it out first. Mascaras can be so tricky – they can start out being really difficult to work with in the beginning and then get better with time or they can start out being really amazing, but then as they start to dry out they become a pain. And spending R 400 on something you have no idea how it’s going to turn out, it’s a lot of money to waste. Fortunately, though, there are bloggers who test these products out for you and then do reviews. :)

      • Luzanne 17 November 2014 / 16:35

        So wish I could do a Lancôme giveaway at some stage!! 😀

  2. Roseybelle 13 November 2014 / 10:26

    Haha the last sentence made me laugh so hard! Same thing happened to me with Lancome’s foundation, I was always hoping it would turn out to be bad or average and that I could go back to Bourjois easily. Was I wrong. 😀
    Also this seems like a great mascara, wish I could afford it right now :)!

    • Luzanne 17 November 2014 / 16:30

      Hahaha!!! I always get a bit nervous whenever I start testing out a new *expensive* beauty product because I know I’ll have to keep buying it! :)

  3. Ashleigh Moore 13 November 2014 / 11:18

    Love this mascara, I picked it up a couple of weeks ago and totes agree – you do need to take a look at the pamphlet first before attempting to use the wand. But in the end, it gives me perfect lashes. X

    • Luzanne 17 November 2014 / 16:25

      Thank you so much for popping by the blog, Ashleigh. :)

  4. Estee 13 November 2014 / 11:21

    Lancome gets me every single time!! Their products are so luxe and I’m always drawn in by the packaging. This mascara looks like no exception. Off to the shops I go!

    • Luzanne 17 November 2014 / 16:19

      Absolutely! Their packaging is always so classy – love it!

  5. Candice 13 November 2014 / 13:53

    Stunning mascara I love the brush

    Candice | Beauty Candy Loves

  6. Marike 13 November 2014 / 16:27

    That mascara looks so unique but the price is a bit too steep for me.

    Love your photos, Luzanne! <3

    • Luzanne 17 November 2014 / 16:17

      I think the price tag will scare a lot of people – when I first saw what this mascara was going to retail for, I basically just gulped. :)

  7. Corlize H 13 November 2014 / 22:14

    I’m going to throw you a curve ball & ask whether you prefer your Maybelline mascara or this one. :)

    Thing is, R400 is a lot to spend on a mascara and if your Maybelline one is still your favorite…well then tell me which one it is so that I can go purchase it! Lol! 😀

    So happy to have discovered your blog – you are the only SA blogger I follow.

    • Luzanne 17 November 2014 / 16:15

      Haha! Tough question, Corlize!! 😀

      I totally agree with you, R 400 is a heck of a lot of money to spend on a mascara. If I look at my current budget, then I would probably buy Maybelline most of the time and purchase the Lancôme one every now and again (or add it to a birthday wish list) BUT if I lived in a perfect world, I would purchase this mascara every time. The thing is, though, one needs to replace a mascara every 2 to 3 months and with a price tag of R 400, it could get really expensive, really fast!

      Aaah wow! Thank you so much for saying that! :)

  8. Juanita 13 November 2014 / 22:17

    You’ve just twisted my arm – I have to absolutely go to a YSL counter to take a look at this mascara wand. And I might even buy it! :)

    • Luzanne 17 November 2014 / 16:08

      Yay!! If you decide to pick it up, I hope you love it as much as I do! :)

  9. Busi Ngwe 13 November 2014 / 22:18

    What nail polish colour is that, Luzanne? It’s pretty! :)

  10. Dee 14 November 2014 / 11:26

    Your photos are always on point, Luzanne! Great review! xOx

    • Luzanne 17 November 2014 / 16:06

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Dee. :) x

  11. Lulu 14 November 2014 / 13:25

    Quite intriguing and rather pricey. I have also been a Maybelline fan for a long time as it suits my pocket and does a great job!

    • Luzanne 17 November 2014 / 16:05

      So true, Lulu – Maybelline has the best mascaras!! :)

  12. Abby 15 November 2014 / 11:00

    Oooh I am obsessed with this mascara too. It makes such a difference and I love that it doesn’t clump. Also agree it kinda sucks when one falls for a very pricey product. I am currently hooked on a R1400 cream and I really had hoped it wouldn’t be as magical as it actually is.

    xoxo One Stiletto At a Time

    • Luzanne 17 November 2014 / 16:04

      Eeeeek! R 1400! I’m going to start testing the Filorga Skin-Absolute Ultimate Anti-Ageing Night Cream (the black one) soon and I am actually really hoping I don’t like it that much because it costs R 1700 (I could never spend that much on a night cream).

      Thank you for reading, Abby! x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *