Review – L.A. Girl Beauty Brick Nudes vs. Urban Decay Naked 3

LA Girl Beauty Brick Nudes Dupe Urban Decay Naked 3

I receive a lot of emails on a weekly basis from readers asking me where they can purchase the Urban Decay Naked 3 Eyeshadow Palette in South Africa.  Unfortunately Urban Decay products are not that readily available to us and it’s such a pity because UD have an amazing product lineup:  Naked 1 = Favourite!  Naked 2 = Thumbs up!  Naked 3 = Hero!  Primer Potion = Best!  Revolution Lipstick = Winner!

Certain Urban Decay products are available from  1 or 2 online suppliers in South Africa, BUT they come with a hefty price tag.  Like ‘almost-double-the-price’ hefty…

I decided to write this blog post as soon as I possibly could after buying the new L.A. Girl Beauty Brick Nudes Eyeshadow Palette at Dis-Chem.  I’m usually not one to go on and on about dupes but when I find something that is very similar to the original product (and comes at a fraction of the price), I feel it’s my beauty blogger duty to let you in on my discovery.

Let me start off by saying, I don’t consider this palette to be a 100% spot-on dupe for the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette because not all the shades are exact duplicates.  You will see what I mean a bit lower down in the blog post when you take a look at the comparison swatches.  I’ll be focussing mainly on the L.A. Girl Beauty Brick Nudes eyeshadow palette in this blog post, because I’ve already done a review blog post on the Naked 3 palette here.


I must admit, L.A. Girl products have really impressed me so far!  It’s a brand that is living proof that affordable cosmetics are not necessarily low in quality, in fact, I would go as far as saying some of their products are better than some of the high-end brands I use.  Nothing makes me happier than discovering quality products at the drugstore, plus you can’t beat the prices of L.A. Girl.  R 45,00 for a hydrating, maximum coverage concealer?  R 52,50 for a pigmented eyeshadow palette?  You have got to be kidding me!

I was walking around Dis-Chem the other day, scanning the shelves for new & exciting products…as I normally do.  My eyes fell on a small stand at the very bottom of a shelf (the L.A. Girl shelf) and immediately did a double-take!  An eyeshadow palette called ‘Nudes’!?  An eyeshadow palette that contains rose gold shades & strikes quite the resemblance to the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette!?  I grabbed the very last palette and felt extremely chuffed with myself.  These palettes are still quite new – so new, in fact, that this particular ‘Nudes’ palette wasn’t registered on the Dis-Chem system when I bought it.

LA Girl Beauty Brick Nudes Eyeshadow Palette Review

The L.A. Girl Beauty Brick Nudes eyeshadow palette contains 12 gorgeous rosy-toned neutrals (3 mattes & 9 shimmers) and includes a double-ended makeup brush (a synthetic bristle flat brush on one end and a sponge-tip applicator on the other).  The palette also features a mirror on the inside flap and has a magnetic closure.  The packaging itself feels a little bit flimsy (compared to other eyeshadow palettes I own) but that doesn’t take away from how impressive the shadows are.

The shadows are super soft & buttery, almost to the point of kicking up some powder in the pan when you dip your brush into the eyeshadow.  I haven’t experienced fall-out when I apply the eyeshadows to my lid & crease but I have found some shades are more pigmented and blend easier than others.  The 2 pink-toned matte shades are definitely the stars of the palette – so easy to blend!  The darker shades in the palette are a bit more difficult to work with since they are not as pigmented and apply a bit patchy too.

The shades are in a slightly different order compared to the Naked 3 palette and as mentioned above, they don’t all match, but there were many similarities.  I kind of wish the L.A. Girl Beauty Brick palette had shade names printed on the actual palette but that’s just down to personal preference.

The photos you see below are all quite heavily swatched, just because I wanted to show you exactly what the shades look like.  I always use an eyeshadow primer, it doesn’t matter whether I’m using an Urban Decay palette or a Wet n Wild palette.  Eyeshadow bases / primers ensure long-lasting wear and increase the pigmentation of your shadows too.  I have, however, tested these WITHOUT a primer and found they held up well for about  5 hours before starting to fade.  If you have oily eyelids (like me), then you’ll also notice a bit of creasing but that happens to me with all eyeshadows anyway.

LA Girl Beauty Brick Nudes Urban Decay Naked 3 Comparison

Overall I think this palette is a great addition to any makeup collection, the shades are absolutely stunning and an array of makeup looks can be created using just this 1 eyeshadow palette.  The price is unbeatable, never in my wildest dreams did I ever think I would come across a 12-pan eyeshadow palette that retails for R 52,50.  I’m going to let the swatches do the talking, I tried to find the closest shade matches, but they don’t all match perfectly.


Since the L.A. Girl palette doesn’t have shade names, I’ve numbered them #1 to #12.  Geez Louise, I suck at swatches – no matter how hard I try, I can never seem to get them to look perfect.  *sad face*

La Girl Beauty Brick Nudes Urban Decay Naked 3 Swatches1

You can see in the above swatches, some of the L.A. Girl eyeshadows actually look a bit more pigmented than the Urban Decay shadows (this is not the case of ALL the shades though).

♥  #1 is a bit more yellow-toned than Strange from the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette.

♥  #2 is less pigmented and more warm-toned than Limit (which is a mid-tone mauve shade).

♥  #3 is more pigmented and less chunky (glittery) than Dust.

La Girl Beauty Brick Nudes Urban Decay Naked 3 Swatches2

♥  #4 is less pigmented than Nooner.

♥  #5 is more shimmery & more pigmented than Burnout.

♥  #6 is more cool-toned and shimmery than Buzz.

La Girl Beauty Brick Nudes Urban Decay Naked 3 Swatches 3

♥  #7 is more shimmery and less pigmented than Trick.

♥  #8 is more pigmented and slightly more warm-toned than Mugshot.

♥  #9 is less pigmented but more shimmery than Liar.


♥  #10 is slightly more cool-toned and more shimmery than Factory.

♥  #11 is more purple in tone and more shimmery than Darkside.

♥  #12 is less pigmented and more warm-toned than Blackheart.

Obviously these L.A. Girl eyeshadows are not exactly the same quality as you would find in an Urban Decay palette, but it’s definitely an affordable option.  If you are on a beauty budget or the thought of paying R 650,00+ for an eyeshadow palette makes you feel lightheaded, then definitely pick this up!  The L.A. Girl Beauty Brick Nudes Eyeshadow Palette is a total steal and the pigmentation and buttery feel of these shadows definitely rival some higher-end palettes.

As mentioned above, the L.A. Girl Beauty Brick palettes retail for R 52,50 at Dis-Chem stores.  Hurry, though…I think these are going to sell like hot cakes!

{UPDATE}  Thank you to Dani who informed me that the normal price of the L.A. Girl Beauty Brick palette is R 69,95 (it is currently on SALE for R 52,50 as part of the Dis-Chem Beauty Fair).

As a matter of interest, there are 4 palettes in the new L.A. Girl Beauty Brick collection – Nudes (rose gold neutrals), Neons (bright & colourful), Ultra (shades of purple) & Smokey (cool-toned greys & silvers).



  1. Simone Cameron 23 February 2015 / 15:31

    Your pics are soooo stunning!

    Love the review. The palette looks really great…and THAT PRICE!!!!!!!!!! EEEEK! AMAZING!

    I would rush out and buy it for no other reason than you said it’s great…he he #PinkPeoniesPowerOfPersuasion ?? , but being so sick these days…. I really don’t even put mascara on anymore. *sobs* True story!!

    That being said…I would love to own my very own Urban Decay Palette….one day, when I’m a real girl! *channels her inner pinnochio*

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 12:06

      Thank you, Simone! xx

      Haha! Love that hashtag, I think we should make it a ‘thing’! I’m so sorry you’ve been feeling so sick lately, I hope it passes soon! :)

  2. Johline Cronje 23 February 2015 / 15:36

    What a lovely post. I have a friend going to the UK (London) in June. Where can they buy the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette and what is the going price in the UK ?

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 12:04

      You can get them to buy it online from Beauty Bay or Look Fantastic & have it delivered to wherever your friend is staying. Otherwise he / she can buy it in-store at Debenhams or House Of Fraser. The palettes retail for about £38,00 or $58,00. :)

  3. Sandra 23 February 2015 / 15:40

    Thank you!

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 12:00

      You’re welcome, Sandra. :)

  4. Cara Fay 23 February 2015 / 15:49

    wow this is amazing! I need to buy this looks so stunning thank you for the comparison shots. x

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 12:00

      And THANK YOU for popping by the blog to read my post, Cara Fay! :) xo

  5. Karley 23 February 2015 / 15:50

    I also got a shock when I saw these in Dischem and bought it immediately! I was so impressed, I went out and bought the Smoky and Ultra palettes as well (the Neons are not really the type of colours I wear). It’s great to see someone else’s opinion of it who has the Naked 3 palette – I did a review on my blog but have never tried Urban Decay (way out of my price range!) so I couldn’t compare. Your swatches look great by the way 😉

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 12:00

      Thanks so much, Karley. I enjoyed your blog posts on both palettes! :)

  6. Dani 23 February 2015 / 16:02

    Great post :)
    Just a correction: the normal price of the palettes is R70 at Dischem but they are on special for a short time at 25% off. ..making them R52.50.

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:58

      Thanks for letting me know, Dani – I updated the blog post. :)

  7. Eleanore 23 February 2015 / 16:19

    I also purchased the last one at our Dischem. I agree that the darker shades are more stubborn but I love the rose gold glitter shades

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:58

      They are just absolutely stunning! :)

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:57

      Just keep looking for the palette, Janneke – you’ll find it eventually! 😉

  8. Kim 23 February 2015 / 16:36

    Your swatches are beautiful, Luzanne, nothing wrong with them. :) THANK YOU for doing this blog post, I’m heading to Dischem after work to buy it. Can’t say no to that price! 😀

  9. Qondiswa N 23 February 2015 / 16:37

    YES! Buying this tomorrow!

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:56

      I hope you love it! 😀

  10. Yolandi Wilken 23 February 2015 / 16:54

    Your photos are just perfect!!! Thanks for doing this review and comparison, Luzanne, the price of this palette is just too good to pass up on. I’m going to visit Dischem after work and will also pick up that Morgan Taylor polish from the new collection I saw on your Instagram.

    So excited! XO

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:56

      Thank you, Yolandi. :) I hope you find the Morgan Taylor polishes & the palette. xo

  11. Ursula 23 February 2015 / 17:04

    You are my fave beauty blogger, you always write the most interesting blog posts and they are so helpful! thank you, Luzanne.

    Love, Ursula

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:56

      Yay! So happy to hear that, Ursula – thank you for your kind words of encouragement! 😀

  12. Anina 23 February 2015 / 17:07

    Wens ek het hierdie post gesien voordat ek oor lunch in Dischem was – maar nou het ek net n verskoning om weer te gaan! Jy het my oortuig dat ek hierdie MOET aanskaf, nes met die concealer. Hierdie is glad nie goed vir my beursie nie, maar ek LOVE dit. :-)

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:55

      Haha! Ek was gister weer by Dis-Chem en het die L.A. Girl Pro BB Cream gekoop, want ek het gehoor dis amazing! Jy sal dalk jou beursie weer moet uithaal vir die BB cream, maar ek sal julle op hoogte hou – haha! 😉

  13. Nousheen 23 February 2015 / 17:24

    So interesting to see they look identical in the pan but when swatched they are so different. I can’t spend R 600+ on a makeup palette so I am extremely grateful for this blog post. Thank you for writing this.

    Your swatches are beautiful, they look perfect to me. :)

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:54

      Very interesting, when I first saw the palette (before I swatched it), I thought the shades would be a lot more similar. The eyeshadow shades are still gorgeous, just not exact dupes.

      Thank you for the kind words regarding the swatches, I needed to hear it. :)

  14. Tanusta 23 February 2015 / 18:00

    Thanku so much for this post , so helpful!

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:53

      It’s only a pleasure, Tanusta. :)

  15. Debra 23 February 2015 / 18:58

    Loved this post so much, will visit Dischem tomorrow to see if they have stock. The palette is too affordable to pass up on. 😉

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:52

      Agreed, and the quality is top notch! :)

  16. monica 23 February 2015 / 18:59

    Been waiting for this blog post and now Im definitely going to buy it! Thanx!

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:51

      You are very welcome, Monica. :)

  17. Holly Morello 23 February 2015 / 19:22

    I am placing an order for this palette online tonight! I don’t live in South Africa but US residents can order L.A. Girl cosmetics off their website. :)

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:51

      I hope you love the palette as much as I do, Holly! 😉

  18. Naseera 23 February 2015 / 19:26

    I got the palette immediately after I heard it could be a dupe to naked 3 and I’m absolutely loving it !! Amazing review.. please do more of these that are available here in SA 😀

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:50

      I will definitely try to do more of these if I come across something that might be a dupe & available in SA. :)

  19. Ronel Marais 23 February 2015 / 20:11

    Loved this post so so much, Luzanne! Going to Dischem tomorrow to get one for myself and my sister. :)

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:50

      I hope you found them, Ronel – I’m sure your sister will LOVE it! 😀

  20. PlausiblePaws 23 February 2015 / 20:44

    So glad that the LA Girl palette got a good review! I love the Urban Decay colors but am NOT willing to pay the exorbitant prices that they sell for in SA, or even worse buy it and have it be a cheap knock-off. I will def look out for this palette at Dischem!! Thanks for the detailed review!

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:49

      I totally agree with you, I wouldn’t pay R 1200+ for an eyeshadow palette either! 😉 Thank you for popping by the blog!

  21. Bonang M 23 February 2015 / 20:47

    I bought the Ultra palette last week and now want to go back to get the Nudes one after reading this. The price is so cheap, it won’t break the bank. 😀

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:48

      Definitely won’t break the bank and the quality is great! Those purple shades will look stunning on darker skin tones and brown eyes. Thank you for taking the time to read this blog post, Bonang. :)

  22. Carina De Sousa 23 February 2015 / 21:24

    Hi all,
    Tried looking for this palette online but couldn’t find it :(
    I will have to go into Dischem tomorrow personally to buy it!

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:47

      It’s probably still too new to be listed on the Dis-Chem website. :) I hope you find it in-store.

  23. Zanelle 24 February 2015 / 08:53

    Great review!

  24. Simone Cameron 24 February 2015 / 09:32

    Luzanne this palette is going to be sold out soon because of you it seems!! ha ha

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:41

      Haha! Love it, Simone! 😉

  25. Stephanie 24 February 2015 / 10:16

    Hi Luzanne
    How you stay on top of all these amazing products is beyond me, but thanks so much for all the useful info you post, especially the makeup stuff. I love that you are knowledgeable about local and international products and you don’t mind sharing where you buy it from with the makeup beauties out there. Love love love your blog! Huge fan!

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:41

      You are welcome, Stephanie. :) And thank you so much for your support!

  26. Missy 24 February 2015 / 10:25

    Excited much to go and get mine :-)

    Thanks doll, awesome post…

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:26

      Thank you for reading, Missy! :)

  27. Arleen 24 February 2015 / 11:23

    Thanks for the excellent blogpost, Luzanne. I have this LA girl palette and love it. Such a great buy. Your swatches are on point by the way. xx

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:25

      You are welcome, Arleen – and thank you for taking the time to pop onto my blog.

      Thank you for the words of encouragement regarding my swatch photos, I really appreciate it. xo

  28. Anina 24 February 2015 / 11:29

    Dit was uitverkoop by Willowbridge!! Amper in trane uitgebars…
    Sal nie opgee nie, sal soek tot ek ene kry!
    Mooi dag Luzanne!

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:24

      Agge nee!! Jy sal eventueel een vind, ek is seker daarvan! :) Gaan kyk op my Instagram foto waar ek die 2 palettes so langs mekaar wys, iemand het gesê daar is een of ander ‘secret compartment’ in elke display (sy verduidelik waar dit is en hoe om te kyk daarvoor). 😉

      • Anina 25 February 2015 / 12:08

        Ek het dit gesien, sal beslis gaan kyk. Hoe voel jou ogies vandag?

  29. Carmen 24 February 2015 / 11:32

    Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! I want to pull my hair out. I pray I find it. Of course R650 for a palette makes me feel light headed but R52,50 or R70 Im about that business. Thank you again. Your reviews makes one want to eat the products (thats how yummy you make it sound hahaha and of course we know you wont steer us wrong!

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:22

      I hope you find it, Carmen – I know a lot of people have been struggling to track it down at their Dis-Chem stores. Just keep checking and I’m sure you’ll find it to be in stock eventually. One of my Instagram followers mentioned there is a secret compartment within the display box, apparently on each step of the display, there is an arrow that points to the right & reads: “Secret Stock Here”. Maybe take a look next time you are at Dis-Chem. :)

      • Carmen 25 February 2015 / 12:55

        Awesome thank you!!!!!

  30. Em Cameron 24 February 2015 / 11:44

    I agree with you Carmen!! Luzanne makes everything look so beautiful, I just want to buy every single thing she features on here!! lol

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:16

      Haha! Thanks for your support, Em! :)

  31. Trish 24 February 2015 / 11:45

    Wow!! I didnt even know LA Girl made eyeshadow palettes, the price is so affordable so Im going to the shops to track it down right now. 😀

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:16

      I hope you found it, Trish! Such great quality for the price. 😉

  32. Elrese 24 February 2015 / 15:24

    Ek love hierdie palette, maar ek het nou nie die UD3 palette om te compare nie 😉 maar love al die shades! Dis rerig beautiful en so maklik om net te gryp en aan te sit veral op besige oggende. xoxo =)

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:15

      Ek stem 100% saam met jou! Die kleure is pragtig en hulle ‘blend’ so maklik ook! :) xo

  33. Leanne 24 February 2015 / 21:41

    It looks stunning! Off to Dischem tomorrow I go 😉 I hope I’m lucky enough to find this palette.

    • Luzanne 25 February 2015 / 11:14

      I hope you find it, Leanne! :)

  34. Rubi 26 February 2015 / 07:43

    I totally blame you for this palette being sold out

    • Luzanne 2 March 2015 / 16:00

      LOL! I am DESPERATELY trying to get my hands on a palette to do a giveaway since so many of my readers are struggling to get their hands on it. Will keep you updated! :)

  35. Lulu 28 February 2015 / 12:24

    Lovely colours and the price is so affordable! Sadly I could not find it at 4 Dischem’s I went to. Great review! Also love your new instagrams!

    • Luzanne 2 March 2015 / 16:01

      Thank you so much! Hopefully I can get my hands on an extra palette to do a giveaway, trying to organise with their PR company. :)

  36. safiyya 28 February 2015 / 15:08

    Absolutely loved this post! I purchased the Ultra in Durban and then sent my husband to buy the Nudes – lucky he went because it was the last one and then while on my from the airport I bought the smokey. Even if I use them once or twice I can always pass it down to someone else. For that price even on full price its an amazing bargain. I use the pro concealer more than my highend brands. The coverage is excellnet. Also purchased the L.A Girl pro BB cream and its seriously amazing. Blends and covers well with a flawless finish. Actually their pro HD range is aaahmazing!

    • Luzanne 2 March 2015 / 16:02

      You are so lucky he was able to find one, Saffiya!! So many people are struggling to get their hands on it. :) The Pro Concealer is the bomb, works so well! I picked up the Pro BB Cream last week & will be testing it out soon. I have high hopes!

  37. Sandra 28 February 2015 / 21:49

    En Dis-Chem het nou ‘n 25% afslag op LA Girl…sal een moet opspoor!

    • Luzanne 2 March 2015 / 16:02

      Ek hoop jy vind een, Sandra! :)

  38. Julia 2 March 2015 / 13:04

    I have been to five Dischems – Fourways, Woodmead, Retail Crossing, Clearwater and Cradelstone and cant find it :( :( even sent my poor boyfriend hunting for it in Norwood :) I want one so badly!!

    • Luzanne 2 March 2015 / 16:04

      Oh noooo! I am trying my best to get an extra palette to do a giveaway – hopefully I’m able to track one down! And hopefully you’ll find one soon too (otherwise you can enter the giveaway if I manage to bag one). 😉

  39. Linelle 3 March 2015 / 11:24

    Went to look over the weekend but my Dischem at The Glen was sold out :( my heart was broken but will keep looking :)

  40. Dani 6 March 2015 / 17:14

    Just came across your blog! LOVE IT!!! I just saw this palette in Dischem too today and SO nearly bought it. Unfortunately I was working on a budget and there were a few things I really needed. Going back for this one for sure!

  41. Liz 14 March 2015 / 18:25

    Yay!!!Just googled Urban decay dupes SA and didnt think I would find anything.
    Thank-you so much for this!! Getting to a Dischem as soon as possible :)

  42. Amber 13 May 2015 / 16:58

    Hi I found a dupe of the naked 1 urban decay palette at the signature store for R 128 perhaps you could do a review for us as I don’t have the original

  43. Rene Groyer 3 September 2015 / 12:07

    Went into Dischem Canal Walk last night and they have lots of stock of all these pallets .also a buy three for two special on them if you want to stock up.So you could get three pallets for R140

  44. Roxanne 20 November 2015 / 16:00

    Thank you so much for the amazing posts and reviews. I always look forward to reading your blog and it has proven to be very insightful and helpful. Keep up the amazing work pretty lady.

    Roxanne Pillay

  45. shannon 13 August 2016 / 20:18

    Thanks Luzanne, i really love how honest you are about the products you feature, I read your review and headed over to dischem this week the palette price has increase to R100 a palette. But luckily dischem had a buy 2 get one free promotion so I snagged 3 palettes for R200 and I too am inlove with the rose gold in the nude palette. I’ve also heard the wet n wild lipsticks are good dupes any chance of a review. You must try out the dermalogica ion active facial. I have dry skin and my skin feels so soft after the treatment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *