Review – Elizabeth Arden Beautiful Color Moisturizing Matte Lipsticks & Swatches

Elizabeth Arden Beautiful Color Moisturising Matte Lipstick Review

Matte is the new black.  Swapping out your gloss for a matte pout can go a long way – it’s trendy and will work with every skin tone.  I know that it can be difficult to incorporate a new beauty trend into your look but a matte lip is surprisingly versatile, a bit edgy and perfect for day or night.

Elizabeth Arden recently expanded their Beautiful Color Moisturizing Lipstick range by adding 8 brand new matte shades to the collection.  I was very excited when a parcel from Elizabeth Arden arrived on my doorstep and I must admit, these are my very first Elizabeth Arden lippies – what a treat!

The new matte lipsticks are intensely pigmented, silky smooth on the lips and definitely fade-resistant.  I’ve tested every single one of the 8 shades and I can confirm they last for at least 10 hours before starting to fade.   Creamy mattes that add a pop of colour & texture to the lips, with added hydration benefits?  Sign me up!  These matte lipsticks apply like an absolute dream and feel super light on the lips.  Basically the most comfortable matte lipstick you will ever wear.

The formula of the Beautiful Color Moisturizing Matte Lipstick range is top notch – silky, lightweight, creamy, smooth, non-drying and long-lasting.  Mango-, shea- and murumuru butters are natural emollients that help to protect, condition and soothe.  Argan oil & Vitamin E help to improve moisture retention while providing antioxidant protection against visible signs of aging.  Although I’m usually not the biggest fan of fragranced lip products, I actually really like the scent of these lipsticks – they smell like a vanilla cream dessert.  Delicious!

When I first started testing out these matte lipsticks, I was astonished!  After 10 hours my lipstick still looked as fresh as though I had just applied it.  The lipsticks do not budge, they lasted through coffee breaks, multiple sips of water (from a bottle because I’m a rebel), lunch, dinner and a meet-up with a friend (lots of chatting).  After about 11 hours, the colour starts to fade, but evenly (not blotchy or feathered at all).

These Beautiful Color Moisturizing Matte Lipsticks have been dubbed as my new favourite lippies of all time – a bold statement, I know.  These are PERFECT for wearing to an event, as you won’t have to worry about the colour fading during the course of the day or night.

Elizabeth Arden Beautiful Color Moisturising Lipstick Review

Let’s take a moment to admire the stunning packaging – each lippie is embossed with their signature Red Door logo and is housed in a sleek gold tube.  Each lipstick feels heavy & sturdy, the Rolls Royce of all lipstick products – definitely the most beautiful lipsticks in my makeup collection.

The shade selection offers everything from bold playful colours, to delicate everyday shades, to classic berry hues.  You are guaranteed to find your perfect signature shade.  Let’s take a look at the Beautiful Color Moisturizing Matte Lipsticks swatched on my lips (for the descriptions, I work from top left, to top right, to bottom left, to bottom right):

Elizabeth Arden Beautiful Color Moisturising Lipstick Swatches

Coral Crush – A very flattering vibrant apricot shade, not too bright & not too boring.  Just perfect.

Nude – Most nudes look either too yellow (concealer lips) or too taupe (zombie girl) on me, but this one is the perfect mix of neutral & peach.  I love it.  It is a bit lighter than ‘Barely There’ below.

Barely There – Such a great everyday shade, nothing too dramatic.  It leans more towards being a warm neutral shade, with a subtle terracotta undertone.

Rose Petal – If you’re afraid of committing to a full-on bright matte shade, then this mauve hue is a great stepping stone.

Elizabeth Arden Beautiful Color Moisturising Lipstick Lip Swatches

Pink Pucker – Allow the focus to be on your smoky eye by choosing a nude pink.  This shade is a mid-tone neutral with a hint of rose.

Raspberry – This shade won my heart!  Bold, bright and the perfect berry shade for Autumn & Winter coming up (I can already feel a nip in the air here in Gauteng).

Bold Red – A warm-toned red that is guaranteed to turn a few heads.  It’s a keeper.

Chocolate – Dark & vampy, rich chocolate brown shade – very unique.

Pigmentation, longevity and comfort is what I look for in a lip product and these new matte lipsticks from Elizabeth Arden tick all the boxes for me!  No bleeding / feathering, no settling into fine lip lines and no fading within a couple of hours of application.  If my lips had a Facebook relationship status, I would change it from “It’s Complicated” to “Long-term Relationship” in a flash!  It’s love – unabashed, all-consuming love.

Elizabeth Arden Beautiful Color Moisturizing Lipstick retails for R 220,00 each and is available at Edgars, Foschini, Truworths, Woolworths and selected prestige pharmacies nationwide.

Creamy, dreamy matte lips are THE big makeup trend for this season.  The Beautiful Color Moisturizing Matte Lipsticks feature a moisturising formula that adds dimension and pigmentation to your pout without making the lips look dry or flaky.  And another bonus?  Heavily lacquered lips attract every strand of hair, you can prevent a sticky situation by using a matte lippie instead.



  1. Em Cameron 6 March 2015 / 12:24

    Your photos are just perfection. Your face too! :)

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:32

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Em. :)

  2. sylvia mcgrath 6 March 2015 / 12:26

    Wow! These look beautiful, going to take a look at the shops tomorrow. I swear, you can wear any type of lip colour and it just looks stunning on you. 😉

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:33

      *blush* Thank you, Sylvia. :)

  3. Kim 6 March 2015 / 12:35

    So gorge! XO

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:33

      Thanks so much for popping by the blog, Kim. :) x

  4. farzana 6 March 2015 / 12:58

    The raspberry one is to die for! >>swoon<<

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:33

      It totally is, I am in love! :)

  5. Missy 6 March 2015 / 13:20

    Got to do some saving for raspberry and bold red… stunning

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:34

      They are such great lippies, definitely worth every penny! 😉

  6. Tjoppie 6 March 2015 / 13:32

    Just what I need, a lippie that lasts all day and does not fade or feather! Barely There looks stunning on you!

  7. Bianca 6 March 2015 / 13:35

    Love the bold shades and you look beautiful. Heading to the shops this weekend, want to pick up that Raspberry shade.

    Bianca xx

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:35

      Raspberry is my fave too – I hope you found it at the shops, Bianca. :) xo

  8. Samantha 6 March 2015 / 13:39

    Ah Luzanne, I am really am so obsessed with you blog. I love your write ups and your pictures seem to get better and better. Such amazing standard and quality! Definitely need to pick up raspberry and bold red.

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:35

      Thank you so much for the compliments, Samantha! You just brought a huge smile to my face. 😀

  9. Talitha ❤ 6 March 2015 / 14:07

    Nude definitely looks like your perf nude, love all the colours though. Going to ask the hubs to get me one or two of these for my birthday later this month.

    Your photos are just breathtaking!!!


    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:36

      I am sure you will love them as much as I do, they are perfection! :)

  10. Alice L 6 March 2015 / 14:18

    Love the packaging of the EA lipsticks, so luxe. :)

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:37

      So true, they look like they belong in a Louis Vuitton handbag – haha! 😉

  11. Anina 6 March 2015 / 15:37

    Sjoe, almal lyk wonderlik – die Pink Pucker het my naam op!

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:38

      Hulle almal voel so lekker op die lippe, Pink Pucker is die perfekte daaglikse kleur en sal by enige veltoon pas! :)

  12. Veronique 6 March 2015 / 16:29

    love your photos, Luzanne!

  13. Candice 6 March 2015 / 17:46

    These look amazing, I love the packaging..

    Candice | Beauty Candy Loves

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:39

      Thank you for checking in on the blog, Candice. :)

  14. Melissa ❀ 7 March 2015 / 19:01

    I bought Rose Petal and Raspberry today, you are right, its true love. :)

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:39

      Yay!! So happy to hear you love them as much as I do, Melissa! 😀

  15. Wilma 7 March 2015 / 19:03

    Coral crush will be miiiiiiine! x

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:40

      It’s such a pretty shade, I’m sure you will love it! :) x

  16. Stephanie 7 March 2015 / 19:07

    OMG!!! That dark shade on you is STUNNING on you Luzanne!

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:40

      Thank you so much, Stephanie! xox

  17. Stephanie 7 March 2015 / 19:08

    Please forgive my spelling/or shall I say the repeat of words

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:41

      Haha!!! No judging here, I sometimes also get ahead of myself. 😉

  18. Talya 7 March 2015 / 19:53

    Just love your descriptions and photos!!!! #favouriteblogger

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:42

      It makes me so happy to hear that!! Thanks so much, Talya! 😀

  19. daisyperson blog 7 March 2015 / 21:55

    Is it just your face or does every lipstick you ever put on just miraculously look absolutely gorgeous on you??!!


    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:42

      You are too kind – thank you so much, Janneke! xo

  20. Roxy 8 March 2015 / 10:23

    I swear, a bright blue lipstick would still look fabulous on you! You are the perf lip product model for brands, you make us want to buy everything you mention! lol

    • Sanet 9 March 2015 / 07:52

      Sjoe die kleure lyk mooi aan jou!! Het die naweek barely there en rose petal vir my gekry. Mal oor jou blog,jy inspireer my so baie!!!

      • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:43

        Baie, baie dankie vir die mooi woorde, Sanet! Jy het sopas my dag gemaak! :)

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:43

      Bwahahaha! Thank you so much for the compliment, Roxy! 😉

  21. Siobhan Hughes 9 March 2015 / 08:49

    Wow, so based on this blog post, I actually talked my mom into trying these lipsticks out – she battles with her lipstick fading during the day. She bought the Rose Petal shade with barely any convincing and she LOVES it! I tried on Raspberry and you’re right, it is just SO gorgeous, and I plan on going back to get it for myself (I would have bought it on the spot, but I have a long weekend in Mozambique next weekend, and didn’t want to be spending too much outside of that this month!)

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:45

      YAAAAY! I’m so happy to hear she loves the lipstick, I actually also convinced my mom to buy one of these Elizabeth Arden lipsticks (she bought Pink Pucker) and she loves it too!

      I hope you enjoyed your long weekend in Mozam, Siobhan – I’m super jealous! 😉

  22. Johline 9 March 2015 / 08:55

    Rasberry is a winner. Tested it yesterday and stayed put forever. Definitely going back to get this. Got NYX matte, very drying and gets patchy during the day.

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:47

      Raspberry really is my ultimate fave – I’ve been wearing it non-stop lately! :)

      Yes, 100% agree – the NYX ones are a bit too drying on the lips for me too.

  23. Simone Cameron 9 March 2015 / 10:07

    Luzanne I mean seriously…can every colour look so good on you? It’s just not fair! I love the more nudey colours for myself personally….I’m always so scared of colour.

    PS Got the revlon concealer on Friday, but not the blemish one as Revlon has the worst customer service at CLicks. Oh my word. No stock. I was suffering and needed something so just took the regular colourstay concealer. Also picked up an LA Girl concealer. Thanks again for the help!

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:49

      Don’t be scared – you just need to find the colourful shades that suit your skin tone. For me, I know it is the berry shades – they complement my skin tone really well.

      Aaaah, no…how disappointing! L.A. Girl concealer is the BOMB.COM!! 😉

  24. Cara 9 March 2015 / 13:47

    Gaaaah! Everything suits you so well!!!

  25. Carmen 10 March 2015 / 08:29

    I love coral crush!!!!

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:49

      It’s beautiful, isn’t it? :)

  26. Elize Swanepoel 16 March 2015 / 13:32

    I LOVE the bold red & chocolate. They are both stunning. I would be in serious trouble if I only had to choose one because both are stunning. But if I really have to, then I’ll choose the chocolate because I don’t own a colour like that yet.

    • Luzanne 16 March 2015 / 16:51

      You are so right, Elize – the chocolate shade is unlike anything in my makeup collection too. It really is a very unique shade, not many brands stock a shade quite like this one. :)

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on the blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *