Product Review – LUSH Godiva 2-in-1 Solid Shampoo Bar

Today’s review is going to be on the lovely Godiva.  No, not Lady Godiva…this isn’t THAT kind of a blog.  I’m talking about LUSH’s solid shampoo bar.

By now you should know I love my LUSH products and have not come across one product I have disliked.  Their products are interesting, innovative and ‘green’.  LUSH fights against animal testing and use only fresh ingredients, essential oils and safe synthetics (where needed).  They are trying to reduce their carbon footprint by not using unnecessary packaging for their products and the packaging they do use is biodegradable (see below).

OK, so on with the review then!

What LUSH says:  Our vegan, 2-in-1 shampoo bar cleans and conditions your hair with moisturising nut oils and shea butter.  These butters and oils care for dry, processed locks and leave you with glossy, shiny, and softened tresses.  Long used as a tonic for the hair and scalp, Jasmine also perfumes your locks with an ultra-sexy fragrance with serious staying power.  Named after a certain naked protestor, Godiva gets to work sending a message to your hair.  Wet both hair and the shampoo bar. Glide the shampoo bar down the length of your hair about three times (right, left and back). Work into a lather and rinse thoroughly.  Follow with LUSH conditioner if needed.

My review:  When I read about solid shampoo bars from LUSH, I knew I had to get one – it’s so intriguing!  This is my first solid shampoo I have tried and will definitely be trying some of their other ones.  It looks like compressed sprinkles of shampoo with other floral-looking ingredients.  It has a fresh scent, perfect for those mornings when you’re still half-asleep when you get in the shower.  I have highlighted long(ish) blonde hair that gets heat styled about 3 times a week.  Because of the heat styling and highlighting my hair is damaged but I find this shampoo is delicate enough to clean my hair without leaving it dry and unmanageable but is also intense enough to remove product build-up.  It lathers into a rich, luxurious consistency and leaves my hair with a lingering jasmine scent.  I usually follow this with a treatment or my LUSH American Cream conditioner.

The pro:  The bar lasts for about 60 – 80 washes (that’s a lot for such a small bar), considering I get about 20 – 30 washes from a normal 200ml bottle I’d say the price isn’t bad at all.  It’s also travel friendly.  The bar leaves no residue on my hair and gives soft, shiny hair with a pleasant scent.  And, by making their shampoo bars solid they save over 450 000 liters of water every year!

The con:  I can’t only use this bar for shampoo AND conditioning purposes (although LUSH says you can), I feel my hair isn’t as manageable (and gets a bit knotty and tangly) when I use just the bar without using a conditioner / treatment afterwards (this isn’t really a con though).

The price:  R 85,00 (available at LUSH V&A Waterfront or LUSH Cavendish Square).

I can’t wait for our holiday at the end of September, we’re going to Cape Town again!  I’ll definitely be stopping by a LUSH store to get more bath & shower goodies, I just need to remember to pack an extra suitcase!



  1. Ronel Marais 26 July 2013 / 12:59

    I need to get my hands on one of these!!!! Sounds divine.

    Do you get the silver container with it?


    • Luzanne 28 July 2013 / 17:25

      Hi Ronel! No, you can purchase them separately… :) Not too expensive if I remember correctly… x

  2. Bronwyn 26 July 2013 / 20:43

    It looks divine! I have never tried a solid shampoo but it seems so nifty and my shampoo just finished. I need to try get to Lush this weekend! It looks like fun.

    • Luzanne 28 July 2013 / 17:27

      Let me know what you think, they had other sold ones too but this one is for dry hair. I’ll definitely be getting another bar when I go to Cpt end of September! :)

  3. Clara Dinkelmann 27 July 2013 / 16:17

    Your reviews are always so detailed, lurv it!

    I live in Bloemfontein, no LUSH shopping for me. :(


    • Luzanne 28 July 2013 / 17:28

      Thank you, Clara! :) You should plan a holiday to Cpt, even if it’s just to go shopping at LUSH! 😉 It’s worth it!

  4. Priya 27 July 2013 / 21:55

    I really want to try out Lush products! They look absolutely amazing!

    Please could you follow my blog back :)

    • Luzanne 28 July 2013 / 17:29

      LUSH products are so interesting, I love them! :) Cute blog!

  5. Tjoppie 28 July 2013 / 14:07

    I do hope you have a compost heap as I don’t think miss Piggy would like the empty packet to get stuck on her! Ha-ha!
    Would luv to come to the 50% off makeup sale mentioned in one of your instagrams!

    • Luzanne 28 July 2013 / 17:31

      Hehe! I don’t have a compost heap, but our estate will be starting with a compulsory recycling programme in the next few weeks – I’ll keep all my LUSH packaging until then… :) Click on the Instagram picture, you’ll see what that photo was all about. 😉

  6. Loren 28 July 2013 / 16:44

    Don’t you wish they brought a Lush to Joburg, their goodies are amazing!
    I also stocked up on so many things when I was in Cape Town last and I’m already running out of them :(
    Your reviews are so detailed and the best to read :)

    Loren xx

    • Luzanne 28 July 2013 / 17:34

      I can’t tell you how much I wish they would come to Gauteng! I light a candle every night… 😉

      I only have 2 bath bombs left, that’s it! I’m getting withdrawal symptoms just thinking about it! Thank you for the compliment, you are too kind. :)

      Lovely blog you have, Loren! xxx

  7. Bianca 30 July 2013 / 14:37

    Ah so sorry for all you ladies living in JHB! Think we should start a trade where I will buy your LUSH products and you can buy Kiehl’s products for me 😛 Luzanne do you know if there are any sulphates in their solid shampoos? I have coloured hair that is red and any sulphates immediately strip the colour out of my hair – not great when you’ve paid a nice amount to have it professionally done :-/ Would be great to know!

    • Luzanne 30 July 2013 / 15:36

      I’m totally up for a trade / swap! :)

      Godiva does contain SLS (Sodium Lauryl Sulfate) – LUSH is trying find a natural alternative (coco-sulfate made from natural coconut oil) but it’s apparently not feasible for all their products. From what I can see online, is they need to use some type of sulfate in order to allow oil and water to mix to make a foam when you lather up the shampoo. :( All their massage bars, body butters, bath bombs, solid perfumes are SLS-free though.

      Thanks for asking the question, now I know as well :)

  8. Betsie 2 August 2013 / 00:25

    Shoo, 85 ront and lasting 60-80 washes means it costs you a wee bit over R1 per wash. That’s very affordable!
    I’m going to have my son-in-law’s sister to post me a box, maybe I can arrange a shipment for you?

    • Luzanne 2 August 2013 / 08:22

      Thanks, Betsie! That’s very kind of you :) But we are going to Cape Town again at the end of September, and I’ll stock up on LUSH goodies then. x

  9. Bianca 29 August 2013 / 12:31

    Just had an epiphany about this shampoo. Am totes going to get it to travel with in December. Space issue solved – now I can shop more overseas 😛

    • Luzanne 29 August 2013 / 22:10

      LOL! Definitely travel-friendly & if you cut it in half and only take the one half, it would mean there’s space for an extra lipstick! 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *