Product Review – Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream…plus Giveaway

It’s no secret I love this BB cream from Garnier, I have mentioned it in numerous blog posts before and it was featured in my ‘Beauty Besties 2013’ blog post too.  So now you’re probably wondering why even do a product review if everyone already knows I love it.  I’m doing this review to 1. give you an honest holistic look at the BB cream (this includes the good and the bad), and 2. show you guys swatches of the 3 shades that are available (Light, Medium & Dark).

I have already done a review on the Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream for combination / oily skin, so go take a look here.  In that blog post I also show you a comparison swatch of both types of Garnier BB cream shades in Light (the original BB cream I am reviewing today and the one for combo / oily skin).

So, let’s get started shall we?

The Garnier Skin Renew Miracle Skin Perfector BB creams combine moisturising skincare with skin perfecting coverage.  The result?  Skin that looks naturally more even, radiant and smooth.  As mentioned in previous blog posts Hyaluronic Acid (HA) is a great moisturising agent and the Garnier Skin Renew Miracle Skin Perfector BB cream contains both HA and an SPF of 15.  So it moisturises the skin whilst protecting it too.

What is a BB cream?  You guys know the drill when it comes to BB creams, right?  If you’re not sure what BB creams are, here’s the short of it: BB creams (beauty balm or blemish balm) have been popular among Korean and Japanese women since the  early 1980s for their multi-purpose benefits.  They are basically supercharged tinted moisturisers – usually with anti-aging ingredients and SPF to protect against the harmful rays of the sun.  BB creams help deal with skin concerns such as discolouration, dullness, blotchiness and dryness. 

What Garnier says:  Perfect for normal skin types, our BB Cream is the daily all-in-one solution that corrects, protects and unifies your complexion with instant and lasting results.  Our BB Cream delivers a hybrid formula that combines long-lasting 24hr hydrating care with a light touch of make-up for instantly flawless, healthy glowing skin.

My review:  This was my most-used BB cream in 2013, especially because I went through a phase where I had very dry and sensitive skin (the joys of Ruaccutane), this was honestly the only foundation-type product that didn’t cause skin irritation and redness.  I usually apply this BB cream (and the one designed for oily / combo skin) using either my Beautyblender or Sigma Flat Top Kabuki brush and both work really well in terms of patting / buffing the product into my skin.  The consistency is almost like a whipped mousse foundation but is not heavy on the skin at all.  This BB cream provides light coverage but is definitely buildable.  If you wait for the product to sink into the skin for a couple of minutes, you can definitely apply a second layer which will give you more coverage.  I have applied the BB cream using my fingers and find it applies really well too, since the fingers warm the product up a bit.  I personally prefer using a beauty tool to apply my foundations and BB creams, there’s something about having fingers covered in foundation that just sends a chill down my spine (especially if I have to touch my makeup brushes and other makeup products using those same fingers).

The BB cream gives the skin a beautiful dewy finish.  If you have normal, combination and oily skin, I suggest setting it with a powder to keep the shine that may come later in the day at bay.  If you have dry skin, you probably won’t need to set it with a powder because you want your skin to look healthy and glowing.   A pea-sized amount goes a long way and blends into the skin like a dream without leaving any harsh lines or streaks.  While it doesn’t completely conceal a blemish, it tones down redness, so you don’t need to use as much concealer.

The ‘Light’ shade will suit light skin tones, I would say someone with NW15 – NW20 skin (in MAC foundation).

The ‘Medium’ shade will suit medium skin tones, I would say someone with NW25 – NW30 skin (in MAC foundation).

The ‘Dark’ shade will suit darker skin tones, I would say someone with NW35+ skin (in MAC foundation).

The pro:  The lightweight formula  provides more coverage than your average Western BB cream (i.e. Revlon Photoready BB Cream & Essence BB Cream), and leaves the skin with a healthy-looking glow.  This product also contains SPF15, which aids in protecting your skin against the harmful effects of the sun.

The con:  This BB cream contains Alcohol.  I have done research on Alcohol in beauty products and the denatured alcohol listed in the ingredients is both good and bad for your skin. It is bad because it is drying on the skin but it is also good for your skin because it has antibacterial, antiseptic, and astringent properties.  Anyone with combination or oily skin should steer clear of this BB cream in the hot & humid Summer months, as the shine does start to peek through as the day progresses (and starts to move around on the face too).  Rather opt for the Garnier BB Cream designed for combo-oily skin during the warmer months if you do have an oily T-zone.  I have combo skin and find this BB cream to give me the perfect amount of glow in the cold Winter months.

The tip:  If you own a foundation that you feel doesn’t give you enough coverage, don’t spend money on getting another full coverage foundation.  Get this BB cream and use it as a primer to give you that first layer of coverage.

The price:  R 84,95 at Clicks, Dischem, and selected Foschini stores. BUT I also found this BB cream on for only R 69,00.

The swatch:  Left: Light; Middle: Medium; Right: Dark.

I was sent these BB creams for review BUT you guys know I loved the Garnier BB Cream way before I even started with the Garnier #WhatsYourBB campaign.  And since we’re on that topic, don’t forget to enter my Garnier giveaway to stand a chance to be my Garnier Girl.  If I pick you, you will be joining me and a couple of other beauty bloggers and their Garnier Girls on a fabulous spa day.  It’s only middle of January and I already feel like I need a pamper session, how about you?

You have until January the 23rd to send me your photo, read this blog post to find out what you need to do to be entered.

And because I am feeling VERY generous, I will be giving away a BB cream to 3 lucky ladies.  Leave a comment below telling me what skin type you have and which BB cream shade you would like to win.  The winners of last week’s BB cream giveaway have been notified – congratulations Minette & Dan.

Good luck!

{Update}  As mentioned on Twitter, I decided to draw 5 winners for the Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream.  And the winners are:  Megan Kelly Botha, Nereshnee, Astrid Julies, Caryn and Bronwyn!  I have sent you guys an email, please send me your delivery details.



  1. Paula 17 January 2014 / 09:29

    Just found your blog, Luzanne, and probably spent the last hour and a half ogling all your photos. You are really talented!

    Your reviews are super detailed >> so refreshing <<

    I have normal skin and based on your MAC foundation indications (thanks for that btw), I would be shade medium.

    So glad I found your blog!


  2. candice 17 January 2014 / 10:38

    i have dry skin and i would like the shade medium

  3. Prettiful 17 January 2014 / 10:58

    I have combination medium skin! I love this bb too, for the price it is amazing. I just wish it had a higher spf.

    I usually use it alone, with a bit of bronzer.

  4. Lindsay Thomas 17 January 2014 / 11:34

    I’d be stoked if I won

    I’m shade light and tend to have dry skin

  5. Anita Steenkamp 17 January 2014 / 13:04

    I have oily medium skin so I would like the Medium Shade please!

  6. Megan Kelly Botha 17 January 2014 / 13:05

    I have combination skin, and my skin tone is light. I have never used a BB cream before and after all the stunning reviews, WOULD LOVE to give this one a try! Thanks for being so generous 😉

  7. Carryn 17 January 2014 / 13:11

    Hi Luzanne, I have a combination skin and would be a light shade. I’ve never had a BB cream and would love to try it!

  8. Telma 17 January 2014 / 13:12

    Firstly I love your blog and would love to win a bb cream! I have medium skin tone and tends to be oily/combination! Thanks for the detailed review!

  9. Jess 17 January 2014 / 13:28

    I have light combination skin. I’ve loved BB cream since I lived in South Korea from 2008 to 2011 and I’m so happy to see it making it big in South Africa! I like that you’ve listed the ‘cons’ of the product, because I wouldn’t have thought of that!

  10. Samantha Fletcher 17 January 2014 / 13:39

    I absolutely LOVE Garniers BB cream…
    Life before it was just not satisfactory…
    My skin now Glows! Glows I tell you!!!

    I have fair normal skin and so the Light would be perfect for me.

  11. ansie botes 17 January 2014 / 13:41

    have a light to meduim skin love the GARNIER BB CREAM

  12. Cassie 17 January 2014 / 13:45

    Combination skin – light shade would be so perfect for me

  13. Chalene 17 January 2014 / 13:46

    skin type Combination – shade Light

  14. Cassie 17 January 2014 / 13:52

    Combination skin and would so love to try this in the light shade

  15. Bee 17 January 2014 / 13:57

    I have been wanting to try this out for a while now so this be the perfect opportunity :) I have combination skin and would love to try the medium shade.

  16. sophia 17 January 2014 / 13:58

    Medium for me please.Oily skin. i have never tried a bb cream before and would to. Would love this pleeeeeeassse

  17. sophia 17 January 2014 / 13:59

    Medium for me please.Oily skin. I have been hearing all the hype around bb cream and i have never tried it before and would to try it. Would love this pleeeeeeassse

  18. Lisa 17 January 2014 / 14:00

    Been hearing such amaxing things about this BB cream. Would love to try it myself.

    Oily skin – Medium


  19. Rentia Smal 17 January 2014 / 15:01

    Combination skin
    Garnier is cool
    BB cream on my must-have list!

  20. Nicola Meyer 17 January 2014 / 15:10

    I have combination skin

  21. yaseera 18 January 2014 / 04:16

    hmm I’m not sure between the light or medium for combination skin but I’m sure its light, iv heard such amazing reviews on bb cream especially on your blog, Garnier is such an amazing brand can never go wrong with it, I have such oily skin with pimples around my chin and cheeks, this will be the first time I’m trying out garnier bb cream if I win so please please pick me I’m starting campus in a few weeks and would love a skin booster with the garnier bb cream, iv been waiting for an opportunity like this and I would really love to win this, it would make such a difference to my skin after reading your reviews, I have faith in this product and would love to try it and it will be such a confidence booster, please pick me!! Twitter handle yase_khan

  22. yaseera 18 January 2014 / 04:19

    Waiting to experience that little miracle in a box feeling, such an inspriational blog! Love it

  23. Lily 18 January 2014 / 05:50

    I agree with you Luzanne, this BB Cream is literally amazing! Looking at the pictures, this formula looks a lot more thick than the tube I own, mine is quite runny…hmmmm? I wonder why?

    Thanks for sharing your honest review! <3

  24. adajeannie 18 January 2014 / 22:22

    HI Luzanne thank you for your great review on the BB cream. I will definitely buy one when i get to the shops again. I have dry skin and feeling a little dull lately. and its too hot for full coverage foundation at the moment….

    Thanks again for your great review.

  25. Paulina Pham 19 January 2014 / 00:26

    Wow, this product sounds amazing. Im a BB cream virgin but i would love to give it a try to see how it works out for my skin. Many of my friends love this product and their skin really does look very healthy so I hope it works for me too:) Thanks so much for this generous giveaway! I have combination skin and can i get it in light? Thanks for the review!<3

  26. Nina Pham 19 January 2014 / 00:28

    I have combination skin and i would like to win it in shade light. Thanks for the awesome review and giveaway!

  27. Hanna Phan 19 January 2014 / 00:30

    Skin type-combination
    Great review and good luck to the other participants:3

  28. Yuna Lee 19 January 2014 / 00:33

    Hi Luzanne! Your review was really helpful and i hope i win this giveaway because I want to see an improvement in my skin;) i have combination skin and i think light would be the perfect shade for me. Thanks!

  29. Drina Fam 19 January 2014 / 00:35

    Wow, that really does sound like a miracle product! Great review and i hope i win*crosses fingers*
    Light would be a good shade for my skin and i have combination skin type
    Thanks so much!

  30. Tersia 20 January 2014 / 09:35

    Love your review and blogs and pics!!! Especially loved this one because I’m learning to apply/ use make-up on myself (I’m a virgin, so to speak) so this review has helped me understand application as well as skin types, use beauty tools rather than fingers, etc

    I’d love a medium for sensitve combination skin

    Thank you!!!!

  31. Tjoppie 20 January 2014 / 13:27

    I love my Garnier BB cream for normal skin in the light shade. Great post as always

  32. Astrid Julies 20 January 2014 / 14:06

    Garnier BB cream the miracle skin perfector! Awe I so need this in Dark please.

  33. Nicole 20 January 2014 / 15:06

    I am shade medium amd have oily skin… Garnier BB Cream is my handbag bestie, i literally cant go anywhere without it!

  34. Bronwyn 20 January 2014 / 15:23

    Hi. I’m Normal skin type and would like to win the Medium shade. I’ve seen all the adverts but have been a bit skeptical. No time like the present to try it :)

  35. Nereshnee 21 January 2014 / 09:48

    My shade is dark and I have a combination skin. I have not trued BB cream yet, but would love to give it a go.

  36. yaseera 21 January 2014 / 10:17

    I wana win! 😀

  37. Micarla 22 January 2014 / 18:31

    Absolutely love your blog :) I’ve actually never tried garniers BB cream. I’m a combination/oily and could probably get away with light and medium. You have me convinced, I’m thinking of actually just going to buy some. I’m not gonna lie I’m in dying of a Spa day. I hope I win. Holding thumbs..XoXo

  38. yaseera 26 January 2014 / 15:13

    Stunning stunning giveaway I really really wana win #yaaay!!!!

  39. Caryn 26 January 2014 / 15:49

    SO glad you haven’t picked your winners yet, I am combination skin in medium shade please. Been tanning up a storm!

    Great review xC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *