Product Review – Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream (Combo-Oily Skin)

Not only will this be a review of the new Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream for combination to oily skin, but I will also compare it to the original Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector BB cream.

I think it’s important for you guys to know how much (or little) it differs from the original one.  Let me start by saying I absolutely ADORE the original BB cream by Garnier.  It wins hands-down compared to my Pond’s BB cream, Yardley CC cream, Lioele BB cream and even some of my foundations (yes, I am referring to you Estée Lauder Double Wear Light and MAC Face & Body).  The original gives perfect coverage, a gorgeous dewy finish (even when set with a powder) and minimises the look of pores.  Will the new BB cream for combo-oily skin beat the original?  Let’s take a look and see…

What Garnier says:  Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream for combination to oily skin immediately mattifies, minimizes pores and conceals imperfections to give skin a naturally smooth, matte, flawless finish.  Blends easily with your skin tone.  A new innovation for combination to oily skin types with a hybrid formula that offers instant perfection and all-day shine control in one single beauty product.  This oil-free skin care formula combines mattifying mineral pigments with ultra oil-absorbing properties to deliver an immediate complexion transformation.

My review:  After reading Chantelle’s blog post, I knew I had to get the new BB cream as soon as it hit the shelves.  I kept an eye out every time I went to Clicks and Dischem and eventually, about 3 weeks ago, I spotted it.  I bought mine in shade Light (I am an NW20 in MAC foundations for reference).  I tested it out the very next day, first with a damp Beauty Blender but then decided to rather use my Real Techniques Buffing Brush.  The coverage is good, it conceals redness and minor imperfections but doesn’t really minimise pores.  I would say this BB cream gives a satin finish, rather than a matte finish (the original gives a dewy finish).  I also found I needed to set it with a powder to control shine, but I did not need to blot and powder again (like I do with the original).  I have to be honest, the first few times I used this BB cream, I was not impressed.  Something about the runny consistency and messy packaging was off-putting.  But it has grown on me and I can see myself reaching for this on those hot, humid days of Summer.

The pro:  This BB cream provides a longer lasting satin finish than the original and if you are someone who has decent skin and only requires something that provides light coverage, then this BB cream is for you.  If you have blemishes and major redness (rosacea), then you might want to add concealer to those areas or skip this BB cream all together.  What I also like about the product is even though it’s supposed to be mattifying, it doesn’t accentuate dry patches in the skin.

The con:  I am not a fan of the packaging.  The product is quite runny, so it does get messy when dispensing and recapping (there is always leaked liquid in the cap).  The tube also doesn’t state the SPF, but I remember from Chantelle’s blog post it is SPF20.

The price:  R 84,95 for 40ml at Clicks and Dischem stores (both Garnier BB creams are on sale at Dischem at the moment for R 64,95).

The tip:  I have found that a dense buffing brush like this one or this one, is best for the combo-oily BB cream.  If you use a Beauty Blender with this BB cream, you’ll find you use a lot of product because it gets absorbed into the sponge.  I find I get the best finish when I apply the original BB cream with a Beauty Blender, it gives me a gorgeous airbrushed finish.  Also, remember to wear a moisturiser that contains an SPF under your BB cream, even though it contains SPF20, Garnier recommends applying this BB cream every 2 hours (no comment!).

The swatch:

On the left is the new BB cream for combo-oily skin (in shade Light) and on the right is the original BB cream (also in shade Light) – click to enlarge.  These have been heavily swatched (and not blended), so you can see the difference.

There is a big difference between the 2 shades, not only is the original a bit darker in colour but I also find it’s more pink-toned whereas the new BB cream is more yellow-toned.  Thus, don’t count on being a shade Light in the combo-oily BB cream (even though you are a Light in the original), make sure you swatch the shades (on your jaw line, not your hand) before you buy one.

So to sum up – I like this BB cream, it provides decent coverage with the added benefit of being somewhat oil-controlling.  But, even though I do have combo skin I still prefer the original Garnier BB cream because I feel it suits my skintone better and the finish (in my humble opinion) is better – even though I need to blot and powder towards the end of the day.



  1. Zee Mohlapi 23 September 2013 / 13:06

    Informative review, Luzanne. What shades does this combination skin one come in? I hope it comes in a dark-dark one because the last one was too light for me. :(

    • Luzanne 23 September 2013 / 15:15

      Thanks, Zee! Sorry, I forgot to mention the BB cream comes in 3 shades (Light, Medium and Dark / Deep), I’ve seen Light and Medium on the shelves but I have not seen Dark as yet. Chantelle also mentioned in her blog post there’s a delay with the Dark shade, and it will only be in-store end of September / beginning of October.

      Hope this helps? x

  2. Holly Morello 23 September 2013 / 13:25

    I always look forward to your reviews, L! We have these BB creams too and I prefer the combo skin one to the normal one, I have very oily skin.

    Have a great Monday! x

    • Luzanne 23 September 2013 / 15:16

      Thank you, Holly! Yes, I think this one is perfect for very oily skin.

      Have a wonderful week, Holly! x

  3. Lily 23 September 2013 / 13:48

    I have to agree with you Luzanne, this doesn’t minimize pores but it does provide great coverage. The first few times I used it I wasn’t a huge fan myself, I actually almost returned it but decided to give it a shot! And I’m SO glad I did! :) This was my go to during hot, summer days here in West Texas.

    I love the finish you get with the Beauty Blender as well, but it does waste a lot of product. I do have to say though, our packaging is worse! We don’t have the little tapered squeeze end like that, we just have a regular lotion tube opening. Which makes it hard to work with.

    Amazing review, really enjoyed it! You’ve quickly become one of my favorite bloggers! <3

    Lily |

    • Luzanne 23 September 2013 / 15:18

      Wow! That means so much to me, Lily! Thank you for your kind words!

      Oh my….it must be such a watery mess if you guys don’t even have the tapered end! That would probably send me over the edge – haha!

    • Luzanne 23 September 2013 / 15:18

      Thank you so much for your sweet words, Nicole! x

  4. Chicara 23 September 2013 / 14:32

    Fab review! I think I will just stick to the original. It’s the best!

    • Luzanne 23 September 2013 / 15:19

      Yep, the original holds a special place in my heart. :)

  5. Chantelle 23 September 2013 / 18:47

    Thanks for the mention, good review! Stupid question, but have you tried applying with your fingers only? This works best for me, maybe followed with some light buffing with a brush if necessary.

    • Luzanne 23 September 2013 / 22:35

      Not a stupid question :) I haven’t tried applying with my fingers – I’m not the biggest fan of applying makeup with my fingers, but I’ll give it a try! Thank you for the recommendation. :)

  6. Tjoppie 24 September 2013 / 16:19

    I also like the original Garnier BB creme!

    • Luzanne 24 September 2013 / 22:24

      It’s the best!! xxx

  7. hildegarde_k 27 September 2013 / 21:47

    I purchased the original one just after it arrived on our shelves and I wasn’t too happy with it. It seemed to make my combination skin even more oily, so I never used it again. But after hearing you rave about it I think it’s time to give it another chance. Maybe I won’t need to buy the new one!

    • Luzanne 2 October 2013 / 09:12

      It does add a dewy finish to the skin (especially on combo skin) but I set mine with a powder and it lasts quite well on my combo skin. I might have to blot and repowder again after 6 hours but I love the finish & coverage so much, I don’t really mind. :)

      Maybe give it another go, and see. But if you really don’t like the finish, get the new one for combo-oily skin, it’s a close second! 😉

  8. Faatima 11 June 2014 / 14:58


    I normally only wear mascara, eye liner, and lipstick, however i would like to buy something for my skin which i can use for special occasions. Can i go with a BB cream or will you suggest something with more coverage? (i have quite a few blemishes and visible pores)

    Also, between this and the Sorbet BB cream, which would you recommend?

    • Luzanne 12 June 2014 / 09:50

      Hi Faatima, thank you for checking out my blog and leaving a comment. :) If you’re used to not really wearing any type of foundation / base on your skin then it’s probably best to go with a BB cream. A BB cream, however, is quite sheer, so you will need to apply a concealer to cover redness or blemish scars. Another option is the Estee Lauder Double Wear Light foundation, it’s light on the skin but provides really good coverage (and I always get compliments from people whenever I wear it because it looks so natural on the skin).

      In terms of visible pores, the only way to manage the appearance of pores is to use a good foundation primer – the NYX HD Studio Primer is good, as well as the Clinique Pore Refining Solutions Instant Perfector. If you have a bit more money to spend on a primer, the Clarins Instant Smooth Perfecting Touch is the bomb!

      If I had to choose between the Garnier BB cream and Sorbet one, I’d say if you have combo/oily skin then go with this one (Garnier) because you can get away with not setting it with a powder (since you’re not used to wearing a lot of makeup). The Sorbet BB cream does give great coverage but leaves the skin looking quite dewy, so you would need to set it with a face powder. The Sorbet BB cream does contain Dimethicone (which is an ingredient similar to a silicone primer), so you don’t need to apply a primer beforehand.

      To sum it all up, I’d get the Estee Lauder Double Wear Light (make sure it’s the light version), plus a good primer to fill in those pores. You can get away with spending the extra money on a good foundation (because that is what people are going to see) and save on the primer, so go check out the NYX primers. :)

      • Faatima 17 June 2014 / 08:05

        thanks a million! Attended a wedding on Sat night, and I took your advice and went with the Estee Lauder foundation rather than a bb cream and it was lovely.Chose the henna shade and it blended in perfectly. Really appreciate your help :)

  9. mea123 11 May 2016 / 16:52

    I would like to buy the original bb cream and i was wondering, which brand of powder should i use?

    • Luzanne 11 May 2016 / 18:12

      The Rimmel Stay Matte Powder is a great budget friendly option, I use it all the time. :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *