The Husband Review – Schwarzkopf Professional [3D]MEN Root Activator Shampoo

Schwarzkopf Professional 3D Men Root Activator Shampoo

I’m extremely excited (and very proud) to be featuring my amazing husband on the blog today!  Every now & again a brand will send Neal a little something – whether it’s a men’s cologne, a body care product or a hair care product.  So I thought it would be a good idea to ask Neal if he’d be willing to write a short review blog post every once in a while – a product review from a man’s perspective.  Don’t get me wrong, though, this review isn’t just for men to read, these reviews will give you (my female readers) an insight into how a specific product might work for your dad, husband, brother, boyfriend, friend or uncle.

Neal took the above photo in his ‘man cave’ (he did really well in terms of photo quality, don’t you think?) and the words you see below are straight from his dotty little head.  I’m like a proud mama bear sending her little baby bear into the world…  I know Neal would really appreciate some support and words of encouragement, so if you enjoyed this blog post, please be sure to let him know in the comments section below.

This new series will be called ‘The Husband Review’ and will hopefully be a regular(ish) feature here on the blog.

So without further ado, I will hand over to Neal:

If you were expecting a review from Luzanne, you might be disappointed.  Instead, this is her husband (Neal) and I have been challenged to contribute my very first product review.

If you had to sit Luzanne and myself down and create a profile for each of us you would find that, apart from the gender divide, we are two very different animals. Luzanne’s profile would spend the better half of a morning testing different beauty products, applying new mascaras or eyeliners in preparation for her next review.

My profile?…  I couldn’t be bothered.

I mean, I do like feeling clean and believe it is very important to take care of your skin and body, but don’t ask me to apply a toner or to spend more than 15 minutes to get freshened up.  The 15 minutes start at opening the shower taps and end with me walking out the door. I don’t make time to mess around with beauty or skin care products, I have a very basic routine and try to limit it to one product per task.  Keep it stupid simple.

So last year it came as quite a shock and welcomed surprise when Retail Box kindly introduced me to various hair care products in their Movember #RBSecretBox. Thanks, Retail Box!

Now I must admit, at first I wasn’t very interested as I already had stuff for my hair, I mean…shampoo is shampoo, right?

Apparently not.

When my existing shampoo ran out I began using one of the products, namely the [3D]MEN Root Activator Shampoo, a product from Schwarzkopf Professional.

They refer to it being for HAIR-SCALP-ROOTS.  Now to be honest, I didn’t really know what makes this so fancy.  Ask me about tools, engines or bicycles; but this beauty stuff is new territory.  Needless to say I had some homework to do in preparing for this review…

HAIR – The ingredient Provitamin B5 draws moisture from the atmosphere and binds to water molecules effectively coating the hair and sealing it’s surface. This gives your hair a shine and gloss, while maintaining moisture.

SCALP – The ingredient Taurine is absorbed into the scalp and roots and has been scientifically proven to promote hair growth and help prevent hair loss.

ROOTS – Carnitine Tartrate also assists in the prevention of hair loss.

I’m sure Luzanne has mentioned that I like to ride mountain bikes and also spend a lot of time in the garage servicing the bikes or working on our cars.  So you can imagine I tend to get mud and dirt in my hair after a particularly busy weekend.  For this I usually do a pre-wash to rinse the most dirt out of my hair and then a second wash to really get into the roots.  The gel-like consistency of this product usually doesn’t foam up on the first wash, but after a rinse the second wash really foams up nicely and you can really feel the root activation getting to work.

I think my favourite aspect of the product is that it contains menthol which gives your scalp a tingling sensation while washing it (menthol also stimulates the hair follicle to produce a strong, healthy strand of hair).  The scent of menthol is also really refreshing so you get out the shower feeling revitalized and smelling good.

The packaging is small and compact, so was easy to chuck in an overnight bag for weekend getaways (not to get away from Luzanne, but rather mountain bike stage race weekend getaways).  It has a secure press-top lid so I didn’t think twice about it leaking all over my clothing.

As I mentioned earlier I have one product per task, so for washing my hair this product is now my go-to product.  I have not finished the original bottle yet, so it lasts quite long for a 250ml bottle, but we have already bought a second bottle as back-up.

You can buy it from the Retail Box online store for R160,00.  I believe some selected hair salons also sell it, but hair salons are not exactly my scene…



  1. Nisa 11 March 2015 / 10:47

    Great review Neal (& Luzanne). I also purchased the Movember box for my hubby and the shampoo is his favourite by far. It really does last a long time, especially for the guys with short hair but I guess I should go home and check just how much is left so I can get him some more. Loving the new feature <3

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 21:24

      Thanks Nisa!

  2. Odette 11 March 2015 / 10:47

    Go, Neal!! I would def read more of these husband reviews!! 😀

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 21:25

      So you saying I got to do another one!?? :)

  3. Tyler 11 March 2015 / 10:54

    This is fantastic, love his humor. Awesome post Neal! (Thank Luzanne, will be making my man read this)

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 21:28

      Thanks Tyler!

  4. Stacey 11 March 2015 / 11:02

    great review… found myself laughing a couple of times….impressive for a first review.

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 21:31

      Haha, good to know thanks…

  5. Geraldine 11 March 2015 / 11:11

    Loved this! More! More! More! More!

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 21:31

      Ah no come on! So much pressure! :)

  6. Anina 11 March 2015 / 11:12

    Awww….go you! Luzanne, ek kan dink hoe trots jy moet wees! :-)

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 21:32

      Dankie Anina.

  7. Camilla (Jane Wonder) 11 March 2015 / 11:15

    So impressive, Neal! I can see you’ve been reading Luzanne’s blog so that your review ticks all the boxes for her readers – we expect a lot of info 😉 Whilst I don’t have a man in my life at the moment, I will be sure to come back to this series for inspiration and advice.

    Can you perhaps do a guys gift guide for birthdays and anniversaries? When I do have a significant other it takes me FOREVER to decide on a pressie. What do guys like in general? What DON’T they like??

    *Miss you, Lu xx

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 21:39

      You are right I have been! Luzanne sets the bar high so I had to up my game.

      I could do something like that, good suggestion! Thanks for the comment and genuine interest.

    • Luzanne 13 March 2015 / 22:50

      Miss you too, sweet Cam! xoxo

  8. Nthombi Maluleka 11 March 2015 / 11:20

    You did very very well, Neal. 😀 I like your humour and that you got straight to the point, going to show my bf this blog post fo sho!

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 21:40

      Yay, thanks for the positive feedback Nthombi!

  9. Simone Cameron 11 March 2015 / 11:29

    I chuckled so much… I see why the 2 of you adore each other:) Loved reading this…it was very well written.

    It’s a root activator shampoo…so any difference if said male has some hair thinning going on? Would this be a good product to try out?

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 22:18

      Thanks Simone!

      Taurine & Carnitine Tartrate are used in many ‘hair-growth’ and ‘hair-loss prevention’ products. Taurine mainly because of it’s fibrosis inhibiting properties (preventing the thickening & hardening of connective tissues), and Carnitine Tartrate because it increases the energy supply to hair follicles whereby promoting hair growth.

      My opinion is that it is a good vitamin supplement, so try it and maybe it works for said male.

  10. Holly Morello 11 March 2015 / 11:34

    Great review, Neal – you write so well. :)

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 22:19

      Thank you Holly.

  11. Tanusta Jainarain 11 March 2015 / 12:14

    Tanx for this review Neal soooo helpful now I know I can suggest this to my brother :)

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 22:20

      I’m sure your brother will like it as well! Thanks for commenting Tanusta.

  12. Missy 11 March 2015 / 12:25

    Very interesting and informative post…

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 22:20

      Thanks Missy.

  13. Siobhan Hughes 11 March 2015 / 12:36

    He really did such a great review! It must definitely become a regular thing :)

    p.s. I love how he had to emphasize that his getaways weren’t him getting away from you hahaha

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 22:21

      Haha, thanks Siobhan!

  14. farzana 11 March 2015 / 14:04

    Enjoyed reading the review, thank you Neal. My husband will luv this shampoo as his hair is thinning, going to buy it for him asap.

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 22:22

      Good idea Farzana, I hope it works for him!

  15. Wilma 11 March 2015 / 14:41

    Well done, Neal, you did great! 😀

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 22:22

      Thanks for the encouragement Wilma!

  16. Kim 11 March 2015 / 16:30

    Such a cool review blog post, please do more Neal! 😉

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 22:23

      okay okay I’ll try! Thanks for the comment.

  17. daisyperson blog 11 March 2015 / 17:44

    Great review! Won’t lie was hoping to see what your husband looks like :) I love how you highlighted the words in green this week!


    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 22:27

      Thanks daisyperson

    • Luzanne 13 March 2015 / 22:50

      Who knows…perhaps I’ll be able to convince Neal to pose for a photo soon! 😉

  18. Alice L 11 March 2015 / 19:16

    Love the styling of the photo! Neal’s lucky to have a man cave, my dad’s wanted one for 40 years and he still hasn’t been allowed to have one. #strictwife

    • Neal 11 March 2015 / 22:28

      I could not live without my workshop, I’d be a tortoise without a shell…

      Thanks for the comment!

  19. Lulu 12 March 2015 / 09:29

    Wow! So proud of you for doing this post Neal! This shampoo sounds just great! Great idea for doing The Husband Review!

    • Neal 12 March 2015 / 23:00

      Thanks for the motivation Lulu.

  20. Linelle 12 March 2015 / 10:22

    Love the new ‘Husband Review’, I agree with Camilla about doing a gift guide for birthdays and anniversaries. This will be a great help! :)

    • Neal 12 March 2015 / 23:02

      Good to know, thanks!

  21. PlausiblePaws 12 March 2015 / 16:55

    I really enjoyed this post! It’s great to get a male perspective and liked the bit about the personaity contrasts in your relationship. So cute!! Can’t wait for the next Husband Review 😀

    • Luzanne 14 March 2015 / 20:15

      I’m actually so happy Neal agreed to write the review, take the photos & reply to the comments because now he knows just how much time & effort goes into a blog post. I’m hoping he’ll do a review again soon, perhaps I’ll pay him in biltong! 😉

  22. Yolandi Barnard 14 March 2015 / 18:22

    wow! Mens sou sweer hy skryf al jare, baie impressed :)

    • Neal 16 March 2015 / 14:30

      Thanks for the motivation Yolandi!

  23. Samantha 15 March 2015 / 21:34

    Very very good thank you Neal!! My boyfriends shampoo is almost done so i will definantly go buy this as the replacement! Please do a gift guid for men, i think most people will benifit from that! Thanks and well done!

    • Neal 16 March 2015 / 14:31

      He will not be disappointed!

      I will definitely do a gift guide, it is a great idea…

  24. Cassidy Taylor-Memmory 16 March 2015 / 12:54

    Great review and photo Neal!

    Haha William keeps asking me when he can write a review for me

    • Neal 16 March 2015 / 14:32

      So go on then, why not let him try? :)

      Thanks for reading mine Cassidy!

  25. Samantha Joubert 24 March 2015 / 12:13

    I received mine today and we will see what Ray thinks about it – much bigger bottle than I expected which is great!!

  26. Hami 30 December 2015 / 17:32

    You nailed it Neal… Thanks for sharing your thoughts, it was most helpful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *